Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2013, 03:38   #91
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: oriental
Boat: crowther trimaran 33
Posts: 4,417
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
Hello Pavel,

If we choose a very high accuracy and a very small step, time of calculation becomes very very large.
It is necessary to calculate all points outside the navigation area?

B.R. Gilletarom
This is no surprise I hope. This is why you have the option of using a larger step and lower accuracy.

No, it does not need to calculate all points as it currently does. Instead it could only calculate in the navigation area then update it when you scrolled, but in the case that you moved to view a magnetic pole it would stop for a while to calculate. It would require more logic to implement this correctly, patches welcome.
seandepagnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 19:20   #92
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,627
Images: 2
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Git cloned wmm_pi and cmake, then MSVC debug.
Win7 laptop Dell 15xls, First time tried to render the map, it stopped with a break.
See string of screen shots and text please. Tried to continue, but it did not really want to.

Then tried it again similar.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM-Break-bitmap.cpp(1089).jpg
Views:	137
Size:	401.2 KB
ID:	57605   Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM-then-Continue-src-msw-db-cpp-148.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	304.2 KB
ID:	57615  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM-Running.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	299.7 KB
ID:	57616   Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM-RestartDebug.jpg
Views:	246
Size:	397.3 KB
ID:	57619  

Attached Files
File Type: doc WMM-Break-CallStack.doc (4.9 KB, 50 views)
File Type: doc WMM-Break-Output.doc (8.7 KB, 57 views)
File Type: doc WMM-Break-CallStack-2.doc (249 Bytes, 64 views)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 22:36   #93
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: oriental
Boat: crowther trimaran 33
Posts: 4,417
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Thanks for this feedback. The callstack is the only useful data so you could omit the images in the future.

I have put a potential fix in my git, so please try it and we can hopefully close this issue. It is in my fork, not nohal's
seandepagnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 09:05   #94
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,627
Images: 2
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Git cloned WMM_pi from Sean's repository this time.
git clone https://github.com/seandepagnier/wmm_pi.git
did cmake's and found ..build/plugins/wmm_pi/debug had a newly compiled dll (current data and time). Copied to ..build/plugins.
Ran MSVC debug.

Tested WMM version 0.7 (says 0.4 in icon).
Set Step and pole to far right, took a long time (showed 3hrs) finally failed.
Set Step & Pole to middle (about 6 minutes) failed.
Set Step & Pole to left (about 5 minutes) failed.
All failed with similar initial break Bitmap.cpp[1089]
See attached reports please.

It would be helpful to have an indicator on the sliders.
Don't know what but here are some ideas.
Processing speed (-) ====== (+)
Processing (faster)=======(slower)
Steps (big)======(small)
Steps (fewer)=====(smaller)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM2-timer.cpp.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	412.5 KB
ID:	57664   Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM2-runsforever.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	397.2 KB
ID:	57666  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WMM2-bitmapp.cpp[1089]-2nd-one-med-step-size-pole.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	358.2 KB
ID:	57668  
Attached Files
File Type: doc WMM2-timer-cpp[198]-call-stack.doc (5.6 KB, 54 views)
File Type: doc WMM2-bitmapp.cpp[1089]-Call-Stack.doc (5.1 KB, 61 views)
File Type: doc WMM2-bitmapp.cpp[1089]-2nd-one-med-step-size-pole.doc (186 Bytes, 70 views)
File Type: doc WMM2-bitmapp.cpp[1089]-3rd-sliders-left-stepsize-pole.doc (4.9 KB, 53 views)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 14:48   #95
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: oriental
Boat: crowther trimaran 33
Posts: 4,417
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Git cloned WMM_pi from Sean's repository this time.
git clone https://github.com/seandepagnier/wmm_pi.git
did cmake's and found ..build/plugins/wmm_pi/debug had a newly compiled dll (current data and time). Copied to ..build/plugins.
Ran MSVC debug.

Tested WMM version 0.7 (says 0.4 in icon).
Set Step and pole to far right, took a long time (showed 3hrs) finally failed.
Set Step & Pole to middle (about 6 minutes) failed.
Set Step & Pole to left (about 5 minutes) failed.
All failed with similar initial break Bitmap.cpp[1089]
See attached reports please.
Ok, don't worry about the icon it is old.

The step size is smallest left largest right, this makes it slowest to the left.
Pole accuracy is lowest left highest righht, makes it slowest to the right.
[/quote]
It would be helpful to have an indicator on the sliders.
Don't know what but here are some ideas.
Processing speed (-) ====== (+)
Processing (faster)=======(slower)
Steps (big)======(small)
Steps (fewer)=====(smaller)[/QUOTE]

Yes maybe. I didn't think it was an issue since it only takes 3 seconds to generate the map with the default settings on my netbook. This is without optimizations in the compiler.

That is why step size should be set larger, pole accuracy less.

As for the actual bug.. it has nothing to do with any of that and it occurs in all cases. I pushed another change into git to hopefully correct it, just run a quick test to see if it helps any.

Thanks.
seandepagnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 15:44   #96
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,627
Images: 2
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Thanks Sean, WMM works now.
WMM-pi.dll.doc attached (windows). Take the doc off and test it please.

