Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2015, 19:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Zoom Button Issue

I am running version 4.0, but I have had this problem in older versions and on different PCs. There must be a setting or something I can't find.

When I use the "+" or "-" keys OpenCpn zooms in or out perfectly. My mouse roller ball zooms just fine as well. When I click on either plus or minus buttons in the upper left menu nothing happens. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2015, 19:43   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Actually I played around a bit more and discovered that the buttons work fine on raster charts but not on the ENC charts. I must be missing something
__________________

__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2015, 09:04   #3
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Zoom Button Issue

maybe...how about:
goto Toolbox/Display/Advanced and uncheck "suppress scaled vector charts on Overzoom"
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2015, 22:14   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Re: Zoom Button Issue

It was unchecked. Playing with it more sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. It always works when I use the keyboard
__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 08:11   #5
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Right, my mistake- you did say that your keyboard worked ok..!
It's an odd one- keep track of what you do to "cause" it /fix it in case you have found a bug for the list.
Better tell what Operating system are you on and whether opengl is engaged.

Stuff I would try: First, Anything odd showing in opencpn.log? anything about a "style?" as in: you can change the "look" of O ...Journeyman.Traditional etc.This can show up even when things are ok but I'm trying to think what affects buttons directly.
After a look at the log, maybe even get rid of the zoom buttons and then reinstate them? (to get rid of buttons on toolbar,you right click any button and a "Visible Button tag appears to click)
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 08:47   #6
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
Right, my mistake- you did say that your keyboard worked ok..!
It's an odd one- keep track of what you do to "cause" it /fix it in case you have found a bug for the list.
Better tell what Operating system are you on and whether opengl is engaged.

Stuff I would try: First, Anything odd showing in opencpn.log? anything about a "style?" as in: you can change the "look" of O ...Journeyman.Traditional etc.This can show up even when things are ok but I'm trying to think what affects buttons directly.
After a look at the log, maybe even get rid of the zoom buttons and then reinstate them? (to get rid of buttons on toolbar,you right click any button and a "Visible Button tag appears to click)
Laptop, Desktop or other? Keyboard integral or plugged in, wireless or bluetooth?
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 22:31   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Re: Zoom Button Issue

I am useing an Asus Ee PC Notebook running windows 7, no external keyboard. Played with it somemore and the buttons seem to work if i click and hold on a button, a single click doesn't seem to do anything. below is the log file.


21:23:56: 2015-05-30
21:23:56: ------- Starting OpenCPN -------
21:23:56: Version 4.0.0 Build 2015-01-08
21:23:56: wxWidgets version: wxWidgets 2.8.12
21:23:56: MemoryStatus: mem_total: 2038 mb, mem_initial: 8 mb
21:23:56: SData_Locn is C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\
21:23:56: Using existing Config_File: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini
21:23:56: Styles loading from C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\uidata\styles.xml
21:23:56: No styles found at: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\
21:23:56: No styles found at: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\.opencpn\
21:23:57: Detected display size: 361 mm
21:23:57: Detected display size: 361 mm
21:23:57: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 48.7098, -123.028
21:23:57: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 48.1645, -122.135
21:23:57: Loading navobjects from navobj.xml
21:23:57: Done loading navobjects
21:23:57: System default Language: en_US
9:23:58 PM: Opencpn language set to: en_US
9:24:02 PM: ChartSymbols loaded from C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\s57data\chartsymbols.xml
9:24:03 PM: Using s57data in C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\s57data
9:24:03 PM: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 48.7098, -123.028
9:24:03 PM: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 48.1645, -122.135
9:24:03 PM: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:COM9
9:24:03 PM: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:COM8
9:24:03 PM: Creating glChartCanvas
9:24:03 PM: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins
9:24:03 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\aisradar_pi.dll
9:24:03 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\aisradar_pi.dll
API Version detected: 109
PlugIn Version detected: 98
9:24:03 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:03 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\chartdldr_pi.dll
9:24:03 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\chartdldr_pi.dll
API Version detected: 112
PlugIn Version detected: 100
9:24:03 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-chartdldr_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:03 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\dashboard_pi.dll
9:24:03 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\dashboard_pi.dll
API Version detected: 106
PlugIn Version detected: 102
9:24:03 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-chartdldr_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-dashboard_pi
9:24:03 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:04 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\otcurrent_pi.dll
9:24:04 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\otcurrent_pi.dll
API Version detected: 107
PlugIn Version detected: 100
9:24:04 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-chartdldr_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-dashboard_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-otcurrent_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:04 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\statusbar_pi.dll
9:24:04 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\statusbar_pi.dll
API Version detected: 109
PlugIn Version detected: 4
9:24:04 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-chartdldr_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-dashboard_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-otcurrent_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-statusbar_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:04 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\watchdog_pi.dll
9:24:04 PM: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins\watchdog_pi.dll
API Version detected: 110
PlugIn Version detected: 101
9:24:04 PM: Opencpn language reload for: en_US
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-aisradar_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-chartdldr_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-dashboard_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-otcurrent_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-statusbar_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for: opencpn-watchdog_pi
9:24:04 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
9:24:07 PM: NMEA input device initial open failed: COM9...GetLastError(): 2
9:24:07 PM: NMEA input device initial open failed: COM8...GetLastError(): 2
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel Pineview Platform
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 1.4.0 - Build 8.14.10.2230
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: 0
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Framebuffer Objects unavailable
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (6:1)
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
9:24:07 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0
9:24:08 PM: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 1019 MBytes
9:24:08 PM: Loading chart db version: V018
9:24:08 PM: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows
9:24:08 PM: Chart directory #0: C:\charts\Canada
9:24:08 PM: Chart directory #1: C:\charts\CM93_May_2010
9:24:08 PM: Chart directory #2: C:\charts\ENC
9:24:08 PM: Chart directory #3: C:\charts\RNC
9:24:10 PM: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
9:24:10 PM: Initializing Chart C:\charts\ENC\US_CGD13\US5WA41M\US5WA41M.000
9:24:12 PM: Initializing Chart C:\charts\ENC\US_CGD13\US5WA44M\US5WA44M.000
9:24:17 PM: ***GPS Watchdog timeout at Lat:48.1645 Lon: -122.135
9:24:58 PM: LOGBOOK: 2015-05-31 04:24:58 UTC DR Lat 48.16450 Lon -122.13510
9:25:28 PM: Initializing Chart C:\charts\ENC\US_CGD13\US5WA40M\US5WA40M.000
9:25:31 PM: Initializing Chart C:\charts\ENC\US_CGD13\US4WA30M\US4WA30M.000
9:26:54 PM: Initializing Chart C:\charts\ENC\US_CGD13\US4WA31M\US4WA31M.000
__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 07:59   #8
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Zoom Button Issue

