Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2019, 12:50   #1
Registered User
 
SVLife's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa
Boat: Lagoon 450F
Posts: 9
New chart plotter on original network?

The 2014 450f that were looking at has full helm electronics with the e120 and salon instrument displays but no chart plotter down there. Will one of the new Raymarine MFDs be close to plug & play or will everything need to be upgraded? Im assuming some of you have experienced similar , hopefully.

Thanks guys!
__________________

SVLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 12:55   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
tkeithlu's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Carrabelle, Florida
Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Posts: 1,579
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Welcome, SV life. You are at the source of OpenCPN. Do what we did - a cheap laptop, CPN, charts from NOAA and others, and since we wanted to share the chart table stuff, we put a monitor and wireless mouse at the helm.
__________________

__________________
Never let anything mechanical know that you are in a hurry.
tkeithlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 13:46   #3
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 12,773
Images: 14
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

What are the other instruments? if they are the same generation as the E120 then at a guess ST60 wind, depth and speed etc so likely Seatalk networked. This can be converted to match Raymarine's latest Sealtak NG system quite easily.

Is there any AIS on board or what are your plans for this?

Also is the VHF connected to the GPS?

The straight answer is a modern Raymarine CP can be connected to the existing network with a Seatalk to SeatalkNG converter. So new CP plus $100 for the widget.

The one thing to be aware of is the E120 is getting on a bit now. We recently swopped out a C80 and got good money for it so there is a demand for this generation of kit, but its elderly. So perhaps time to start thinking longer term and choose items that will fit in with future plans.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2019, 17:46   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 31
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVLife View Post
The 2014 450f that we’re looking at has full helm electronics with the e120 and salon instrument displays but no chart plotter down there. Will one of the new Raymarine MFDs be close to plug & play or will everything need to be upgraded? I’m assuming some of you have experienced similar , hopefully.

Thanks guys!
If you want an integrated chart-plotter in the salon you will have to do some upgrades. If you stay with the E120 at the helm you cannot mix and match the E120 with newer Raymarine chartplotters, but you can get another E-series chartplotter and set it up as a slave in the salon. However, the chartplotters don't communicate with each other via SeatalkNG; you will also need to install a Raynet ethernet network (i.e. HS5 RayNET Network Switch and at least two Raynet cables connected to the switch on one end and the E-series chart plotters at the other end).

If you decide to upgrade your chartplotter at the helm, the newer Axioms can be networked to older eS and gS series chartplotters as long as they are running the same firmware (which is one of the Lighthouse III versions). The eS, gS and Axiom chartplotters are also networked using an ethernet network (i.e. HS5 switch plus Raynet cables).

http://www.raymarine.com/view/index-id=3838.html
rudykruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2019, 17:56   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Boat: 50 Bavaria
Posts: 1,412
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Seatalk to SeatalkNG converter, plus an XB8000 to give you everything over Wifi and AIS on top. Then you can use laptop or fixed computer at the chart table with OpenCPN, and/or iPads or whatever else you want anywhere in the boat, all with chart plotting and AIS and instrument data.
Tillsbury is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2019, 18:17   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 31
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillsbury View Post
Seatalk to SeatalkNG converter, plus an XB8000 to give you everything over Wifi and AIS on top. Then you can use laptop or fixed computer at the chart table with OpenCPN, and/or iPads or whatever else you want anywhere in the boat, all with chart plotting and AIS and instrument data.
This is a different solution to OP's request - though. It is easy to just have an ipad running Navionics and hey presto you have a chartplotter anywhere you want. But if you have an integrated suite of instruments from a manufacturer and you want to replicate that integrated suite in two or more places, using OpenCPN/ipad/whatever in one location and Raymarine/Garmin/B&G/Simrad etc. in another does not get you to the same place.

For example, I have a Vesper XB-8000 sharing AIS and N2K via WiFi; ipad and Samsung tablets running Navionics; Windows 10 tablet running OpenCPN and all of that is great. But my helm has Raymarine and my salon has a slave Raymarine chartplotter, hooked up to Raymarine auto-pilots (and of course sharing N2K data). The XB-8000, OpenCPN, Navionics on tablets etc. does not come near the ability to navigate to a waypoint automatically from either chartplotter at the helm or in the salon; alter course from the helm or salon; etc. For that you still need an integrated instrument suite unfortunately.
rudykruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2019, 23:10   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Boat: 50 Bavaria
Posts: 1,412
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Yes, but once you've used a good software chartplotter with raster charts on a big fast iPad pro or a competent computer you'll never want to use a MFD for anything other than emergency backup ever again.
Tillsbury is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 08:59   #8
Registered User
 
SVLife's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa
Boat: Lagoon 450F
Posts: 9
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

We wanted to have everything in place and use an iPad as a backup. Wasn’t sure if we could upgrade individually or if we would need to update the entire set at once.
If doing all would you guys stick with Raymarine or go B&G?
SVLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 09:17   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 31
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

What's the make, model and condition of the auto-pilot? What's the make, model and condition of your radar and how is it communicating with your existing equipment? If the radar is an older analog unit you have no choice but to replace it should you upgrade elsewhere, and that means running new cabling through the mast. Does the boat have a SeaTalkNG/NMEA2K network? etc.etc.

What you decide to do should at least be partially influenced by the existing equipment on the boat. Refitting all navigation electronics, including autopilot course computer(s) and head unit(s), radar, AIS transceiver, MFD's, multifunction instruments, new NMEA2K network, etc. can run you $15-$30k installed in the US. Doing it yourself is a major undertaking.
rudykruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 13:52   #10
Registered User
 
SVLife's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa
Boat: Lagoon 450F
Posts: 9
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

All the factory Raymarine stuff from 2012. Salon never got a Chartplotter from previous owner and we wanted to add one in there
SVLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 17:27   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 31
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Thing is, there's no "standard" Raymarine install from 2012 (or 2011or 2012 Raymarine is your boat is 2012).

If the boat has an E120W chartplotter with Hybridtouch (i.e a touchscreen) then you already have the ability to use Navionics plotter sync to an ipad for example. That would be the cheapest and least effort way to get a chartplotter in your salon synched with the helm.
rudykruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 18:58   #12
Registered User
 
SVLife's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa
Boat: Lagoon 450F
Posts: 9
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

That it does so thank you, thats probably what we will do for a while.
Any chance they are prewired for a Chartplotter in the salon so we could buy a used e120 and sync it up?
SVLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 20:02   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 31
Re: New chart plotter on original network?

Probably zero chance of prewiring in place. Raymarine chartplotters communicate via Seatalk HS, a proprietary Raymarine ethernet network. The only way Lagoon would prewire that is if the original customer requested it.

Here is a discussion on getting the E120W to work via WiFi.

https://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-...i-fi-true.html

If your E-series is newer then it will get more seamless.
__________________

rudykruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: C-MAP NT+ Chart for Chart Plotter NAC 501 Carribean walterc General Classifieds (no boats) 0 23-02-2019 11:26
Adding a NMEA 2000 Chart Plotter to a NMEA 0183 Network SailingPNW Marine Electronics 25 21-02-2019 10:57
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 16:42
The Chart plotter is in, the AIS is in, the new radio is in, etc CSY Man Marine Electronics 25 04-06-2007 13:18

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.