Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 14:43   #1

Question SEEKING SEA TIME – CORPUS CHRISTI AREA

I am looking for open ocean sailing time on coastal cruisers in the Corpus Christi bay area. I am an experienced lake sailor having sailed on Canyon Lake for over 20 years on my father’s 22’ Catalina. I am making the transition to open water sailing. I have completed the following American Sailing Associations (ASA) courses:

· ASA 101 - Basic Keelboat Sailing Course
· ASA 103 - Basic Coastal Cruising Sailing Course
· ASA 104 - Bareboat Cruising Certification Class

with Captain Chris out of Learn to Sail Texas in Corpus Christi. He will be happy to provide a reference for me. I qualified on the 103 and 104 was a 30’ Hunter. Although, I have limited ocean sailing experience, I would like more time on the water to feel comfortable as an eventual skipper. My goal is to get the confidence to skipper a boat of my own for rental on vacation or to purchase a boat of my own in a couple of years.

I am looking for hours on the water on a boat over 30’ in length. I would like practice as the skipper getting the crew organized, planning the trip, navigation, docking maneuvers, VHF radio calls, etc. I would like to sail around the Corpus Christi Bay area, the Texas Intercostals, Port Aransas, Rockport, and of course venture into the Gulf of Mexico – which I have never done. I would also love to do an overnighter/ multiple day trip from one of the Texas Gulf Cities to the next (Houston, Corpus, South Padre Island) to get the experience of a few nights at sea.

I am willing to pay up to $100.00 a day, plus fuel, plus extra for overnight or berthing. I am willing to pay for all of my meals, provisions, and travel.

If interested in training a future captain, please respond and I can give you my contact information.
Old 20-09-2013, 18:41   #2

Re: SEEKING SEA TIME – CORPUS CHRISTI AREA