Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-08-2015, 07:43   #1

For Atlantic crossing from Europe anytime Oct. to Dec.

Hi,

I'm looking to help crew on a boat crossing the Atlantic from Europe this season. I am currently traveling in Europe, and I can meet you at any port of choice, including the Canaries. I'm available anytime starting in October. If needed I am happy to arrive early and help clean, scrape the hull, or do whatever else needs done to prepare for the voyage.

I have some sailing experience but I'm still a beginner, happy to follow orders and learn more. I have done two offshore passages (850 total nm), including one weeklong bluewater passage from the Bahamas to Maryland.

I feel comfortable tinkering with engines and electronics and I have previous work experience in an auto shop and construction jobs. On my last passage I helped scrape the hull, trace an electrical outage, and repair some broken toilet plumbing.

I am a 26 year old American male. I have a degree in economics and I previously worked as an environmental economist (don't know what that is?, I'll explain on the boat). I have been traveling for the last year across parts of Asia and Europe and now I'm looking to return to the US, hopefully by Christmas.

I am an easygoing, likeable, and dependable guy. I am hard working, take initiative as necessary, and learn quickly. I cook, clean, and I'm never late for my shift on watch. I enjoy conversation as much as solitude and I understand well what it takes to live together on a small boat. I have no dietary restrictions, I drink occasionally, and, though I don't smoke, I don't mind those who do. I also speak French moderately well and have my PADI diving certificate.