Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2015, 14:52   #1

San Diego to Alaska to Japan

Has anyone with experience sailed that Route - San Diego to Homer to Hokkaido to Tokyo? I will eventually end up in the Philippines, but I wanted to swing by Japan (where I grew up as an American kid), first! Can anyone tell me what to expect, and what I should look out for?
Old 26-05-2015, 15:52   #2

Boat: Sabre 34 , Island Packet 38
Re: San Diego to Alaska to Japan

I am by no means an expert, and at present can not access the world pilot charts ( www.msi.nga.mil ) I think that may be a cold ,wet, rough, beat to windward all the way to Japan.

Check the pilot charts for the month that you are planning for and perhaps you may want to do the trip in the reverse order.

Best of luck to you.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Old 26-05-2015, 16:01   #3

Boat: Caliber 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by pesarsten View Post
I am by no means an expert, and at present can not access the world pilot charts ( www.msi.nga.mil ) I think that may be a cold ,wet, rough, beat to windward all the way to Japan.

Check the pilot charts for the month that you are planning for and perhaps you may want to do the trip in the reverse order.
Friends did it from Japan to Anchorage and it was a cold, wet, windblown reach all the way. They were very experienced (Seattle - Galpagos - New Zealand - Australia - Japan) and in a Lord Nelson 41 and found the trip uncomfortable and unpleasant.

I've seen a lot of video of that trip and would not want to try it going the other way.

As has been discussed endlessly here, the trip from San Diego to Puget Sound (Homer is way further) is a miserable difficult beat into a constant head on swells. Once north of San Francisco the water is cold (52 degrees or less) and there is frequent fog. The air temp is always about 55 to 60 and it is very difficult to stay warm.