Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2015, 21:10   #1
Registered User
 
mtmilam's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Pensacola
Boat: Aquila 44 Power Catamaran
Posts: 21
50 Amp on Boat to Two 30 amps on Dock..BUT

The dock box only has ONE 30 amp service....the Other Dock box has another 30 amp service....Riddle me this...Can I plug my Smart Y adaptor that goes from the 50 amp service on boat to the 30 amp plug on one dock box...and then run a another cord to the other 30 amp dock box receptacle.....I am renting Two Slips for a 44' Catamaran, so I have each box to use.

I know using the smart Y adaptor works when Two 30 amp receptacles are on the Same dock box...something about being in Phase or 180 out of phase....But I want to know IF there is a chance it might work with the one 30 amp receptacle on each box......Is there a Chance that they may be the right Phase?....OR no chance at all???

Thanks
Mark
Aquila 44 power cat
"MTM Grand"
__________________

__________________
mtmilam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2015, 22:19   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,966
Re: 50 Amp on Boat to Two 30 amps on Dock..BUT

The idea of a smart Y adapater is that it will only connect if it determines the two 30 amp circuits are not the same phase (check the manual to confirm). If so, plug it in and see if it works. The electrician who wired the marina will probably have wired half the slips on one phase and half on the other. You just have to hope that he didn't do all of "A" dock one phase and all of "B" dock the other.

Remember that you will only get 30 amps (not 50) out of the smart Y - this will consist of two separate 30 amp 125v circuits and one 30 amp 250v circuit.
__________________

__________________
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2015, 22:32   #3
Registered User
 
mtmilam's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Pensacola
Boat: Aquila 44 Power Catamaran
Posts: 21
Re: 50 Amp on Boat to Two 30 amps on Dock..BUT

Ok...so there may be a "Chance" it may work....and Not a "Chance in Hell" it won't. ;D
Thanks
__________________
mtmilam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2015, 20:50   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: 50 Amp on Boat to Two 30 amps on Dock..BUT

50/50
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2015, 22:26   #5
Registered User
 
mtmilam's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Pensacola
Boat: Aquila 44 Power Catamaran
Posts: 21
Re: 50 Amp on Boat to Two 30 amps on Dock..BUT

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
50/50
I wish I had Two 50's .....no pun intended on your part, Right? .... ;D
Mark
__________________
mtmilam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dock

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruising adventures of two working class people & two antique sailboats! s/vAngel Commercial Posts 7 05-06-2015 23:18
Two Engines, Two Alternators, Two Banks scurvy dog Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 16-02-2014 06:48
Two solo cruisers , Two boats OR Two Captains One Boat colo.sail General Sailing Forum 8 17-12-2011 17:36
This Is Tough to Admit, but About Two Years Ago . . . cmzs The Sailor's Confessional 56 18-08-2011 06:17



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.