Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2008, 10:10   #1

Looking to Rent a live-aboard in Washington DC area

Hello!

I am looking to rent a live-aboard next summer in the Washington DC area for 6-8 months. It is just me and a very well-behaved dog. I have some boating experience, racing sailboats as a teenager and borrowing a friends yacht in Malaysia and Hawaii often, but am relatively new to the live-aboard world.

I am looking for advice on how to find live-aboard rentals, and how to make myself an appealing tenant. I am a government employee with a stable (guaranteed) income, and a great rental and credit history, so hopefully that will help!

Where are some good forums for finding rentals out there? Is this common? What are some possible pitfalls of renting/leasing?

Many thanks!

Joyce
Old 20-06-2008, 10:48   #2

Joyce, I've never heard of renting someone's boat to live in. I'm sure it's happened before, but I'd be surprised to see an ad by an owner looking to rent out his boat as a dwelling.

Anyone have any sources?
Old 20-06-2008, 10:51   #3

Boat: Bruce Roberts Offshore '38 - "God Willing"
Live aboard rental? I'm not sure that there is such a thing in DC. Perhaps in England or Holland. Not in DC, as far as I know.

I mean, who will buy an 25k boat for you and rent it to back to you for 25k, with your own insurance coverage. At which point, the owners will keep your 5k damage deposit. You can sue the owner in court to get it back.