Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2017, 07:49   #1

Boat: Ranger class
U-Blox USB with Win10 Lenovo IdeaPad

Hello, I am new to Open CPN and I have a U-Blox USB “stick” Receiver for GPS and Glonass: VK-172 G-7020 connected to a Lenovo “Idea Pad” PC Laptop using Windows 10 Professional 64.
I can't get Open CPN to see the GPS receiver. I've read the the installation instructions at https://opencpn.org/ and have tried to find something about this problem here.
Windows sees the USB connected GPS receiver as an internal “sensor” and I see no way to find a com port or address. Other programs (Bing, Google maps and GPS32) have no trouble with using the GPS signal. For the program GPS32 I had to do the set-up listing the GPS as an internal device. Has anyone else had a similar problem? There is no auto-pilot or anything complicated connected to the computer.
Yontrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 19:47   #2

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: U-Blox USB with Win10 Lenovo IdeaPad

Look in Device Manager under Ports and see if ublox installed both the internal sensor and the virtual Com port.
Old 01-07-2017, 04:17   #3

Boat: Ranger class

Thank you for the reply Paul. No there seems to be no virtual Com ports. I should add. I have tryed this U-Blox USB "stick" also on my HP desktop --what I am working on now -- with the same result. Both computers run with Win10 64. On this computer OpenCPN sees both Com 1 and 3. But Com one is an unused normal com socket and Com 3 is something called "Intel (tm) Active Management Technology SOL"
Yontrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 12:36   #4