Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2014, 10:12   #1

Good Broker in LA Southern California

Hi All:

I am not sure if this is a common problem or not, however, I am having a difficult time trying to find a Broker in Southern California that will truly act as a buyers agent for me in the pursuit of sailboat.

As a sales professional myself, perhaps I am expecting too much out of the brokers I am dealing with, however, my experience has been that of lack of follow up, "I'll sell you a boat if I don't have to work to hard at it", or "what you are looking for is just not around so...see ya!.

If my business had such a captive market, ie: folks who actually come to the brokers to purchase a boat, I would be a happy guy. Instead, in my job, I have to cold canvas, prospect, and dig out customers. When I get a customer, I try to covet the customer as if they are the most important person in the world. I am not finding that in the Yacht Brokerage industry (perhaps I am in the wrong field.)

I am a cash buyer up to 100K. I am looking for a 40-45' sailboat and I want a very good deal. That shouldn't be so hard should it? Well, it's been close to impossible so far.

So...I don't think I am an unreasonable guy. My wife and I know what we want, and I just want a good broker to represent my interests in that pursuit. Does anyone have any recommendations for suggestions for Southern California? I am fresh out of ideas and would appreciate your input.

Thanks,
Old 05-11-2014, 15:43   #2
JRM

Boat: Valiant 40
Re: Good Broker in LA Southern California

We had good luck with Greg from Seacoast Yachts. He's based in Santa Barbara but roams all up and down the west coast.