Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2016, 03:31   #1
Registered User
 
Fearnow's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 241
Watermaker

I have a Spectra on the way, and looking for any advise on install location.
I'm guessing Port side under floor and feed into both tanks on either side of the water pump?
__________________

__________________
Fearnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:09   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hillsborough, N.C. (Boat located: Tortola, BVI)
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 132
Re: Watermaker

Which model boat and which model Spectra? I would make sure I could fill the tanks individually if necessary. If there is ever a contamination issue with the water it would be better to spoil only one tank rather than both. If water is sweet, go ahead and fill both.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Jim Woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:21   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,155
Re: Watermaker

You can feed right into the tank vent line if it's easier.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:33   #4
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 16,518
Re: Watermaker

Give Tellie a call
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 12:41   #5
Registered User
 
Fearnow's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 241
Re: Watermaker

I have a 2009 420 and installing the Cape HornXtreme 330.
I see the vent lines but not sure how I will connect to the one opposite the WM
__________________
Fearnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 18:19   #6
Registered User
 
Scottster's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sidney, B.C.
Boat: Lagoon L400S2
Posts: 239
Re: Watermaker

My Spectra 340 is great,
It does everything it's supposed to.



Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Scottster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 22:39   #7
Registered User
 
Dulcesuenos's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida Keys, Bahamas Bound
Boat: 38' French Cat
Posts: 2,807
Images: 4
Re: Watermaker

Not sure the year but one I serviced was on the Stb side aft storage compartment under the berth. Fed into top of STb tank .
Tellie/ happen marine Stcw F T Lauderdale, should know for certain your best location, as should the dealer you purchased it from. I reccommend mounting it somewhere where it's serviceable especially the filter module housing. Great units!

Sent from my PLT1077G using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Dulcesuenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2016, 16:35   #8
Registered User
 
casablanca's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 137
Send a message via Skype™ to casablanca
Watermaker

Cape Horn extreme located under floor immediately forward of aft starboard berth. Fits well, easily accessible.


Bob
CASABLANCA L420 #86
__________________
Bob
SV CASABLANCA
Lagoon 420D
casablanca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2016, 17:00   #9
Registered User
 
Fearnow's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 241
Re: Watermaker

Thanks! That is just where I am putting it and everything is going well. Also, thanks for all the info you have shared with me over the past 2 years. Really helpful, especially with the power set up.
__________________
Fearnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2016, 05:07   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nyc/chesapeake
Boat: gozzard 44
Posts: 271
Re: Watermaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheechako View Post
You can feed right into the tank vent line if it's easier.
Be aware that feeding product water in the tank's vent line may create a problem if you overfill the tank. Could damage the watermaker, I think.
__________________
ronbo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2016, 22:27   #11
Registered User
 
Scottster's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sidney, B.C.
Boat: Lagoon L400S2
Posts: 239
Re: Watermaker

[ATTACH]130095[/ATTACH
In my anchor locker on a 400S2


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1472189210.400779.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	130095  
__________________
Scottster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2016, 22:25   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: TMM BVI
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 40
Re: Watermaker

Feeding the water tank via the vent line would not damage the water maker. However, the vent line needs a large enough diameter so it can act as a vent and fill at the same time. Otherwise the water will simply exit overboard.
__________________
warren460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2016, 00:35   #13
Zai
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Athens
Boat: 2011 Bavaria 36 Cruiser
Posts: 139
Re: Watermaker

If you plumb the product water into the fill hose to each tank, is it bad to fill the tank until water flows from the vent?
__________________
Zai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 19:34   #14
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,021
Re: Watermaker

If you guys ever need any help with your Spectras, don't hesitate to contact me and I'll be glad to help.

Halden Marine Services – Marine Watermakers, Solar Panels, Wind Generators
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 19:41   #15
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,021
Re: Watermaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottster View Post
[ATTACH]130095[/ATTACH
In my anchor locker on a 400S2


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum

Hi Scottster,

I'm going to give you the same hard won advice I just gave another CF member with a Spectra NewPort400 less than 20 minutes ago. Move your Spectras 340's feed pump module out of the locker you have it in. Find a drier location inside the boat itself. I promise you, the hassle is well worth it and I'm saving you a ton of money. Please feel free to contact me anytime with any advice you may need.

Halden Marine Services – Marine Watermakers, Solar Panels, Wind Generators
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water, watermaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Affordable Watermaker Brent Swain Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 36 09-06-2010 15:48
Watermaker From A Pressure Cooker Se Langt Provisioning: Food & Drink 14 09-04-2005 04:06
Wind Watermaker troppoboat Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 2 04-06-2004 13:02
pickled watermaker irwinsailor Provisioning: Food & Drink 1 12-06-2003 20:02



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.