Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2017, 00:54   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 33
Raymarine depth gauge tripping

My depth gauge trips out on a regular basis. Perhaps once or twice a day. Everything else continues to work fine. Switch off the navigation and back on and, after reboot, all is well again. I have tried to identify a repetitive switch (auto helm, windlass, etc.) that might trigger this, but have not found anything. Raymarine have checked it twice and say they can find no problem.

Any thoughts?

Nick
__________________

Nicklaing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2017, 15:50   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 783
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

Might be loose wires where sounder joins the Backbone or the converter module if it has one. Have Raymarine actually been on the boat ?
__________________

Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2017, 16:14   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 676
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

If the transducer is installed through the hull, it can be fouled by marine growth on or near it. A couple of well-placed swipes with a bottom-brush on an extended boat hook can clear this. (Or just dive over.)

If the transducer is mounted inside the hull, in some sort of fluid, things seem more complicated. Mine would often blank out in shallow channels, probably due to too many reflections. Bubbles in the fluid due to temperature changes. Phase of the moon. Etc.
toddster8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 02:58   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 33
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

Thank you. It does indeed go through the hull, but no growth as she has just been out and cleaned. This has been going on a year now. Annoying, but not too problematic. Just cannot work out what is causing it.
Nicklaing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 03:53   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

Check the connections at the ITC-5 converter. The transducer should run directly to this box. Low voltage on the Sea Talk Bus or a bad connection/corrosion are possible culprits.

Raymarine iTC-5 Instrument Transducer Converter
captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 03:59   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 33
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

Thank you Captjay.

Would this be located behind the chart panel?

I will not be back until end of July, but can take a look then.

Nick
Nicklaing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 04:35   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicklaing View Post
Thank you Captjay.

Would this be located behind the chart panel?

I will not be back until end of July, but can take a look then.

Nick

I do not know the layout on the 450 but yes it is likely that it is there. If you follow the wire from the transducer it will end there. Your wind instrument will also be tied into it. So it will likely be close to the base of the mast in salon on forward lockers.
captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 04:36   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 33
Re: Raymarine depth gauge tripping

I will check it. Thank you again.

Nick
__________________

Nicklaing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joining larger gauge wire to 2 smaller gauge wires? BrettB Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 23-02-2017 21:24
Depth gauge, raymarine E70207 - 2 questions landonshaw Marine Electronics 17 24-01-2017 19:05
Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine myocean Marine Electronics 5 19-07-2013 11:37
Depth Gauge Problems Kittiff Meets & Greets 9 20-09-2011 12:34
Want To Buy: depth finder gauge crashkahuna Classifieds Archive 3 02-04-2011 07:21



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.