Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-12-2012, 10:49   #1

\I want to sail

Hello and Happy Christmas and Newyear to all that are reading.

My name is Trevor and I am 46 a year old Canadian. My entire life I have dreamed of sailing in the tropics. Being Canadian, unfortunately I am more used to cold weather and ice and snow than a warm paradise. But... As my son has now grown and has his own life, I am single and have no more attachments to my home on Vancouver Island more than making sure the mortgage is payed. I have now rented out my house and as of the end of January will be free to pursue my dream. Does anyone have any ideas on where the best place for me to go learn to sail, ideally not pay much or anything at all in exchange for working. I am an x-dive instructor, very mechanical and have been a handyman for 30 years. |I know I would be an assest on board a boat if given the opportunity.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated

Thank you

Trevor
Old 26-12-2012, 12:14   #2

Re: \I want to sail

Trevor, My tartan 37 is in St. Augustine, Florida and starting the second week of Jan. I'll start moving it to West Palm Beach and then across to the Bahamas. If you are interested and have a passport, we might work something our.

Bill
Old 26-12-2012, 12:44   #3

Boat: hunter 376