Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2008, 09:25   #1

Boat: East Orient 32
Cool Working Crew Needed - Summer '09 in Greece

I started re-doing the caulking on my teak decks in August but it's a big job and needs to be done in summer when it's dry. Also, I need to re-do all the screw plugs. I've never done this before and am nervous about doing it wrong. I'm thinking an hour or two a day would leave enough time to do some sailing and sightseeing as well. The boat is in Greece in the Ionian sea. Sure would be nice to have someone who knows how to do this join me for a "share the work/share the fun" summer...

Old 25-11-2008, 11:35   #2
CF Adviser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
I think that is a great idea, but having done the job it would not be practical or advisable to start and stop once it has begun. Apart from being messy, once you open up the seams….not a time to risk getting them wet until the whole job is done and sealed.

I would suggest you get the fastening and caulking done first and then offer a cruise as a reward.

Also….My mind is just reeling with how you could advertise for some help.

“Large Caulk job available in Greece, hands on experience needed.”

Old 25-11-2008, 12:19   #3
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
seagypsywoman,

That lovely smile should bring multiple offers of help. Just be sure to read their resume's carefully. Error on the side of caution!,,,,,BEST WISHES on getting the deck done, and making a friend too.....i2f
Old 25-11-2008, 13:23   #4

Boat: Westsail 32