Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2015, 14:06   #1
Registered User
 
jkindredpdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35'
Posts: 1,047
Images: 5
Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

I recently got an ASUS T200TA Tablet/Laptop with Win 8.1. I went to connect the internal GPS in OpenCPN 4.0.0, but don't see any Com ports in Win 8.1. I do see a Broadcom GNSS 4752 Geolocation Sensor in Device Manager. Can someone tell me how to connect to an onboard GPS in Win 8.1 please?

Thanks, Jim
__________________

__________________
http://www.sednahr35.blogspot.com/ Jim K.
jkindredpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 14:44   #2
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

More information here:
Windows 8 Tablets for OpenCPN

The geolocation sensors in the Win Tablets do not output NMEA sentences on a serial port on its own. Win 8.1 does encapsulate the data into a different API.
__________________

__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 16:13   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Please report back in the thead that bcn linked to give us your impressions on the Asus T200. That's a very nice hybrid machine that should be a great platform for running OpenCPN.

I am glad to hear that it has an internal GPS, as none of the reviews had mentioned it, and some comments claimed that it did not. But that's a common error because people can't get it to work out-of-the-box with legacy Windows apps (as you discovered). petrsimon's GeolocationTCP utility should fix that for you - let us know so others will benefit. Be patient with getting a first fix. It can take several minutes.

I just picked up an Acer Switch 10 for $229 from MicrosoftStore.com. It does not have internal GPS, though. My Miix2 8" does have internal GPS. It has a lot of quirks, but does work as long as you hold the tablet upside down so that your hand does not cover the antenna. (I said it has quirks!)
__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 12:29   #4
Registered User
 
jkindredpdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35'
Posts: 1,047
Images: 5
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Thanks Guys,
GeolocationTCP-r6 did the trick! I thought I read your Win8 OpenCPN thread before, but I just didn't connect the dots...

I do need my WiFi turned on for Geolocation TCP to reach Ready Status and for the Ship locator in OpenCPN to work. I don't need to be connected to a network, but I need the service turned on. The GeoTCP display seems to send about every 30 seconds and my Ship Locator refreshes (GPS indicator changes from red to green) about every 26 seconds.
__________________
http://www.sednahr35.blogspot.com/ Jim K.
jkindredpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 13:31   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkindredpdx View Post
Thanks Guys,
GeolocationTCP-r6 did the trick! I thought I read your Win8 OpenCPN thread before, but I just didn't connect the dots...

I do need my WiFi turned on for Geolocation TCP to reach Ready Status and for the Ship locator in OpenCPN to work. I don't need to be connected to a network, but I need the service turned on. The GeoTCP display seems to send about every 30 seconds and my Ship Locator refreshes (GPS indicator changes from red to green) about every 26 seconds.
I don't think your GPS chip has a fix. I think your computer is getting its location from SSID or IP address mapping. If you had a GPS fix, you would be getting an update every second.

You might want to look for a utility that tells you how many satellites your GPS sees. OpenCPN gives you a rough idea how many. I'm curious to hear what it shows if you're getting your location entirely from SSID or IP mapping.
__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 20:10   #6
Registered User
 
jkindredpdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35'
Posts: 1,047
Images: 5
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Thanks again Doc...
I just performed a low tech test. I took the T200 for a walk/drive. The Lat/Long on Geolocation TCP changed appropriately, accuracy ranged from 50 to 8m, Kn measured pretty close to the speedometer reading, and updates occured every second. According to the downloaded Sensors App, GPS is working... So although the Geolocation TCP is working, I think you're right about OpenCPN reading SSID. It seems to only update when WiFi is on and there are possible connections. In OpenCPN 4.0.0 Options > Connections, am I correct setting my data connection 127.0.0.1 data port 15555 Protocol to be TCP instead of UDP or GPSD?
__________________
http://www.sednahr35.blogspot.com/ Jim K.
jkindredpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 20:50   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkindredpdx View Post
...am I correct setting my data connection 127.0.0.1 data port 15555 Protocol to be TCP instead of UDP or GPSD?
Yes:

__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 10:39   #8
Registered User
 
jkindredpdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35'
Posts: 1,047
Images: 5
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

My GeolocationTCP operated correctly away from WiFi, so I must have have a working GPS chip. OpenCPN isn't picking up the signal so I'll keep working on it and post my progress.
__________________
http://www.sednahr35.blogspot.com/ Jim K.
jkindredpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:38   #9
Registered User
 
skipper3's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Farnborough
Boat: Trimaran Oceanbird 30
Posts: 13
Re: Windows 8.1 GPS Configuration OpenCPN 4.0.0

Any idea on how to convince Geolocation TCP to see the Broadcom 4752 chip and get the signal from it instead of Wi-Fi? If I turn the Wi-Fi off, I get GNSS status: Initializing and GNSS Source: Wi-Fi. In Device manager I can see the Broadcom 4752 GNSS sensor working ok.
I tried all versions of Geolocation (5, 6 and 9), tried to turn on and off Location in Windows, any other suggestion would be greatly, greatly appreciated !
__________________

__________________
skipper3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, gps, opencpn, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 (64bit) and BU 353 GPS captmikecoin OpenCPN 10 25-12-2012 07:53
OpenCPN Loses Configuration goph OpenCPN 0 18-07-2011 09:40
Loss of GPS signal/ COM port on Windows (7) Netsurfer OpenCPN 2 27-06-2011 08:44
GPS Problems with Windows 7 nostramo.moody OpenCPN 58 09-12-2010 10:30
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 15:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.