Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2019, 12:58   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 387
Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

We're about to update our charging system and I'm looking at getting the Multiplus 3000, there are some features I like about it, but I can't find any information about how to change the absorbtion and float voltage settings. This info is easily available for Outback and Magnum chargers, but can't seem to find anything on Victron's. Is it possible?
__________________

sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 13:04   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Boat: 50’ Bavaria
Posts: 959
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Are you planning other victron units? The easiest way to change everything is via the colour control gx unit, which gives you control over every device. Or you can do it through the Bluetooth interface of a BMV712 if you have one of those instead. Or through a ve.direct to USB interface to your computer, or a VE smart dongle you can hang off the back.

If you’re not using any of the victron control devices on your system you can set parameters with dip switches inside the multiplus.
__________________

Tillsbury is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 13:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 387
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

I found in the user manual where you can set the charge profile via the DIP switches, but there is nothing that matches the charging requirements of Firefly batteries, 14.4 absorb / 13.4 float. The only float profile via DIP switches is 14.4/13.8 float. I also looked through the VictronConnect documentation and couldn't find anything in there about changing the voltage.

Currently we just have a "dumb" victron centaur 60 amp charger, what's nice about it is that it is 120/240 volt compatible, but i'm looking to consolidate and move into the 21st century as it were by getting an inverter charger. presently i don't have any plans to add any more accessories, but something like the bmv-712 might be nice to have in the future.

i'm a little disappointed that it can't handle 240 volt, but i get it being a combined inverter charger they probably can just pick one. i wonder how do you deal with charging batteries if you visit a 240 volt country?
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 13:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 387
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Well I just found a video on youtube about how do to this, disregard this thread!
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2019, 08:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Great Harbour, TT35, 43'
Posts: 10
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

I have the same Victron inverter/charger with Firefly batteries. I believe I have it configured properly, but I sure would appreciate it if you would post a link to that video. I'd like to double-check my settings!
Dtrombley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2019, 08:33   #6
Registered User
 
ccannan's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Boat: Alubat, OVNI 47
Posts: 264
Images: 5
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Please share your video link!
__________________
Chip
ccannan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2019, 12:59   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Boat: Catana 471
Posts: 104
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingunity View Post
We're about to update our charging system and I'm looking at getting the Multiplus 3000, there are some features I like about it, but I can't find any information about how to change the absorbtion and float voltage settings. This info is easily available for Outback and Magnum chargers, but can't seem to find anything on Victron's. Is it possible?
We have a Multiplus 3000 and a Firefly house bank. To configure it properly, you'll need a Victron MK3-USB interface adapter, and the VE Configure program running on a Windows PC. Or at least that's how I did it. There was a recent announcement about a Victron app for Android that you may also be able to use to configure the unit.

I'd keep the Centaur "universal voltage" charger in case you visit 230/240v locations, and also to back up and/or supplement the Mutliplus.

Another option is to install an isolation transformer that can step down from 240v to 120v when you're plugged into 240v shore power. Has other benefits as well.
Jetx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2019, 20:59   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 387
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jetx View Post
We have a Multiplus 3000 and a Firefly house bank. To configure it properly, you'll need a Victron MK3-USB interface adapter, and the VE Configure program running on a Windows PC. Or at least that's how I did it. There was a recent announcement about a Victron app for Android that you may also be able to use to configure the unit.

I'd keep the Centaur "universal voltage" charger in case you visit 230/240v locations, and also to back up and/or supplement the Mutliplus.

Another option is to install an isolation transformer that can step down from 240v to 120v when you're plugged into 240v shore power. Has other benefits as well.
Yep we were planning to keep one of the centuar chargers, but I am tempted by the idea of just getting an isolation transformer though. Seems simpler.
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 03:59   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,305
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

https://www.victronenergy.com/blog/2...e-configure-3/
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 04:39   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Great Harbour, TT35, 43'
Posts: 10
Re: Adjusting absorbtion / float voltage Victron Multiplus

Thanks for that link, rgleason!
__________________

Dtrombley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loa

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron Multiplus Compact 2000 without voltage sensing? svlamorocha Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 19 25-11-2013 06:56
Victron Multiplus PC Connection svpresent Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 10-11-2010 12:07
Victron MultiPlus vs. MasterVolt Masscombi BlueSovereign Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 05-09-2009 19:47
Absorbtion Voltage Pelagic Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 10-09-2008 18:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.