Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-08-2010, 04:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Win 7 Pro - No Ports to Choose from

I'm trying to get OpenCPN going on a new Win 7 laptop.

I have a Haicom BT GPS connected and paired. It sends data via com3:
If I fire up a program that can connect to the serial port (like Actisense NMEA Reader) I can see the data coming in on com3: just fine and as expected.

When I start OpenCPN 2.1.0 I go to the tools/gps tab. When I drop down the NMEA data source the only things that are visible are "AIS Port (shared)", "Network GPSD" and "None".

I then installed Franson GPSGate and configured it to output onto several virtual com ports using Com3: as the input. Again I can see the data just fine using NMEA Reader but no relevant ports to choose from in OpenCPN.

I have a nagging feeling that I'm missing something obvious here.....

Any and all help appreciated.
__________________

__________________
RoyHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2010, 04:54   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Correction. Once I installed GPSGate properly for Win 7 64 bit I could then connect to a GPSGate virtual serial port, but still not direct to the BT GPS.

So long as I can connect (as I now can) I'm happy but it would be interesting to know why OpenCPN doesn't seem to want to see the BT serial port directly.

For others who may be interested in the correct way to get GPSGate working under Win 7 64 bit the instructions are at http://forum.gpsgate.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=8252
__________________

__________________
RoyHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2010, 05:06   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
GPSGate now working

I found out that I need to install GPSGate in a special manner on Win 7 64 bit (see this link)

Once I did that I could then receive a GPS input via GPSGate but still not directly from the BT GPS.

Now that I have OpenCPN working via GPSGate I'm happy but still curious why it can't see my BT GPS without GPSGate in the middle?
__________________
RoyHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2010, 05:42   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Roy,
did you try to just write COM3 in the dropdown text field (it's not read-only)?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2010, 05:50   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Roy,
did you try to just write COM3 in the dropdown text field (it's not read-only)?

Pavel
You're correct - that worked. I had tried COM3: but not just COM3.
Thanks for the help
__________________
RoyHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2010, 17:29   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
nohal....

Are we saying that Win7-64 consistently fails to offer COM port selections?
Is this a widespread problem?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2010, 02:22   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Are we saying that Win7-64 consistently fails to offer COM port selections?
Is this a widespread problem?
Dave,
I have to say I have no idea as all my machines are 32-bit and port detection looks working well there. I should have a 64-bit Win7 machine sitting under my table later this week so can give it try if time permits.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2010, 10:48   #8
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
nohal....

Are we saying that Win7-64 consistently fails to offer COM port selections?
Is this a widespread problem?

Dave
No
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2010, 14:06   #9
Registered User
 
boatrips's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SEATTLE
Boat: 42 US YACHT
Posts: 24
A Simple COM3 to COM8 Solution

I had the same problem operating opencpn with Windows 7, but solved it by just high lighted the "3" on COM3 and changed the "3" to an "8" so it reads now COM8 and it works great, sending the GPS signal to opencpn and the red boat appears on the screen when the GPS is connected to the latop.

Good luck
__________________

__________________
boatrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't win at dock etiquette cal40john General Sailing Forum 65 03-05-2009 11:15
We Win One!!!!!!!! starfish62 Cruising News & Events 18 23-11-2008 21:16
Win a Boat Makeover GordMay Cruising News & Events 0 28-09-2007 04:58
KIWIS WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rangiroo General Sailing Forum 13 09-06-2007 18:28
Win a brand new boat wrscmatt General Sailing Forum 0 02-03-2006 11:17



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.