Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-02-2014, 14:56   #1

Boat: Lagoon 440
St Martin-Panama-Pacific crew wanted

Hi, I am looking for expressions of interest for 3 crew to sail from St Martin to Panama Canal and Tahiti or beyond. The boat is a Lagoon 440 cat and each crew member will have their own private cabin and head. I am a professional skipper and sailing instructor from Australia but I have travelled, sailed & lived all over this planet. I have taken 2 years out to enjoy cruising the Caribbean and Pacific (again). Looking at transiting the canal in April. Sailing experience is not essential but you need to understand that passage making can be tough sometimes. Especially tough will be the 4 week passage to Nuka Hiva or Hiva Oa from Panama. Not tough weather wise but tough mentally & emotionally. I haven't decided yet whether I will sail direct from Archipelago de las Perlas (Pacific side just 40nm out of the canal) to the Marquesas, or via Galapagos. As a crew we can make that decision together after assessing all the variables while in Panama. In the last year, there have been a lot of restrictions placed on cruising boats in the Galapagos and its minimum $750 just to drop the hook at Galapagos now with all the fees.
The most important criteria is your personality; I want crew who are happy, responsible, contribute to all duties willingly, have a good attitude and understand that in a confined space (and all boats get small eventually) living aboard a boat, everyone needs to be extra understanding. We will all stand night watches on a rotating basis.