What you describe for Step size makes perfect sense.
for faster processing:
Big Step size = slider right
Less Polar accuracy = slider left

Took about 3 seconds as you said.
Attached Files
File Type: doc wmm_pi.dll.doc (232.5 KB, 88 views)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 01:50   #97
NAV
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 424
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Dutch language files for WMM-Plotting.

Please note that in the plugin now both the terms variation and declination are used to describe the angle between true north and magnetic north.

The correct nautical expression in English is: variation (and not declination).
Attached Files
File Type: doc wmm_pi18_v07a_win32_pi.zip.doc (5.2 KB, 69 views)
NAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2013, 02:58   #98
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

I'm trying to document the WMM plugin, and comes across an issue.

boat_alexandra makes it possible to plot the total field strength F.
This has no navigational use as far as I know.
What is interesting is the horizontal component H.
This is important as it governs the response of a magnetic compass and the value is important near the magnetic poles to judge if a compass is of any use.

Bowditch 1977 says this about the horizontal intensity in the chapter about Polar Navigation:
< 0.09 oerstedt -> reduced reliability
< 0.06 oerstedt -> erratic
< 0.03 oerstedt -> useless

A quick look at some maps suggest that these limits are very approx 10000, 7000 and 4000 nano tesla.

I suggest that WMM plots H instead of F.

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2013, 17:20   #99
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,627
Images: 2
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Thomas, a question for clarification. Are you saying that the total field strength F is calculated in the "plot", but WMM should plot H "horizontal" instead because it would advise when the compass readings were unreliable?

Also just as a thought, perhaps an "information" area in the WMM plugin would describe these important factors and considerations for guys like me who don't know that much except about deviation.

Perhaps this stuff should be getting into Flyspray?!!!
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 02:57   #100
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Thomas, a question for clarification. Are you saying that the total field strength F is calculated in the "plot", but WMM should plot H "horizontal" instead because it would advise when the compass readings were unreliable?
.....
Yes that's right. There is now an option to plot F. I want it replaced by H, that is useful for planning in certain areas.
It seems easy enough to change.

Click image for larger version

Name:	H.png
Views:	209
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	65484

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2013, 07:48   #101
Registered User
 
krafthaus's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saskatoon, Canada & Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 437
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

I'm probably missing something basic. Open CPN says "get a new WMM.COF from NOAA and place it in the location you can find in the OpenCPN logfile".

I downloaded the WMM.COF file which is 5kb but I don't understand where to copy it to? I would think it should go into Open CPN/plugins with the .dll files for the grib and dashboard files, but when I tried that the WMM didn't show up under Options -> Plugins.

Can someone point me in the right direction where to copy this to please?
__________________
Wherever we want to go, we go. That's what a ship is you know - it's not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails, that's what a ship needs. But what a ship is...really is, is freedom. ~Johnny Depp as Capt. Jack Sparrow
krafthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2013, 07:57   #102
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

krafthaus...
There's no need for a new COF file. The WMM2010 embedded in the plugin is stil valid and there's no newer version available.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2013, 10:13   #103
Registered User
 
krafthaus's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saskatoon, Canada & Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 437
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
There's no need for a new COF file. The WMM2010 embedded in the plugin is stil valid and there's no newer version available.
Which folder in Win7 should I see WMM.COF in then so that Open CPN shows WMM in Options->Plugins?

I don't believe I have it other than the download??

In Options->Plugins I only see the Grib & Dashboard plugins that came with the CPN download.
__________________
Wherever we want to go, we go. That's what a ship is you know - it's not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails, that's what a ship needs. But what a ship is...really is, is freedom. ~Johnny Depp as Capt. Jack Sparrow
krafthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2013, 10:18   #104
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

None, forget about WMM.COF, the table is embedded in the plugin. All you need to do is copy the plugin DLL to your plugin folder (Most likely C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins).
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2013, 15:45   #105
Registered User
 
krafthaus's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saskatoon, Canada & Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 437
Re: World Magnetic Model Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
None, forget about WMM.COF, the table is embedded in the plugin. All you need to do is copy the plugin DLL to your plugin folder (Most likely C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins).
Got it. I understood from the Open CPN info that I needed the .COF file from the NOAA site.

I went to the site:

opencpnplugins | Free Science & Engineering software downloads at SourceForge.net

and clicked the "Files" tab where I found a selection of plugins including WMM. When I clicked wmm_pi I was able to download the .dll file.

Once this was in the C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins folder and I restarted OpenCPN it worked.

Appreciate your work on these Pavel.
__________________
Wherever we want to go, we go. That's what a ship is you know - it's not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails, that's what a ship needs. But what a ship is...really is, is freedom. ~Johnny Depp as Capt. Jack Sparrow
krafthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: DashBoard SethDart OpenCPN 644 02-04-2024 16:55
Logbook Plug-in SethDart OpenCPN 113 04-06-2022 11:21
BSB 4 PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 98 25-04-2018 18:46
Chartwork Plugin mario f OpenCPN 10 29-03-2012 19:21
Suitable Make and Model for Around the World Voyage DirtyDave Monohull Sailboats 43 21-02-2011 13:33

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.