as a casual tweaker, I don't see anything there.
maybe try disabling plugins-they insert themselves to toolbar
maybe try disabling OpenGL though it seems to be working fine for you
maybe a search on that Asus

and then go here

OpenCPN | Official OpenCPN Homepage
and goto "Tracker" tab. Put it in if nobody else comes along with an answer soon and include whatever you know about how you can "fix it" or stuff like your push and hold observation...Your bug might be a clue somewhere else...like a good murder mystery.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 09:21   #9
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
as a casual tweaker, I don't see anything there.
maybe try disabling plugins-they insert themselves to toolbar
maybe try disabling OpenGL though it seems to be working fine for you
maybe a search on that Asus

and then go here

OpenCPN | Official OpenCPN Homepage
and goto "Tracker" tab. Put it in if nobody else comes along with an answer soon and include whatever you know about how you can "fix it" or stuff like your push and hold observation...Your bug might be a clue somewhere else...like a good murder mystery.
Agree. The reason I asked about the type of keyboard is based on my experience 'way back when', system keyboard settings could create mouse issues in some programs. I recommend you check your laptop mouse and keyboard settings for possible solutions. Failing that, you may try reinstalling O. Can't hurt.
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 09:59   #10
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Zoom Button Issue

ah,yes! "bin there-broke that!" per keyboards and Remember the good ol'
"Windows-installs-gps-as-serial-port-mouse" aggravation.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 01:05   #11
Registered User
 
Ivanm's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 121
Re: Zoom Button Issue

I find the same thing that the zoom doesn't work but when you click on the screen (anywhere) and then on the button it work but that is a hassle as you must auto follow again

Sent from my SM-G900F using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Ivanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 10:31   #12
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivanm View Post
I find the same thing that the zoom doesn't work but when you click on the screen (anywhere) and then on the button it work but that is a hassle as you must auto follow again

Sent from my SM-G900F using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Do your system mouse settings enable you to assign mouse actions? Right, left, middle and scroll functions? One or two clicks? There is usually something called a mouse 'grab' feature. You may try toggling the grab value as off or on to see if it makes any difference. Check the settings to make sure they're what you expect. Try returning the mouse settings to 'default' to see if that helps.
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 23:11   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Clicking "-" or "+" and holding the left button down for a moment seems to work with ENC charts, for raster charts a single click or a click and momentary hold both work. I am satisfied, thanks for all the help
__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 08:07   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Zoom Button Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by StargazerWA View Post
Clicking "-" or "+" and holding the left button down for a moment seems to work with ENC charts, for raster charts a single click or a click and momentary hold both work. I am satisfied, thanks for all the help

Single click,+/-, kbd or toolbar, works on ENC charts for me, as well as momentary hold.

Under 4.0, RNC charts, a long hold (+ or - for several seconds) would sometimes cause a hang. 4.1 doesn't seem to hang, although it may take several seconds to finish. I think it would work smother if you ignored key(or button) presses longer than 1-2 sec.
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Limit zoom out on Raster charts wizard-merlin OpenCPN 20 22-01-2013 13:47
Zodiac Zoom Floor Boards Rearsteer Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 20-09-2011 21:50
Zoom Chart Centered at Cursor Position prjacobs OpenCPN 5 27-09-2010 13:10
Zodiac Zoom ? fla.sailor Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 11 15-09-2010 17:43
Sony Cybershot DSC-T2 8MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Blue)125.00 jzk Off Topic Forum 0 04-08-2008 10:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.