Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 10:56   #1

Novice, but Location and Schedule Are Entirely Open

Hello,

I'm quite new to sailing, as I haven't sailed since I was 7 (and am now 38). However, I'm relocating to southern California in the very near future... and my circumstances allow a completely open schedule, so I can accomodate anyone's schedule for short or long durations, with no pressing need for me to ever be back to port at any given time. I'm financially independent, so I have no need to return to a regular job. If someone is looking for help on the east coast I'd be willing to fly out... for the right job.

Why would you take a complete novice? I'm willing to work for free for the first couple cruises. I need to learn the ropes. The extent of my knoweldge currently is limited to reading books on sailing, and remembering some terminology and facts that my father taught me when I was young.

However, I'm incredibly passionate about making this my future. I have no greater desire than to start sailing again, and to own my own cruiser in the next year or two. I want to learn the ropes before owning my own boat... so I'm looking for a kind soul that might be willing to take a novice under their wing for a couple cruises so I can learn... while working for next to nothing.