Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-08-2016, 00:51   #1

Need 1 way to Hawaii, Please help

Hi my name is Ceila and I am looking to transfer to the University of Hawaii-(most likely, Hilo). However, I do not like planes and am traveling with my cat (he cannot be left alone on a plane for 13+ hours in cargo, it just ridiculous there are no adequate commercial transportation). I am looking to take a ship with my cat to move to Hawaii in either January or February.
I have no cruise or sailing experience, however I am willing to learn and work for free, obviously, if there is anyone willing to allow me and my beautiful furry friend to aboard their adventure to Hawaii. ☀️
I have worked multiple jobs in the past, so I'm not completely useless.
I would appreciate any comments, direction, or help with this matter, as I truly would like to transfer to Hawaii for my education, however standard transportation is not an option.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I seriously appreciate it.
Old 18-08-2016, 03:44   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Re: Need 1 way to Hawaii, Please help

Hi, Ceila.

I can't help you get to Hawaii, but I can tell you that your cat won't have to ride in the cargo hold if you end up flying.

Buy an appropriately sized soft-sided pet carrier and you can bring it on board with you. You'll have to stash it under the seat in front of you for take-off and landing, but you can keep in in your lap during flight. I've done this several times. The airline charged me $100 for the cat. You need to make a reservation, and they limit the number of pets that are allowed in the cabin, so do it early.
Old 18-08-2016, 07:36   #3

Thank you for letting me know, I had no idea! I am however, absolutely terrified to fly, Unfortunetly. I worry this will stop me from transferring.
Old 18-08-2016, 09:26   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeilaS View Post