Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2014, 16:39   #106
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Boat: Fountaine-Pajot Mahe 36
Posts: 117
Re: Instruments

In other news, I have the Furuno Navnet 3D MFD. It came with (free) factory installed charts of the USA. For whatever reason, the PO of our Mahe deleted those charts in favor of Caribbean charts he installed. I'd like to replace them. Short of ordering (paying) for them, any other way of getting them?

Seastream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2014, 18:33   #107
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 2,982
Re: Instruments

Download them at:

Products - NavNet 3D : Charts for NavNet 3D

DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 15:52   #108
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Boat: Fountaine-Pajot Mahe 36
Posts: 117
Re: Instruments

DotDun, tnx for the info.
Regarding Furuno instruments, Mahes', anyone have issues with water intrusion inside of their Furuno autopilot control head at the helm? Mine worked ok on our trip home from Tortola in 05-13, but failed soon after due to water intrusion. I found two spares aboard, one dead so chucked it. The other showed signs of water intrusion so was probably original but it worked so I used it until it failed, again due to water intrusion. I removed it, cleaned/repaired corrosion damage and replaced it. It works (for now), but if/when it fails again I'm taking it to a nearby Furuno distributor in ME to show him before I pay the quoted $762 for a replacement head. It's out of warranty so I expect nothing from Furuno though perhaps I should. No water got behind the unit and into the space behind the helm and galley, it was all inside the head itself. IMHO, the weather gasketing on the unit (see pix if I attached them correctly) isn't up to the exposure it encounters at the helm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FURUNO1.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	277.9 KB
ID:	86059   Click image for larger version

Name:	FURUNO2.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	389.0 KB
ID:	86060  

Click image for larger version

Name:	FURUNO3.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	411.5 KB
ID:	86061   Click image for larger version

Name:	FURUNO4.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	420.0 KB
ID:	86062  

Seastream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 00:14   #109
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: FP Lucia 40, Hull #22
Posts: 327
Re: Instruments

Hi Seastream
I had the same issue, it is a poor design on the part of Furuno as the unit is not well sealed. If it is exposed to the elements you will get water in and it will get into the electrics. My helm station is now covered by a windscreen and hard cover and the new unit seems ok.

Note that the unit fitted on my Mahe has been superseded and the latest unit is not compatible. I got one of the last units available in Asus but you may be luckier in the US.
As I recall the original was a 511 and I fitted a 611 which is compatible but the subsequent model is not and you have to replace the control unit as well.

MKB53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 18:49   #110
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Boat: Fountaine-Pajot Mahe 36
Posts: 117
Re: Instruments...TV antenna


I bought a Shakespeare (made by Winegard) TV antenna along with their 'mast mount' (piece of angle aluminum) and wonder how to know where on the mast it's safe to drill for the mounting screws without drilling thru internal mast wiring. Did my radar installer simply guess when he installed a similar mount? Anyone?
Seastream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 22:10   #111
Registered User
Jef & Marin, Netherlands's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liveaboard
Boat: Switch 51 #10
Posts: 451
Cables in mast

See attached pictures for the PVC pipes running in the mast.
I took this picture from a Mahé mast lying on the quay in La Rochelle when we did a test sail with Fountaine Pajot, begin of March 2008.
There are 2 PVC pipes at what I think is the front of the mast.
These PVC pipes are cut along it's length. These are shifted over a T part sticking out of the profile of the mast. The PVC pipes are a few meters long, so they shift a number of them up the mast.
On one picture I might see a 3rd PVC at the rear.

In one of the PVC pipes you see:
- Thin black cable for wind instrument, probably
- 5 mm white cable for VHF
- 2 pilot lines. One goes to the top of the mast, one to the radar antenna hole. At the end there should be a kind of plastic ball.

In the other PVC pipe you see:
- One 3-lead cable for the masttop light
- One 30lead cable for the steam / deck light
- Another one I do not know.

I suggest you stick a light bulb on a wire inside the mast from the anchor hatch, and just look, or take a picture through the mastfoot.
I mounted a radar reflector (Trilens) on the mast. I do not remember whether I worried about drilling, and consulted these pictures or asked Fountaine Pajot. I mounted the Trilens on the FP pontoon in the old fishing harbour. The holes were more to the side than the PVC pipes.

There is one thing I do not understand well. One PVC pipe is at the rear of the mast, it seems. But the mast is bent backwards quite a lot. As a consequence, the halyards for main, genoa and spinnaker are all touching the back of the mast. So the trick with light and a camera is a good idea.
I will also attach a picture of the masttop of that mast.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	foto30067.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	381.2 KB
ID:	89250   Click image for larger version

Name:	foto30068.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	342.5 KB
ID:	89251  

Click image for larger version

Name:	foto30063.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	420.3 KB
ID:	89252  
Jef & Marin, Netherlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2016, 22:58   #112
Registered User
tpkas's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia
Boat: FP Mahe 36
Posts: 37
Re: Instruments

Furuno FI-30 problems.

Here is a brief summary of a problem I have recently encountered and hopefully rectified.

Turned the instruments on the other day while motoring to a marina to have the anti fouling etc done and after about 30mins the FI-30 multi display sounded an alarm and displayed "Err03". This is an error code for no data. After a few minutes I pressed one of the other buttons on the display and it recovered only to fail again shortly thereafter with the same error code.

Later on back on our mooring I powered up the instruments and still had the Err03 displayed. I then took the main cover off the server (FI-3005) behind the fridge and noticed that the top left corner was quite warm. The little LEDs that show if data is being received were not flashing. I then took the cover which has the connection instructions printed on it off. I could then move the circuit board away a little bit from its mount and then I touched the components in the top left corner and they were really hot!! After a little while the little LEDs started blinking, I checked the multi display and it was working. When I went back to the server the LEDs were off again so I blew on the top left corner to cool it a little and the data transmission started again.

I decided to fit a DC-DC voltage regulator between the ships battery and the server so that the server wasn't trying to dissipate so much heat bringing the input voltage down to operating voltage. It was a $25 gamble and seems to have worked. Had all of the instruments working fine for around 45mins or more today and the top left hand corner of the server is cooler too.

Hope this helps anyone with a similar problem.

By the way, I did phone the Furuno agent for Aust and he said the unit is now unsupported and no spares so if this doesn't provide a long term fix I'll be attacking the circuit board and replacing some components ... nothing to lose at that point. Furthermore, the agent also said that none of the working parts (multi display, wind instrument or sensors) are usable in any other Furuno system.

Regards to all,


tpkas is offline   Reply With Quote

mahe 36

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Which ST60 Instruments ? Eddie Marine Electronics 5 26-03-2010 06:42
B&G Instruments Bob G Construction, Maintenance & Refit 5 31-10-2009 08:58
Wind Instruments coloradoblue Marine Electronics 7 02-03-2009 00:09
I have 3 transducers, without instruments. pogo Marine Electronics 1 06-01-2008 19:36
Musical Instruments on board Tigerlily General Sailing Forum 26 07-04-2006 09:05

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.