Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 19:52   #1
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

FWIW, I've just posted an addition to my website on the above subject.

http://yachtvalhalla.net/navigation/...rth.htm#geocpn

Comments welcome

Terry
__________________

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 08:24   #2
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Use OpenCPN with saved GE caches offline

..it's sure a good idea you have to split the caches up into small named bits!..My caches are too big..and the zoom levels contained therein vary too much....also,I fear the day is coming when my old version won't work online (so I better get on it..!)
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 03:33   #3
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Use OpenCPN with GE Saved Caches (Offline)

Sorry ... the link in post #1 seems to be broken now.

Go to this link and look for the subject posted 12 Aug 11.

http://yachtvalhalla.net/navigation/googleearth.htm

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 05:30   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

I am obviously missing something here,but why go to all this effort when you can copy and convert any GE view prior to departure with GE2KAP and save it as a .kap file in your normal charts directory. Then use Windows dual screen facility for simultaneous viewing of your nav chart and the GE view.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 07:41   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

I downloaded and tried to use the 'Bungee' software to display a previously saved .GPX track file,but without success. The software just froze up my laptop.
The .GPX files I attempted to open,imports easily and without problems to OCPN via Route Manager.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 09:07   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Managed to get the 'Bungee' to work at last,using a .GPX track file I downloaded from one of the Globalstar SPOT 'Adventures',a sail from Bergen to Trondheim. Interesting way to simulate the trip,similar to the feature offered by Fugawi in their Marine ENC program.

Would be great,as an alternative, to also be able to run this simulation in OCPN on 'real' charts. Could that be a possibility?

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_09 Aug. 21 11.58.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	261.8 KB
ID:	30694  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 16:36   #7
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
I am obviously missing something here,but why go to all this effort when you can copy and convert any GE view prior to departure with GE2KAP and save it as a .kap file in your normal charts directory. Then use Windows dual screen facility for simultaneous viewing of your nav chart and the GE view.

Tore
Hi Tore,

I began a library of GE/KAP charts to use in OpenCPN. What I discovered was that the GE/KAP chart obscured the 'other' chart so you lost that chart's information. Sure, you can switch back and forth but that's not very convenient when maneuvering and want to know where you are on both views without manipulating the keyboard.

Using the Windows dual screen facility gives you both views but you won't see your position on the .kap file ... right?

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 19:43   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Hi Terry..

Thanks for the tip re 'Bungee' which could become a very useful addittion.
As shown below,it should be possible to have the ship's position shown in
both OCPN as well as the Bungee activated GE display.

You're doing a great educational job for us mere mortals..

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_15 Aug. 21 22.34.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	320.1 KB
ID:	30707  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 19:56   #9
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Hi Terry..

Thanks for the tip re 'Bungee' which could become a very useful addittion.

Tore
Hi Tore,

I've just completed an installation that gives me

MaxSea
OpenCPN
Yacht AIS-Pro
Bungee

all running at the same time. And with a com port to spare! Hope my little Atom processor can keep up with it!

Terry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NavComm on VALHALLA(rev22Aug11).jpg
Views:	149
Size:	38.5 KB
ID:	30708  
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 20:13   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Terry..

STREWTHHH!!! That IS powerful.. what size of screen do you have???

The dual screen combination I showed in my #8 should work from the same GPS with
a port splitter, don't you think?

I am also very interested in the Globalstar SPOT gps/satellite system,able to transmit
the ships position across the oceans and look forward to future developments allowing
duplex position messaging.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2011, 20:40   #11
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
what size of screen do you have???

Tore
A netbook with 10.3" screen. A small item I've just told Greg Heppenstall (Bungee guy) about is that when using the Bungee/GE display the GE screen keeps popping up on it's own. Since on my screen the nav program overlaps the GE screen (which has a minimum width that can be set) it is a bit annoying.

