Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2016, 15:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Question Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

On my Lagoon 400, fuel levels are read on the proprietary Lagoon panel. I'd like to get the fuel level information on the NMEA 2000 bus so I can read it on the plotter display and on the tablet/PC.

Does anyone know how to augment the sensor to report on NMEA 2000 as well as the Lagoon panel?

The factory sensor (pic attached) is not a known brand or interface as far as I can tell. And i cannot adequately trace the wiring to see where the sensor leads go (there are 3).

(seriously, can any trace the crazy factory wiring in a Lagoon? i love that it's all solidly protected and held in place, but there are amazing amounts of unused wiring running about).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160219_193623.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	243.0 KB
ID:	119428  
__________________

__________________
Whomda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 16:08   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2 #497
Posts: 8
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

On the latested 400s2 the panel is a Mastervolt MasterView Easy.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
mcmanso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 16:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmanso View Post
On the latested 400s2 the panel is a Mastervolt MasterView Easy.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Really? i thought only the Battery info was displayed in the Mastervolt display?


FYI I'm not a fan of the Mastervolt display either, since it's small font cannot be adjusted, and Amp usage doesn't go to the 2000 bus. But at least the voltage automatically goes on the NMEA 2000 bus, since the bus detects the voltage of the main bank directly.
__________________
Whomda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 16:24   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2 #497
Posts: 8
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Sorry, Correct the fuel levels are in the LCD of the electrical panel.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
mcmanso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 17:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmanso View Post
Sorry, Correct the fuel levels are in the LCD of the electrical panel.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Right. I'd like to read them in other, much more useful locations.

The B&G displays will do a number of useful things, like set an alarm on low fuel levels, and I think calculate mileage, if only they could get the fuel level info on the NMEA 2000 bus.
__________________
Whomda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2016, 09:22   #6
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wrangell Island, Alaska
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 864
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whomda View Post
On my Lagoon 400, fuel levels are read on the proprietary Lagoon panel. I'd like to get the fuel level information on the NMEA 2000 bus so I can read it on the plotter display and on the tablet/PC.

Does anyone know how to augment the sensor to report on NMEA 2000 as well as the Lagoon panel?

The factory sensor (pic attached) is not a known brand or interface as far as I can tell. And i cannot adequately trace the wiring to see where the sensor leads go (there are 3).

(seriously, can any trace the crazy factory wiring in a Lagoon? i love that it's all solidly protected and held in place, but there are amazing amounts of unused wiring running about).
Whomda,

I realize this may only be a last resort consideration, but CruzPro makes many gauges you can add to a NMEA network (their gauges are 0183 so you need a multiplexer...)

Here is the link to their fuel gauge that can be calibrated to very accurately plot fuel consumption information as well...

In case this is of interest.

Cheers!

Bill
__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2016, 09:46   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Boat: L 450
Posts: 73
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Check this out..

Philippi is doing one

Philippi Marine Power Supply Systems


M
__________________
Darksyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2016, 14:18   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Vilamoura - Portugal
Posts: 23
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

See here.
To calibrate, the best would be to have the display of Maretron too.
Maretron | TLA100
__________________
dietervoegeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2016, 02:06   #9
Registered User
 
DavefromNZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 389
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

The Lagoon (Bavaria, etc) system for measuring and indicating liquid levels is poor. Why use a screw with a wire at linear measurements when the tank is not symmetrical? That can show a 350ltr tank as 1/4 full when there is only 20ltrs left. I have said this before but this is the superior method of measuring fuel/water/waste:

http://www.bepmarine.com/en/ts1

Works very well and can be calibrated to any tank size and shape! I use on my black water, diesel and water tanks. You need to have this for output. It is color, linear or circular gauge, high/low alarms:

http://www.bepmarine.com/en/80-600-0022-00

Excellent for liquids info to the nearest 5 ltrs and battery monitoring with a shunt.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
DavefromNZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2016, 11:26   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Thanks all for the replies.

It seems clear I can replace the tank sensor with one that is Ultrasonic with a NMEA 2000 output and get what I would like (with more accuracy), though there doesn't seem to be a good way to get NMEA 2000 AND keep the Lagoon LCD display. Also, sounds like calibration will be an challenge.

I appreciate it.
__________________
Whomda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2016, 12:21   #11
Registered User
 
DavefromNZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 389
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

I just left the Lagoon system as is and added the BEP. Great especially for electric info.

As I did 2 fuel, 2 water and 2 holding I bought the programmer unit and set each ultrasonic unit up for the tank shapes and capacities. Fairly easy to do. Then the electrician just wired them into to BEP display.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1456428093.663010.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	119596Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1456428107.783774.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	119597



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
DavefromNZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2016, 16:20   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: Fuel Sensor in Lagoons -> NMEA2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavefromNZ View Post
I just left the Lagoon system as is and added the BEP. Great especially for electric info.

As I did 2 fuel, 2 water and 2 holding I bought the programmer unit and set each ultrasonic unit up for the tank shapes and capacities. Fairly easy to do. Then the electrician just wired them into to BEP display.
Attachment 119596Attachment 119597



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
That looks pretty great, I will definitely look into that solution.

Good to know you can just add the second sensor to the tank. Looking at the tank, it wasn't obvious how to add a second sensor.

Lagoon installed the Mastervolt Shunt, seems like the BEP solution would mean that shunt would have to be discarded or at least duplicated. unfortunate extra expense, but the Mastervolt Easy View I find to be lacking in usefulness.

Also, do you really have a 400 liter fuel tank on each side?? Very jealous of that.
__________________

__________________
Whomda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, lagoon, fuel

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up a raymarine connector ST850 airmar sensor to NMEA2000 alctel Marine Electronics 1 09-12-2015 23:27
General Info: Lagoons Vs Fountaine Pajots ireaney Lagoon Catamarans 15 20-09-2012 09:05
Lagoons Have Cheap Brass Thruhulls georgetheleo Multihull Sailboats 199 08-04-2012 17:28
General Info: Lagoons in the ARC 2011 careka Lagoon Catamarans 5 22-11-2011 05:11
Fuel Level and Water in Fuel Sensor Endojoe Engines and Propulsion Systems 0 30-06-2009 08:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.