Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2018, 13:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 689
Images: 6
Balmar dual output alternator 9115

Does anyone know what to do with un-used output of a dual output balmar alternator. I see nowhere in balmar installation manuals and i sifted through many pdfs, any instructions on what to do in case you are only charging one bank. One comment on one of the other forums suggested they be tied together.
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 15:03   #2
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 13,249
Re: Balmar dual output alternator 9115

On our boat I have bridged the two outputs together at the alternator. The combined output goes to the house bank, and the engine start battery is charged via an Echo charger. Has worked well for years.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II in the Pittwater for a few weeks
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2018, 05:42   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 689
Images: 6
Re: Balmar dual output alternator 9115

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post
On our boat I have bridged the two outputs together at the alternator. The combined output goes to the house bank, and the engine start battery is charged via an Echo charger. Has worked well for years.

Jim
Thanks, I was about to leave the other terminal open. And nowhere in the manual does it say what to do. When i bought the boat two years ago we motored for 2 miles to the travel lift. At that time Alternator was not producing an output. i had a clamp on meter on the output wire showing no current. And the other output was left open. Since then during the 2 year refit, I found a blown 10A fuse at the regulator red power wire. i also had the alternator rebuilt by an armature shop. They rebuilt my starter and ideal windlass motor as well.



So is it true that if second output is left open, those diodes would fail? That would seem to indicate that there is a dual bridge inside, 12 didoes total?
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alternator, balmar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balmar 614 regulator / Balmar Alternator help Strait Shooter Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 25-08-2015 14:08
For Sale: Balmar 75amp 3.15" dual foot alternator, never used islandsailing Classifieds Archive 2 19-09-2013 14:54
Balmar MC-614-H/regulator/no field output daboulton Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 13-07-2013 06:20
For Sale: Balmar 100 amp Hi output alternator sailguy2004 Classifieds Archive 1 01-04-2012 15:41
High Output Alternators - Look Out Balmar ! Jamel Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 11 24-01-2012 22:05



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.