Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-09-2012, 21:40   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

I have just discovered GE2KAP, which is just awesome, and I have been trying to figure out how to make 'Transparent Overlays' with the GE KAP charts I have created and CM93.

I have been unable to find any instructions on how to do it though I am sure the info must be there somewhere.

On the OpenCPN release notes page all I found was this;
"Transparent overlays

This feature is used, for example, by a new KML & KMZ plugin under development."

Maybe someone can point me in the right direction?
__________________

__________________
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2012, 22:32   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

I am beginning to suspect that it is not a simple process. I had thought that there was maybe some setting in OpenCPN that I was missing or a plugin that I needed.
If it is a case of downloading even more software, converting kap to gif and editing etc etc, then I think I will put it in the too hard basket and just accept that it is pretty freakin' awesome to have a GE KAP as it is.
__________________

__________________
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 13:20   #3
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixontankgirl View Post
I have just discovered GE2KAP, .....
I have been unable to find any instructions on how to do it though I am sure the info must be there somewhere.

On the OpenCPN release notes page all I found was this;
"Transparent overlays

......

Maybe someone can point me in the right direction?
In GE2KAP, there is a detailed help. Have you read it? Start GE2KAP and click on the "help" button.

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 13:24   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

I found this site helpful;

Create KAP with OpenCPN and GE2KAP


Cheers, PT
__________________
touchngo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 13:39   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

I did. That was the only way I could make GE2KAP even work......I also read a lot of posts here from 'phiggins', 'yachtvalhalla' and some others who seemed to a) know far more than I, and b) had a spot of bother doing overlays.

I will try again.
__________________
Yacht Delivery Solutions.

http://www.yachtdeliveries.website/
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 13:45   #6
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixontankgirl View Post
I am beginning to suspect that it is not a simple process. I had thought that there was maybe some setting in OpenCPN that I was missing or a plugin that I needed.
If it is a case of downloading even more software, converting kap to gif and editing etc etc, then I think I will put it in the too hard basket and just accept that it is pretty freakin' awesome to have a GE KAP as it is.
You do not need plugin in OpenCPN. GE2KAP can use OpenCPN but it is not always necessary

So read the help of GE2KAP

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 15:50   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
Hello,



You do not need plugin in OpenCPN. GE2KAP can use OpenCPN but it is not always necessary

So read the help of GE2KAP

B.R.

Gilletarom.
OK, thanks for your reply. I have read the help, it is very good and I presume the problem lies with me. This is what I have so far.
I think I am almost there. But.......I keep getting the following error
Error:Open Failed for overlay file:
00300000.A
It may be open in another program.

I don't think it is open in another program as I have closed everything.
The issue I think I have is that I don't know the correct name for the chart file.
If I open openCPN, go to the area I want, in this case Gizo, I have the buttons across the bottom showing the charts. I hover the cursor over the button and see the info, which gives a label "Chart file
D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300000\A\00300000.A". I put that into the GE2KAP for the overlay image location and I just get the error message.
I have a few buttons that all have Gizo charts and I have entered the file name of each and it hasnt made any difference.

These are the locations I have tried all for the Gizo chart;

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\03900000\00300000

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\02100420\C

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300060\A\02100420\C

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300000\A\00300000.A

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300060\A\00300000\A

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300360\A
__________________
Yacht Delivery Solutions.

http://www.yachtdeliveries.website/
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 16:11   #8
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixontankgirl View Post
....

I hover the cursor over the button and see the info, which gives a label "Chart file
D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\00300000\A\00300000.A". I put that into the GE2KAP for the overlay image location and I just get the error message.
I have a few buttons that all have Gizo charts and I have entered the file name of each and it hasnt made any difference.

These are the locations I have tried all for the Gizo chart;

D:\Documents\These charts\CM93_8_2009\03900000\00300000

....
You cannot use CM93 in the GE2KAP window.

You can use only raster chart with ".kap" extension in the GE2KAP window.

But you can use CM93 if you use OpenCPN and then you must enter "opencpn" in the GE2KAP window.

Gilletarom
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 16:22   #9
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

NIXONTANKGIRL You are making the process more difficult than it is.

Use OpenCPN to display the area that you want to make a chart from and minimize the program.

Launch GE2KAP. Enter the name (with or without the .kap suffix) and location of where you want the chart to be stored. In the "Overlay chart ..... " window use the elevator to select 'opencpn'. Click on 'Create chart', sit back and let it go until you see 'Make Image Adjustment' (If this is the first time you have used GE2KAP, after clicking on 'Create chart' you will need to teach it some OCR processing of numbers, punctuation and letters by entering the highlighted characters). After getting 'Make Image Adjustment' you can manipulate the controls to obtain the chart you want then press 'OK'. After processing stops the chart will be in the folder you specified. In OpenCPN you need to do a database rebuild of the charts to be able to see it.

More detail at my posting Create KAP with OpenCPN and GE2KAP

Is the image what you are trying to do?

HTH, Terry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gizo.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	148.8 KB
ID:	47167  
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 17:01   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
You cannot use CM93 in the GE2KAP window.

You can use only raster chart with ".kap" extension in the GE2KAP window.

But you can use CM93 if you use OpenCPN and then you must enter "opencpn" in the GE2KAP window.

Gilletarom

BRILLIANT!! Thanks so much for that bit of info! I have made a chart now, the only issue is that the land is quite bold and I was hoping to see more of the reef.
__________________
Yacht Delivery Solutions.

http://www.yachtdeliveries.website/
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 17:04   #11
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Terry, you are correct! I didn't quite understand the opencpn option, I have done it now. Thanks a lot.
btw, I just emailed you.
__________________
Yacht Delivery Solutions.

http://www.yachtdeliveries.website/
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 18:26   #12
Marine Service Provider
 
nixontankgirl's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western Pacific
Boat: 37ft Joubert. Made by Meta.
Posts: 137
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

One final tip would really help me. I have ticked the box in GE2KAP 'transparent land' and have the threshold at 10. This is an example of what I have done after following the instructions. Click image for larger version

Name:	musket overlay.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	47170

As you can see I have basically got the opposite effect of the one I required. This is a huge leap forward in my computer skills and I have been to scared to change more settings in case it gets worse and I cant remember how to get back to where I was......
__________________
Yacht Delivery Solutions.

http://www.yachtdeliveries.website/
nixontankgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 20:14   #13
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixontankgirl View Post
One final tip would really help me. I have ticked the box in GE2KAP 'transparent land' and have the threshold at 10.
Nico,

I don't use the land transparency option since it doesn't allow you to make the chart semi-transparent. That's for folks with good detailed charts who want to add the land information. Not useful for my purposes.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 21:52   #14
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

@NTG..just about technique but I think what you see in Google earth is what you'll get on your chart, so you can get rid of those little Google photo square marks by unchecking their box in Google Earth settings...likewise, other extras you may or may not want to show on your chart....
This applies to OpenCPN too. If you want your mark/wpts to show that's ok and maybe quite useful but if you don't, you can hide them in OpenCPN settings.(hint: click the "eye" beside them in the Route Manager)
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 22:05   #15
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Transparent overlays with KAP charts from GE2KAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
@NTG..just about technique but I think what you see in Google earth is what you'll get on your chart, so you can get rid of those little Google photo square marks by unchecking their box in Google Earth settings...likewise, other extras you may or may not want to show on your chart....
Good point. Also there are other things you might want to hide on GE. I mention these at Create KAP with OpenCPN and GE2KAP

Terry
__________________

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.