Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 22:25   #1

Filmmaker leaving Hollywood to sail

Hi,

I'm a filmmaker (http://www.torreymeeks.com) who's basically tired of the rat race.

I've been wanting to solo-circumnavigate the world since I was 16-years-old (now 30), and studied Boat Building at a technical college in the NorthWest my final year of high school.

I served in the Army as a medic and have medical skills that I can put to use in emergencies.

I solo sailed a small 25-foot sailboat in the Puget Sound quite a bit in my teens, and understand all the basics of how various sails and sailing strategies work. I'm a bit rusty, and I need to learn how to navigate, which is why I would like to find an experienced captain to crew under.

When I was 23 I helped deliver a 37-foot boat (forget the kind) from Cape Cod to Kittery, Maine. It was an incredible trip and my first blue water trip, we went through some heavy seas, and it reaffirmed my lifelong dream to go sailing around the world one day.

Anyway, I'm at a time in my life when I want to do this. I would like to bring some small cameras and film my experience in more relaxed moments, if the captain and other crew are okay with it.

I can meet up with boats in any coastal area in North America, and do not care where it's going.

I work hard, have a good attitude, read and write a lot, know how to repair both wood and fiberglass boats, and know how to coexist well in tight conditions with other (Army helped with that).

Looking for a bit of a sea vagabond's life right now.

Old 01-01-2013, 23:46   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Boatless Now
Re: Filmmaker leaving Hollywood to sail

tmeeks,
Welcome aboard. I'm sure you'll find lots of good info and help here. And good luck on your new adventure.

Old 02-01-2013, 03:10   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Filmmaker leaving Hollywood to sail