Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2016, 04:43   #136
NAV
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 424
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Jon, Sean,

I definitely want to use two different translations for the string "Boundary", which is present in both the Draw and the Watchdog plugin. When Watchdog is opened after Draw, the translation shown in Draw is always the translation from Watchdog.

Request: Change the string "Boundary" in Watchdog to e.g. "Boundary " (with a space at the end).
__________________

__________________
NAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 06:08   #137
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Maybe instead of a space it should be something we can actually see? So that people get the difference?

wdBoundary? odBoundary?

Boundary-od? Boundary-wd?

I am not involved in this, but why can't they share the same name?
What happens? Just so I can understand?

Names can't be shared between O and plugins? They all must be unique even though they may be referencing the same thing?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 08:04   #138
NAV
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 424
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Maybe instead of a space it should be something we can actually see? So that people get the difference?
That's ok for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I am not involved in this, but why can't they share the same name? What happens? Just so I can understand?
Names can't be shared between O and plugins? They all must be unique even though they may be referencing the same thing?
In the original language (English) you don't see this of course, when the same words are used. In translations you do, whenever these same words get a different translation. In this special case, I don't want to use the same translations, because "Boundary" in Draw, after literal translation to Dutch, is too confusing in my opinion (in relation to some other strings in Draw).

I don't know the technical aspects of the codes which causes this behaviour.
__________________
NAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 08:53   #139
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Could use different words entirely but we would loose the relationship between the two plugins wd and od.
Field, outline, area, fence. Etc
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 08:57   #140
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Nav I think the point is that we want users to see the name is the same between the two plugins, otherwise there will be more questions.

How to tesolve this? Also user manual is done for 4.2.

I will let Jon respond.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 10:44   #141
NAV
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 424
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Nav I think the point is that we want users to see the name is the same between the two plugins, otherwise there will be more questions. How to resolve this?
In this specific case, that's not an issue I think. In Watchdog "Boundary" is used both for what is called "Boundary" (lines and straight lined areas) and "Boundary Point" (points and round areas) in Draw (at least, that's what I observed so far).

In Dutch there can be confusion: lines (not necessary a boundary!), straight lined areas, boundaries of straight lined areas, points (don't have boundaries!), round areas, boundaries of round areas (circles).

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Also user manual is done for 4.2.
If the same word is used in English (with an extra space for this string in Watchdog), it's not an issue either, as far as I can see.
__________________
NAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 14:49   #142
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: Watchdog Plugin

- I guess I made my own problem! -Not productive.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2016, 15:41   #143
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Nav,
I have just put up 1.9.029 which changes the single word "Boundary" to "Boundary Alarm" which shows up in the New Alarm dialog. I also removed a redundant "Boundary" word and replaced it with "Boundary Distance".

Regards
Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 11:45   #144
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Hello Sean, hello Jongough, hello Pavel, hello Dave, hello ... All,

Using the pot file wich is in the git plugin watchdog, I completed the French translation, of language file of this plugin.

I understand the problems of NAV for the translation of Boundary. In French, I have as much problems with that.

I ended up translating "Boundary" with two words: "Barrière/Zone".

I would have to do the same with the "Boundary point," I translated as "Borne" but a translation with two words would be better.. And I think I probably will do. But I need two female words like "Borne", otherwise most texts become incomprehensible.

That said, it is necessairy that the crowdin be updated also for this plugin.

B.R. Gilletarom.
Attached Files
File Type: doc opencpn-watchdog_pi_fr_2016-02-01_B.zip.doc (11.4 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 09:44   #145
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Watchdog Plugin

hello Sean, Jongough, All

Lenovo U41, W 8.1, Using CM93

The boat is near landfall (less than 1 Nm but more than 0.5 Nm). The red ring is 0.25 Nm radius. So you can see that there is more than 0.25 Nm from boat to the nearest landfall.

Trying a test. See screen copy.

First : The bell rings
Second : You can see that normally, the song is each 5 secondes. Really, about 10 secondes.

Best regards. Gilletarom.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Alarme_Terre_atteinte_Sonnerie_10secondes.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	279.6 KB
ID:	118199   Click image for larger version

Name:	Alarme_Terre_atteinte_Sonnerie_10secondes_2.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	202.7 KB
ID:	118200  

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 10:56   #146
NAV
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 424
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Attached is the latest version of the Dutch language file.
Attached Files
File Type: doc watchdognl_30012016.po.doc (15.5 KB, 9 views)
__________________
NAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 11:06   #147
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Here Updated french file language Watchdog.
Attached Files
File Type: doc opencpn-watchdog_pi_fr_2016-02-02_D.zip.doc (11.5 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 11:13   #148
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Watchdog Plugin

hello Jongough,
Question:

I set up a test with a Boundary (area). It run. When the boat is far to the area, do not ring the bell. If the boat is near the area, the bell rings.
But, if I use a boundary line, nothing Occur? Am I wrong or is it normal?
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 12:20   #149
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Watchdog Plugin

hello Sean, hello All,

I'm interested in alarm "NMEA data". Compared to what I has seen, I could make a positive experimentation. This means that if an instrument stops sending NMEA sentences in the PC, the alarm function.

But, there is a type of alarm concerning the NMEA data is missing.
There are personal beacons that are activated when the user falls into the water. They emit on frequencies AIS.
In this case, there is an NMEA sentences that can display on the PC screen, a special icon. It would be nice if a similar type of alarm could exist in the watchdog.

Warning: do not confuse with the alarm "MOB" the wathchdog. This one seems to be activated when the crew ceases all activity during a certain period. (Although it is not explained how the watchdog tell if the crew ceases all activity).

Best regards. Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 00:22   #150
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: Watchdog Plugin

Gilletarom,
The boundary alarm works by seeing if the given lat/lon exists within the boundary. If you have drawn a one dimensional boundary, i.e. a line, then there is no 'inside' for a lat/lon to be. I think you are after a tool that does not yet exist, i.e. a line which on one side is OK and on the other is not OK. I have been thinking about this, but I am not sure how to implement it. For the moment can you just draw the line you want, then make it two dimensional by creating the rest of the area wide enough so that a point can be inside it (you really need to make it quite wide to ensure the lat/lon will be found inside it).

If you really need a one dimensional boundary, can you please create a flyspray request for it with information on how to display it, how you will know if you are on the 'wrong' side of it and what happens at the ends? Also, are you only interested if you 'cross' the line or are you interested if you go around the 'ends'? These type of questions tend towards thinking of two dimensions, as how far past the end must you go before you can go on the 'wrong' side of the line, etc.

Jon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
hello Jongough,
Question:

I set up a test with a Boundary (area). It run. When the boat is far to the area, do not ring the bell. If the boat is near the area, the bell rings.
But, if I use a boundary line, nothing Occur? Am I wrong or is it normal?
__________________

__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN PlugIn Development bdbcat OpenCPN 78 29-07-2017 03:15
Plugin: DashBoard SethDart OpenCPN 470 24-08-2016 21:34
UncleMag Intro - Watchdog for World Cruisers ! UncleMag Meets & Greets 4 03-02-2011 01:47
Florida to Bahamas Watchdog countrybimm Atlantic & the Caribbean 54 20-04-2010 16:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.