Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-12-2015, 09:04   #1
Registered User
 
Sailorman Ed's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Boat: Polynesia 40/42
Posts: 764
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Sailorman Ed
Yanmar wire harness

Due to a battery mishap, I "smoked" some of the wire harness in my 2GM20. It runs OK but the hour meter never turns off and yesterday morning the marina called to say that a buzzers started sounding at 3 am.
So it seems like I will need to replace at least some of the wire harness. Just checking to see if anyone has a spare harness that is not needed.
__________________

Sailorman Ed is offline  
Old 29-12-2015, 09:49   #2
Registered User
 
bobnlesley's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yorkshire/South Pacific this week
Boat: Trident Challenger- 35 feet
Posts: 440
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Where are you and how soon/desperately do you need it?

We have a complete spare harness for a 3GM30F (I suspect that they're probably the same?) aboard our boat in Florida, but we won't be back there to access it until the end of Feb or early March.

If that's of any use let me know.
__________________

bobnlesley is offline  
Old 29-12-2015, 10:06   #3
Registered User
 
Sailorman Ed's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Boat: Polynesia 40/42
Posts: 764
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Sailorman Ed
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Bob - no rush - I can easily wait as I have plenty of other needed projects.
And I suspect you are correct, both engines probably use the same harness.
thanks,
ed
Sailorman Ed is offline  
Old 30-12-2015, 20:49   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,896
Re: Yanmar wire harness

I would at the least disconnect the battery till you find the problem.

Sent from my SM-G860P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline  
Old 31-12-2015, 06:16   #5
Registered User
 
Sailorman Ed's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Boat: Polynesia 40/42
Posts: 764
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Sailorman Ed
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Yes, is disconnected. Have no plans to go anywhere for a while.
Sailorman Ed is offline  
Old 31-12-2015, 13:33   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,896
Re: Yanmar wire harness

buried in the harness under the electrical tape is a inline fuse. It should be marked better but its not. I found it when I was making up a new harness and tearing the old one apart. Best of luck.

Sent from my SM-G860P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline  
Old 31-12-2015, 13:40   #7
Registered User
 
Capt.Don's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Altadena, CA
Boat: Tartan 3500
Posts: 739
Images: 1
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badsanta View Post
buried in the harness under the electrical tape is a inline fuse. It should be marked better but its not. I found it when I was making up a new harness and tearing the old one apart. Best of luck.

Sent from my SM-G860P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Any idea how far from the end I might find the fuse?
Thx,
Don
Capt.Don is offline  
Old 31-12-2015, 13:52   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,896
Re: Yanmar wire harness

It was in the middle, along the side of the motor. The wires to the temp and oil and alternator came out one side of the bundle and the wires to the starter out the other side and the others to the control panel. It was inside this wire bundle. Mine was taped around the bundle along side the motor between the alternator and the starter. I was told that was orriginal equipment. it may have been added but I don't know. Sorry if I made this more difficult.

Sent from my SM-G860P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline  
Old 31-12-2015, 13:55   #9
Registered User
 
Capt.Don's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Altadena, CA
Boat: Tartan 3500
Posts: 739
Images: 1
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badsanta View Post
It was in the middle, along the side of the motor. The wires to the temp and oil and alternator came out one side of the bundle and the wires to the starter out the other side and the others to the control panel. It was inside this wire bundle. Mine was taped around the bundle along side the motor between the alternator and the starter. I was told that was orriginal equipment. it may have been added but I don't know. Sorry if I made this more difficult.

Sent from my SM-G860P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Thanks - that'll help alot. I've looked before and gave-up, though I don't have a lot of access room along the side by the alternator and starter. This should help all the Yanmar intermittent starting issues, as one of the symptoms is corrosion on the wires by this fuse.
Capt.Don is offline  
Old 15-01-2016, 20:58   #10
Registered User
 
sanibel sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sanibel FL
Boat: 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
Posts: 1,074
Re: Yanmar wire harness

YANMAR ENGINE HARNESS, 1 CYLINDER DIESEL
not mine, 1GM $20
__________________
John Churchill Sanibel FL
NURDLE, 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
sanibel sailor is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 11:50   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 67
Re: Yanmar wire harness

Yanmar # 124070-91030 $121.93
Now on eBay: claims to be for 2QM20H & 2QM15 series; maybe?
__________________

FXbyLou is offline  
 

Tags
yanmar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free: Free: Westerbeke 40 Wire Harness svJuggernaut Classifieds Archive 0 07-10-2014 14:11
For Sale: Honda OB wire harness Sailorman Ed Classifieds Archive 0 25-01-2014 20:35
New wire being made 5 foot battery wire to terminal strip sdowney717 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 20-08-2012 09:27
How to Wire a Battery Isolator with a Three Wire Alternator ? bazzer Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 05-12-2010 13:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.