Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2015, 17:41   #1
Registered User
 
Mickeyrouse's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Texas
Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Posts: 61
Balmar not putting out

Here's the electrical problem du jour: no output indicated on my Balmar 6 Series alternator.
What I've done:
Per the troubleshoot guide in the Balmar manual, I have checked voltages at the Ford-type (4 wire) strip connector at the MC-612 regulator. All pins read voltages within the expected ranges in all three states: 1) ignition off, 2) ignition on, 3)engine running.
I have checked the alternator for the shaft/magnetic condition: ignition off, no magnetism at shaft ; ignition on, magnetism at shaft.
I have checked for continuity on all wiring to and from the alternator, no problems.
I have checked the fuse, no problem.
I have checked for corrosion on all terminals, no apparent problem.
On the possibility that my instrument panel voltmeter is defective, I am taking output readings from the feed to that meter via my Fluke 73 volt/ohm meter. It reads battery voltage when ignition is on. Upon cranking and running five minutes, no change or increase in voltage.
In testing the AC to drive the tachometer I get about 8.25 volts, with minimal variation with engine speed. What should it be? Would that be indicative of alternator gremlins?
I have not removed the alternator for testing at an alternator shop. That is no small task, and that is something I want to do only and if no other procedure will isolate the problem.
But I'm out of ideas.
__________________

__________________
Mickeyrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 19:20   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pickering Ontario
Boat: 1995 hunter 430
Posts: 330
Re: Balmar not putting out

__________________

__________________
Navicula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 20:32   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,701
Re: Balmar not putting out

what is your voltage at the field post of the alt when running?


what is the voltage between the pos and neg post on the alt when running, and not running.
__________________
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 20:38   #4
CF Adviser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Boat: Custom Van De Stadt 47 Samoa
Posts: 3,755
Re: Balmar not putting out

Did you buy it dinner?
Expect it to put out on your first date?
Buy it some nice new red high heels?
__________________
estarzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 20:45   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Boat: 1981 Ta Tong Cape Horn Cutter
Posts: 323
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to gts1544
Re: Balmar not putting out

We had a similar problem on our Beneteau down in the BVI's. www.PKYS.com sold us Balmar rebuild kits for the Series 6 for approx. $180 @. We bought 2; 1 for the rebuild and 1 for an onboard spare. George
__________________
gts1544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 21:38   #6
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,030
Re: Balmar not putting out

Buy her a new set of diodes. She'll put out then...
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 23:10   #7
Registered User
 
Mickeyrouse's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Texas
Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Posts: 61
Re: Balmar not putting out

Quote:
Originally Posted by estarzinger View Post
Did you buy it dinner?
Expect it to put out on your first date?
Buy it some nice new red high heels?
We've been friends a long time. She's not in to shoes- she's a working gal ( usually) and we always split the check.
__________________
Mickeyrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 23:17   #8
Registered User
 
Mickeyrouse's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Texas
Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Posts: 61
Re: Balmar not putting out

Add'l info: the alternator was producing (I won't say " putting out" again) before I had to slide the engine forward for re-mount work last summer. Naturally all cables to battery, instruments, regulator, etc. were disconnected so as to not restrict the engine while temporarily re-located. I believe something has not been connected, or connection not making good contact, or something disrupted in the move. But what?
__________________
Mickeyrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2015, 23:19   #9
Registered User
 
Mickeyrouse's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Texas
Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Posts: 61
Re: Balmar not putting out

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
what is your voltage at the field post of the alt when running?


what is the voltage between the pos and neg post on the alt when running, and not running.
No voltage reading
__________________
Mickeyrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 00:14   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,701
Re: Balmar not putting out

No voltage where? No feild voltage is a bad regulator (or cable). No voltage at alt is a bad cable or fuse. you should have 12v when off, and 14v while running. Well unless you have a diode isolator...
__________________
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 09:13   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: East shore Mobile Bay AL
Boat: ODAY 28
Posts: 374
Re: Balmar not putting out

what is your battery voltage, if batteries almost flat I have see some alternators will not charge the batteries
__________________
boeing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 09:21   #12
Moderator
 
HappyMdRSailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Mississippi
Boat: 48 Wauquiez Pilot Saloon-C22 Chrysler Sunpiper- 19 Potter-Preparing to cruise w/my girl
Posts: 5,980
Re: Balmar not putting out

Quote:
Originally Posted by estarzinger View Post
Did you buy it dinner?
Expect it to put out on your first date?
Buy it some nice new red high heels?
Ya beat me to it Evans...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickeyrouse View Post
We've been friends a long time. She's not in to shoes- she's a working gal ( usually) and we always split the check.
Priceless reply !
__________________
In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair...

Mai Tai's fix everything...
HappyMdRSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 10:36   #13
Registered User
 
Mickeyrouse's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Texas
Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Posts: 61
Re: Balmar not putting out

Well I think I've been trying to read output at the wrong place- it's been a couple years or more since I last checked how I set this up. The altn'r is actually feeding the house bank which then feeds the engine start via a Digital Duo Charge. Since I was trying to read at the engine batt naturally it wouldn't show any change when the engine ran. Got to thinking about it last nite and remembered where it's really going. Reading off the house bank, it starts out at battery voltage. When the engine is started, it gently rises to about 14.4 V, and settles in there.
One more reminder of how a comprehensive boat wiring diagram can save a lot of time. You'd think I'd know by now.
__________________
Mickeyrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 10:49   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,371
Re: Balmar not putting out

Well... it's working then. You dont need a wiring diagram to know to just check your voltage at the battery, if the engine's running it should be in the range you found. 14.3-14.4 v.
I highly recommend you get a Voltmeter installed. But many instruments; GPS, VHF radios have one built in if you look at the manual.
I usually install a voltmeter with a two way switch to check voltage at each battery bank on my boats. Cheap and simple. I no longer prefer one of those fancy electrical management devices, though some do.

__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 10:50   #15
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,066
Re: Balmar not putting out

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Buy her a new set of diodes. She'll put out then...
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
balmar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balmar 614 regulator / Balmar Alternator help Strait Shooter Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 25-08-2015 14:08
Crew Available: Putting out the feelers. Aus or NZ heading West after cyclone season 2014 rumoclock Crew Archives 1 19-01-2014 02:47
Alternator putting out 100amps at 1400RPM VVD Marine Electronics 7 25-06-2013 23:24
Alternators Putting Out Strange Amperage mestrezat Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 05-05-2009 06:29
1Amp Trickle Charger Putting Out 15.34 Volts Northeaster Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 23-03-2009 15:57



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.