Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 11:55   #1

Volunteer for unpaid position

Hi everybody, my name is Luca and I'm new to this site.

I've been sailing all my life starting on an Optimist at the age of 7; recently I worked as a deckhand in a few short term yacht deliveries in occasion of Genoa International Boat Show. Last November I obtained the Italian Boating License which broaden my knowledge of cartography, navigation, sea security and meteorology.

I'm friendly, eager to learn and a hard worker. I speek fluent English, Italian and basic Spanish. I have STCW, Powerboat level 2, Eng 1 certificates and I own a B1/B2 visa.

Currently I'm living in Miami Beach, willing to volunteer for a unpaid position. My objective is to gather enough skills and miles to be able to get the Yacht Master certificate.

I'm looking for an experienced captain who would want to transmit his knowledge; either sailng or power boat, any lenght. I'm ready to embark immediatly and for a long period of time, preferably in Caribbeans but I'm willing to fly anywhere if you contribute for travel expanses.

If you are interested contact me here or at luca.pedevilla@gmail.com
Old 13-12-2013, 05:34   #2

Boat: Catalina Morgan 440
Re: Volunteer for unpaid position

Hello, Luca.
I saw your posting about your desire to crew on a boat. I am looking for crew to join me on a trip from Panama to Tortola, BVI in the very near future. The trip is about 1,500 nm and should take me from 4 to 5 weeks to complete, weather dependent of course. My target is to arrive in Tortola around the first week of February. Since I am not in a great hurry to get to BVI, we could be stopping in Grand Cayman, Jamaica, Cuba, or Puerto Rico along the way. I would like to leave Panama as soon as possible after Christmas day.