Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-11-2013, 15:10   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Raymarine Autopilot

The autopilot on this Lavezzi is reacting very slow, whilst working I noticed it
does not steer immediately after changing directions, which tells me
there is air in the system or a lack of hydraulic oil !!
anybody knows how to fill this bugger
can t find a plug on it (awkward fixation as well!)
Lavezzi 2005
__________________

__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 18:07   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by laforge24 View Post
The autopilot on this Lavezzi is reacting very slow, whilst working I noticed it
does not steer immediately after changing directions, which tells me
there is air in the system or a lack of hydraulic oil !!
anybody knows how to fill this bugger
can t find a plug on it (awkward fixation as well!)
Lavezzi 2005
Are you sure it's hydraulic?
__________________

__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 01:13   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
Are you sure it's hydraulic?
I would bet on it
the arm at the end that moves the tiller is very hydraulic
in the case of it being mechanic ; the play it has got would make
a lot of noise!
I am waiting for documentation on this thing
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 02:31   #4
Registered User
 
Don1500's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On Board, just above the water
Boat: Marine Trader 47
Posts: 1,176
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

do you have the model number?
__________________
The Nomad Blog Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call
Everything I know about cruising I learned from Travis McGee - http://theroamingnomad.com
Don1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 06:09   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by laforge24 View Post
I would bet on it
the arm at the end that moves the tiller is very hydraulic
in the case of it being mechanic ; the play it has got would make
a lot of noise!
I am waiting for documentation on this thing
Does it looks like one of these???

Mechanical Linear Drive
Raymarine Smartpilot - Drive Unit Selection

Hydraulic
Raymarine Smartpilot - Drive Unit Selection
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 07:33   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Yep the first one is it
Raymarine Mechanical Linear Drives

so I suppose i was wrong; not hydraulic ??
that makes it if more worrying why it doesn t react as it should,
you have any idea?
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 08:05   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Click on the search menu and try the Google custom search. It'll show some threads here on CF where others have discussed issues with the RM type 1/2 linear drives.

I haven't had any problems with mine, so I've never had to tear it apart. I've thought about putting one in the spare parts bin, but they are pricey.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 08:42   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Panama Atlantic Side
Boat: Whitby 42
Posts: 20
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

I had to take my old Auto 6000 apart; it looks the same from the outside. It has a planetary gear set and is belt driven. The sun gears were worn out and the teeth on the drive gear for the belt were worn almost off. In my case the unit worked although poorly until the belt slipping on the drive teeth caused the belt to break. Raymarine had all the parts. This was 3 years ago. I took it apart and fixed it in the San Blas.
__________________
lions paw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 09:16   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
Click on the search menu and try the Google custom search. It'll show some threads here on CF where others have discussed issues with the RM type 1/2 linear drives.

I haven't had any problems with mine, so I've never had to tear it apart. I've thought about putting one in the spare parts bin, but they are pricey.
Buy one a litle stronger,
I had times where I could not let go of the wheel
the pilot could not handle the windforce!!
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 09:21   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by lions paw View Post
I had to take my old Auto 6000 apart; it looks the same from the outside. It has a planetary gear set and is belt driven. The sun gears were worn out and the teeth on the drive gear for the belt were worn almost off. In my case the unit worked although poorly until the belt slipping on the drive teeth caused the belt to break. Raymarine had all the parts. This was 3 years ago. I took it apart and fixed it in the San Blas.
That at least shows it is possible,
I will take it off and dismantle it and we will see from there,
thanks
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 10:40   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 380 #241
Posts: 298
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

You can adjust the response level of the Raymarine autopilots. Maybe you just need to adjust the response up higher. Its very easy to do, see the the owners manual.

Dave
__________________
Seabreeze, Lagoon 380 #241
Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia ... Cruising the waters of the Great Barrier Reef
www.sea-breeze.com.au
gspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 10:55   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

We had already adjusted it to max response/ high consumption as well
No it is not that
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 11:01   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by laforge24 View Post
Buy one a litle stronger,
I had times where I could not let go of the wheel
the pilot could not handle the windforce!!
I'm not saying there isn't something wrong with your drive, but as mentioned, this sounds like a response level issue. I don't think a bigger drive is going to help. RM is somewhat conservative with their ratings, hence a type 1 drive would have no problem handling a 11,000kg boat.

When you say it can't handle the wind force, I assume you're not talking about the AP being able to turn the rudder, but you are stating the AP isn't responding fast enough. You can adjust the response level, the downside is using more battery.

It's also possible you don't have enough water past the rudder to turn the boat into the wind. Freeboard and high winds can overpower the rudder.

IMO, of course...
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 11:20   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: france/dordogne
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lavezz 40ft
Posts: 197
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

I will explain the issue better,
When testing with a second person , one at the helm one below watching the response
1or 2 degrees were not visible, when directly 10 degrees; some movement visible
but still no 10 degrees on the compass, conclusion;
the arm is not moving the distance given; ie; play, or as I thought first;
lack of hydraulics(which now seems not the issue)
with such a play it is logic that when sailing downwind the AP could not
maintain course , wind picking up , full main and gennaker ,
No , there is something wrong,
as for a second AP when doing atlantic crossings; sounds assuring
if I manage to repair this one I will look for a bigger reserve
ANYONE GOT ONE FOR SALE
__________________
laforge24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 11:20   #15
Registered User
 
TacomaSailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Burnt Store Marina, SW Florida
Boat: Caliber 40
Posts: 1,148
Re: Raymarine Autopilot

During the last 19 years I have replaced the gears and motor in my Autohelm/Raymarine Type 1 (now Type 2) Linear Drive. It is cheap and easy.

However, there are several things you need to check:

1) Measure the hard over time on the Linear Drive (LD) arm while it is DISCONNECTED from the rudder. I think it is supposed to be 4.5 seconds from center to hard over but you can look that number up. Then hook the arm back to the rudder and test again. The time should not change.

2) Check the voltage to the LD motor AT the motor while under load. Put the rudder hard over one way then use the Autopilot to drive the motor / rudder all the way the other way and note the voltage - does it drop - does it stay at battery voltage?

Over the years I had to reseat the power and clutch wires at the course computer several times. The older Raymarine connectors at the course computer are not very good and weaken over time.

3) Use a clamp-on amp meter to test the current flow to the LD motor while doing a hard over test. Is it 15 amps (Type 1) or 30 amps (Type 2)?

4) Check the clutch in the LD - you need to be careful here because the drive units are quite powerful. Can you stop the LD from moving the rudder by holding the wheel. Gently increase the resistance and see if you can cause the clutch to slip. The clutch is a magnetic unit and requires good voltage.

6) Check the settings in the control head for:
- hardover time
- maximum rudder angle

It could be that you have told the LD to respond slowly or not far enough

7) Verify the heading display is accurate on all headings and changes rapidly as you rotate the boat about the compass.

8) Verify the rudder angle is properly displayed, reflects the actual state of the rudder, and moves as the rudder moves

We sailed and motored over 12,000 miles with our Linerar Drive Type 1 (15 amp motor) in a cruiser that weighted 23,000 pounds in local sailing trim and 26,000+ pounds when in cruising trip. The LD happily and easily managed the boat downwind in 35 knots and 12' seas many times. A Type 1 has plenty of power for 22,000 pounds.
__________________

__________________
TacomaSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.