Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2015, 15:12   #1

Youngin' looking for adventure!

Hello fellow adventurers!

I am a 21 year old male living out in the desert of East Mesa, Arizona.

All my life I've wanted to see the world, but haven't thought I've had the means until I found this website.

I have no experience as a crew member on a vessel, but I'm eager to learn!

I don't know exactly how this forum works, as far as requirements for sailing or what-have-you, but all I need are the clothes on my back, food in my stomach, and a mentor who doesn't mind teaching a newbie how to sail and see the world!

I'm ready to hit the water, please let me know what you think!

Thanks,
Caedon
Old 29-05-2015, 18:21   #2

Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 33, Columbia 9.6
Re: Youngin' looking for adventure!

Hi Caedon,

I know the feeling. I was eager like you during my college years (not much older now, 26). Two months after finishing my final undergrad university course, I set off into the world and haven't stopped yet. I come back home at times to prepare for my next journey before heading out again. Always saving money, always working towards my next big trip. Currently, that 'next trip' for me is a solo circumnavigation beginning in 2017.

I tell you this because if you're really interested in doing it (whatever it might be), your most reliable option is making it happen on your own. It will require a drastic change in your life, and chances are you will need to jump in with both feet.

My recommendation is to pick a coastal city you want to be based out of and go. I'm a west coaster, and as a sailor and city dweller can't say enough good things about Long Beach, CA (in LA county). San Diego is also beautiful. The Bay Area (San Francisco) is lovely but a bit frigid for me.