Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 18:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Boat: Lagoon 380 - 38'
Posts: 13
Windows 7 - Task Bar

Hello,

I am having a problem with Windows 7 the 64 bit version and OpenCPN 2.5.0. The first time I open OpenCPN it started great. I then used the Minimize button and it went went into the task bar as usual. When I clicked on the icon to bring it back it wouldn't. I right clicked and selected OpenCPN-shortcut and it opens a second window of OpenCPN but in the Task bar. When I hover over the icon it opens a thumbnail of the window(s) but won't expand the window. When I right click Close Window it does. When I double click on the desktop icon it starts in the task bar.

I uninstalled OpenCPN and downloaded it again. The first time I open it, it started fine. When I minimized it the problem starts again.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas.

Alan
__________________
awhughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 22:21   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: Windows 7 - Task Bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhughes View Post
Hello,

I am having a problem with Windows 7 the 64 bit version and OpenCPN 2.5.0. The first time I open OpenCPN it started great. I then used the Minimize button and it went went into the task bar as usual. When I clicked on the icon to bring it back it wouldn't. I right clicked and selected OpenCPN-shortcut and it opens a second window of OpenCPN but in the Task bar. When I hover over the icon it opens a thumbnail of the window(s) but won't expand the window. When I right click Close Window it does. When I double click on the desktop icon it starts in the task bar.

I uninstalled OpenCPN and downloaded it again. The first time I open it, it started fine. When I minimized it the problem starts again.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas.

Alan
Known issues with current stable release. | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Well known problem in 2.5. Fixed in current Betas.
Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:23   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Boat: Koopmans, 33 ft cutter
Posts: 170
Re: Windows 7 - Task Bar

I'm using win7 x64 pro and do not recognize the problems. I can open and minimize OpenCPN 2.50 like a jojo. When I open a second instance of OpenCPN the only " problem" is that it can't connect to the GPS and AIS signal the first instance uses. However, I can give the second instance a different output port of GpsGate and then I have two working instances. I can swap between them with a mouseclick or minimize/open them.
__________________
Zoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Build on Windows - Please Help! kenchan OpenCPN 2 25-03-2012 19:55
Best Material for Dodger Windows? RaptorDance Construction, Maintenance & Refit 18 29-02-2012 20:12
Islander Bahama 30 Windows psimonson Construction, Maintenance & Refit 0 27-02-2012 19:03
Islander Bahama 30 Windows psimonson Our Community 1 27-02-2012 15:33
Will BU353 work with Windows 7 for OpenCPN? allene222 OpenCPN 4 26-01-2012 20:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.