Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2012, 19:08   #1

Former USMC

Hello my name is Jason gabel and im looking to get some open water experiance toward my captains license. My contract with the marine corps just recently ended where i was a squad leader so responsiblity is not an issue as well as reliability. I am qualified as a class 1 swimmer complete with basic water survival and human rescue and recovery as well as advanced first aid and trauma treatment. I am now living on my 27' hunter in wrightsville beach nc and sail give or take every day so while i am no sailing expert by any means i do know my way around a boat. I am available immediately. Destination duration and vessel type are of no consequence.
Old 24-07-2012, 19:48   #2

Boat: 31' Southern Cross
Re: Former USMC

I AM ALSO A FORMER MARINE THOUGH BACK IN THE 60'S. I HAVE A 31' CE RYDER SOUTHERN CROSS WHICH IS PRESENTLY IN BEAUFORT NC. I WILL BE CRUISING THE CARIBBEAN IN NOVEMBER, HOPEFULLY FOR MOST OF THE WINTER. SAILING IS NEW TO ME THOUGH BOATING IS NOT. THE BOAT IS WELL EQUIPPED THOUGH I WILL BE DOING SOME WORK ON IT IN OCTOBER.
I AM MARRIED BUT MY WIFE HATES BOATS SO I GENERALLY GO ALONE. I'M PRETTY LAID BACK AND LIKE A GOOD TIME BUT WOULD ENJOY SOME COMPETENT COMPANY.
I WAS IN 1ST FORCE RECON AND THOUGH I HAVE A GRAND DAUGHTER ABOUT YOUR AGE I AM PHYSICALLY FIT AS ANY GOOD FORMER MARINE SHOULD BE REGARDLESS OF AGE.
IF YOU ARE INTERESTED GET BACK TO ME.
SEMPER FI
JIM
Old 26-07-2012, 07:00   #3

Boat: Hatteras 61 CMY, Hatteras 58 Yachtfish, Eastern 21 CC
Re: Former USMC

Jason,

This may be a lucky day for both of us. I hold a USCG 100T license sail and power. I have been sailing big boats since the early 70s throughout the east coast, Bahamas, and Caribean. I have a lot of experience to pass on to someone eager to learn.