(That was a simulated GPS run ... I don't usually go over land .. unless I'm flying)

Terry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	11 08 22 09 14 23.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	136.9 KB
ID:	30709   Click image for larger version

Name:	11 08 22 09 14 31.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	139.2 KB
ID:	30710  

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2011, 08:56   #12
Registered User
 
ami keren's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

I am Using the Windows dual screen facility gives me both
Open CPN and google earth offline
I use franson GpsGate splitter to split the gps
And I use goops 1_9_4 google earth viewer to show my position on google earth offline

Read Ulrichabout application that can be used to store the Google earth cache files
I use it
Use Google Earth offline
Ulrich
Nice little application that can be used to store the Google earth cache files and enable
use of route/country data.
http://www.desert-info.ch/download/p...ffline_111.zip
"Hello,
some of You are travelling with a notebook, laptop or a car-pc and, maybe, have the
wish to use GoogleEarth offline. So, You must know, that GoogleEarth builds an
internal cache on Your harddisk. This cache GoogleEarth requires for starting faster
after a new start and it must not load all the date again. Try to start GoogleEarth
without an internet-connection. Wait, that needs some time and when arrives this
message (on Your computer in English)
You must press "No"
and than You can navigate in GoogleEarth offline. For example, You prepare a route
or a track in KML or GPX, open it in GoogleEarth, zoom in and "travel" along the
desired route. If this than is stored You can use it offline.
You also can rename the cache-files manually, but this is not very commod.
Hans-Josef M. from the Unimurr-forum has written a small program, which is dealing
with the cache files much easier. After I have tested the programm, we contacted,
phoned many times, made some changes, and this is now the result:
The GoogleEarth offline cache management
Your invited to download the program (see below), unzip and start it (the program
requires no installation). Google Earth must be deactivated.
Actually, the program is self-explaining, I still write a little guide for it.
So virginal, the program looks like after the first start. As first save your current
Google Earth cache, write in the map-field a meaningful name, if you want including
a remark in the next field.
After pressing the button Save or Save current cache appears this notice:
That can now be up to 5 min + time, depending on the size of the cache file. The
cache file may, after long use have 2 GB and are due to the peculiarities of this file
saving stop lasts so long. Please wait so long to notice the window disappeared.
So you have your current cache, a small trick to the hereafter to be stored caches for
their respective countries as small as possible to keep.
Go inn the File Manager of Windows to the following folders:
System C: -> Documents and Settings -> Ulrich (your area) -> Local Settings ->
Application Data -> Google -> Google Earth
and delete the two visible in the image files.
Now quit the program and start Google Earth again, visite the country to get detailed
data (Google Earth generates again the two cache files), quit Google Earth and start
the GE-cache-program again.
Forgive a name and saves the active cache. Since this probably less than 2 GB will
take this not too long. Repeatedly described the process of removing the two cache
files and visited with Google Earth for the next country. Repeate so often until You
have stored on the computer the desired countries.
That could now look like mine.
A rapid activation of the country is now nothing in the way. Select the desired country
and press the switch Activating or Activate stored cache.
Wait until the program is finished and then the offline using Google Earth to begin.
The download of the program
Thanks again to Hans-Josef M. for the excellent cooperation.
Regards
Ulrich


AMI
__________________
ami keren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2011, 09:01   #13
Registered User
 
ami keren's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

I am Using the Windows dual screen facility gives me both
Open CPN and google earth offline
I use franson GpsGate splitter to split the gps
And I use goops 1_9_4 google earth viewer to show my position on google earth offline
Read Ulrichabout application that can be used to store the Google earth cache files
I use it
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Use Google Earth offline Ulrich.pdf (16.3 KB, 510 views)
__________________
ami keren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2011, 11:39   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Boat: Koopmans, 33 ft cutter
Posts: 170
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by ami keren View Post
I am Using the Windows dual screen facility gives me both
Open CPN and google earth offline
I use franson GpsGate splitter to split the gps
And I use goops 1_9_4 google earth viewer to show my position on google earth offline
Read Ulrichabout application that can be used to store the Google earth cache files
I use it
Hello ami keren,
Ulrich's program could be a very useful tool.
Unfortunately, the link to download the little program doesn't work. Could you please give a working one?
Also, I'm not sure that I understand correctly everything Ulrich wrote . Is the original German version of the document somewhere to be found?
Thank you for your efforts.
Klaas
__________________
Zoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 04:10   #15
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Use OpenCPN with Saved GE Caches Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtvalhalla View Post
A small item I've just told Greg Heppenstall (Bungee guy) about is that when using the Bungee/GE display the GE screen keeps popping up on it's own.
Greg has a fix coming out in Bungee 6.2 !

Terry
__________________

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth Plugin r.fairman OpenCPN 417 15-02-2015 12:15
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.