Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-12-2014, 03:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liveaboard cruiser. Home port Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 822
Transducer placement?

Have added a sonar module to the Raymarine network on our L400 so we can find fish as well as get a better guide to the bottom type when time to anchor.

All goes well until we try to find a suitable place for the Airmar P79 "in hull" transducer. Not wishing to cut any more holes in the hull and being impatient to fish rather than haul out to fit a " through hull" bronze transducer, I thought the in hull 'ducer would do the trick. Especially as the hull bottom is solid fibreglass rather than the cored laminate that these transducer can't tolerate.

No luck! Just a gobbledygook read out. Tried the suggested trial using a plastic bag containing transducer and water in several hull places. I even tried to mount the wet box in a likely spot 2 feet forward of the keel, but no useful readout. Hang the transducer out the back and the read out is perfect. Not sure why. Perhaps the laminate is not composed of uniform materials. Maybe it has air in the layup ( god forbid!) or some other technical issue that I'm ignorant of.

Anyone been here and done that? Otherwise it's a new through hull transducer, a haul out and a hole saw. Cheers!
__________________

__________________
tuskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 03:25   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sydney
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 1,102
Re: Transducer placement?

1. i would put more thought to elegant on demand installation. As you say works fine just submerged.


2. Alternative, I would recycle speedo thruhull.



new thru hull brings bad dreams.
__________________

__________________
arsenelupiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 12:06   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 380 #241
Posts: 298
Re: Transducer placement?

We added the same transducer to our L380 for the same reasons. I'm assuming that you are plugging the transducer directly into a MFD that is on the Raymarine network.

I "stuck" the transducer in the same port forward location in front of the keel, as the existing tri data transducers (depth/temp & speed). It is forward & a bit outboard of the old depth transducer (which is still working), only max 300mm away but both work fine.

The picture on our a77 MFD is brilliant & certainly eases my mind a bit when anchoring around reefs etc.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Seabreeze, Lagoon 380 #241
Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia ... Cruising the waters of the Great Barrier Reef
www.sea-breeze.com.au
gspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 16:14   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liveaboard cruiser. Home port Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 822
Re: Transducer placement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspeak View Post
We added the same transducer to our L380 for the same reasons. I'm assuming that you are plugging the transducer directly into a MFD that is on the Raymarine network.

I "stuck" the transducer in the same port forward location in front of the keel, as the existing tri data transducers (depth/temp & speed). It is forward & a bit outboard of the old depth transducer (which is still working), only max 300mm away but both work fine.

The picture on our a77 MFD is brilliant & certainly eases my mind a bit when anchoring around reefs etc.

Dave
Thanks Dave. I sealed in the wet box in the opposite hull to the tri data transducer to avoid interference at 200 MHz but this location did not work. I've since realised that the frequency is slightly adjustable so interference close to the other transducer, as you suggest, should not be a problem. I tried the location you used, next to the existing tri data using a plastic bag "wet box" but it did not give a good reading. I may retry using the proper sealed wet box in this location.

I like Arsenalupiga's suggestion of recycling the existing hole of the tri data. I only really use the depth readout this provides, and wonder whether the Raymarine ST60 data gauges could access depth information from the sonar module? Might ask Ray himself about that one.
Cheers
__________________
tuskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 16:31   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,365
Re: Transducer placement?

I have used clear epoxy inside the hull, as well as silicone for fish finder transpnders. You need to ensure no bubbles though.
I gave up on oil filled things long back... seem to always leak or be a problem...
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 17:12   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 482
Re: Transducer placement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheechako View Post
I have used clear epoxy inside the hull, as well as silicone for fish finder transpnders. You need to ensure no bubbles though.
I gave up on oil filled things long back... seem to always leak or be a problem...
+1 on the leaky oil replacements..
Don't you mean 200Khz for your transducer !
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2014, 18:31   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liveaboard cruiser. Home port Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 822
Re: Transducer placement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmalina View Post
+1 on the leaky oil replacements..
Don't you mean 200Khz for your transducer !
Yes, sorry, it's killer hurts! The mega hurts is in the radio. You can tell that electronics makes my brain hertz. ( Bhz)

The Raymarine in hull transducer sits in a silicone sealed wet box filled with water or ethylene glycol. It's less drama than oil. In any case, a leaky wet box wasn't the problem.

Thanks Cheechako. I'm glad I didn't epoxy it in position before I found it didn't transmit a good echo.
__________________

__________________
tuskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
men

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09
Speed transducer placement - Oops?! Weyalan Marine Electronics 10 25-07-2007 16:26
Battry placement Mr. Fixit Construction, Maintenance & Refit 4 15-05-2006 15:11



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.