Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2015, 11:08   #1

some advice for a future adventurer

hello all. I need some SERIOUS advice.

i am new to this forum, and (excluding a basic maritime transport and distribution course) i have had ZERO experience within the sailing/cruising realm. none the less i am a lover of all things ocean and always will be, my life would not be the same without it.
that being said, i am looking for some advice. I have planned to undertake a world wide adventure at the beginning of 2017. departing from Australia, i plan on sailing the pacific islands (AS A CREW MEMBER) for my first act, although as previously mentioned i have no experience sailing and very little academic background within the maritime industry, so obviously i will hit the books. BUT, i wonder?
what is the best way to gain experience sailing and gaining sea time to prepare myself for this journey?
how can i gain enough sea going experience for boats to hire me?
And, how can i gain this experience while i am employed full time?
Will anyone hire me as a basic deckhand to scrub and clean without any experience?
Old 10-07-2015, 11:39   #2

Re: some advice for a future adventurer

What is a maritime transport and distribution course? It sounds more like a logistical course for moving freight.

Not that that matters. A few ideas for getting you some limited experience. Racers at yacht clubs are frequently looking for unskilled crew or rail meat, so visiting a couple of your local yacht clubs and chatting up racers may get you some where.

I know little about Australia, but most coastal countries have a volunteer search and rescue organisation you can join, that's a good way to learn some skills. Usually no experience required.