Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2016, 03:19   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi,

I did not try to export the routes in previous versions so I don't know if that happens in the same way as in 4.4.1
I am going to the boat this evening and will stay there for the coming days because the weather is fine. I can download an older version and try to do the same.
In a previous replay (#39) you can see the same thing happening although in a deferent order.
Let me know what you want me to do.
Paul
__________________

__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 07:36   #47
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

On OCPN 4.4.1, please try to upload a route containing exactly two(2) points. Take a picture of the plotter NMEA data stream. We should see two WPL sentences, and one RTE sentence. Also check the logfile for same.

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 13:58   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave
The problem is solved. The NMEA display now shows the way the WPL and RTE sentences as you mentioned.
In the past I tried to receive the route (in the SH) via the Marks/Waypoint window but that was wrong I should have used the Route Window. Sorry for not realising that before. If you want me to test some more let me know.
Thanks for all the help


Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020369.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	402.8 KB
ID:	130851   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020359.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	414.5 KB
ID:	130852  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020366.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	417.3 KB
ID:	130853   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020367.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	402.9 KB
ID:	130854  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020368.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	411.5 KB
ID:	130855   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020363.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	400.2 KB
ID:	130856  

__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 14:44   #49
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,
I am sorry but there is still a problem. I tried to send a longer route with more waypoints to the SH.
That was not received well by the plotter. I did send it two times with different results in the NMEA screen.
See the attachments
Sorry for the disappointment.


Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Longer route.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	286.8 KB
ID:	130857   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020373.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	417.9 KB
ID:	130859  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020370.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	417.4 KB
ID:	130860   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020371.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	417.2 KB
ID:	130862  

__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 22:07   #50
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...
Thanks for the info.

Has it ever properly received a route with more than 2 waypoints, i.e. with more than one RTE sentence? It may be that this device does not grok multipart Route messages.

If the answer is no, I will prepare another test version.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 12:38   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Dave,


No, in the past I tried that several times but it didn’t work.

See also reply #39 and #42.
I always tried to send a route with 4 waypoints. The NMEA screen on the plotter showed the received sentences in a different order each time.


Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 18:46   #52
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

We are going to have to try multiple versions to narrow this down. It is not sufficient just to get it working on Std Horizon. We need to understand it fully.

OK, here is a new version 4.4.2 for test.

This one
1. adds more time between sentences
2. does not duplicate WPLs
3. Allows up to 6 WPs per RTE sentence.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/djpioqwmvh...setup.exe?dl=0

Please test with 2 wps, and then with 4.

Screen shots of plotter NMEA stream most helpful. Also relevant part of OCPN logfile.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 13:32   #53
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Dave,


As requested the results from 4.4.2. I hope the logfile is sufficiently informative, I deleted most of it. This is the last part of the file. If you need a larger part let me know.


First: Logfile of the two waypoint route, Two waypoint NMEA plotter screen and the result on the plotter screen. As you can see there is no route as in 4.4.1. but only waypoint 1


Second: Logfile of the four waypoint route, Four waypoint NMEA plotter screen and the result in the plotter screen


Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020374.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	407.1 KB
ID:	130989   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020377.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	402.7 KB
ID:	130990  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020375.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	410.3 KB
ID:	130992   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020376.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	403.5 KB
ID:	130993  

Attached Files
File Type: txt Two waypoints route.txt (535 Bytes, 7 views)
File Type: txt Four waypoints route.txt (820 Bytes, 6 views)
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 16:16   #54
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Don't know what to say. OCPN sends the sentences in the correct order, and StdHorizon sometimes scrambles them. The plotter screen does not match the OCPN log.

Also, now evidently, even a two point route won't work.

Probably there is some timing thing going on between the plotter and the computer.

But what is strange is that we think that it works on O4. Please forgive me for asking, but can we confirm again that it works for O4 as hard fact?

Meanwhile, I'll build another test with "different" timing.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 13:16   #55
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,

No problem, but do I understand you correctly that you want me to try what you asked me in the latest reply but then in an earlier version. 04? Where can I find that version. Let me know.


Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 17:42   #56
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Correct. Same test cases in O4.

You may find O4 setup binary here:
http://opencpn.navnux.org/4.0.0/opencpn_4.0.0_setup.exe

I should have something new for you tonight, if I have bandwidth to upload...

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2016, 08:41   #57
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Sorry Dave, but the 4.0.0. version is crashing the moment I try to open the options button. I managed to take a screen print but I cannot get to the logfile because that button is not present.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Crash dump 4.0.0..jpg
Views:	31
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	131108  
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2016, 10:29   #58
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Grr, this should not happen....
I run O4 against O44 configuration and PlugIns regularly. May be a bad PlugIn.

I would like to see the crash dump file, which you can export from the crash dialog.

Meanwhile, to workaround:
Start O44, and disable all PlugIns. See what happens.


If that doesn't work, you may try this:

Go to C:\Program Data and temporarily rename your opencpn folder to something safe like "opencpn440".

Reinstall OpenCPN 4.0.0. This will build a fresh new Program Data\opencpn folder. It should then start and run with no charts. You can quickly test the waypoint transfer without charts.

When you are ready to revert to O44, then simply rename the clean new "Program Data\opencpn" to "opencpn400", rename folder "opencpn440" (from above) to "opencpn", and run O44.

Clear?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2016, 15:57   #59
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Sorry Dave, but I lost connection between the laptop and my plotter. I have to find out what is going wrong. I will come back to you later.

Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:17   #60
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Dave,


Luckily I was able to set the computer back to an earlier date.
Here are the results with version 4.0.0.
The plotter receives/accepts/digests? the NMEA sentences at random as you can see.
I hope I have copied the crashdump/crashreport? correct from both the 2 and 4 waypoint routes.


I have to cut the reports in smaller pieces because of the annoying limit of 1000 bytes per report and I donít know what part of the report is important.


The pictures of the plotter NMEA screen are in the next reply



Paul
Attached Files
File Type: txt Crashreport 2a.txt (899 Bytes, 6 views)
File Type: txt Crashreport 2b.txt (662 Bytes, 3 views)
File Type: txt Crashreport 2c.txt (767 Bytes, 5 views)
File Type: txt Crashreport 2d.txt (910 Bytes, 3 views)
File Type: txt Crashreport 2e.txt (614 Bytes, 3 views)
File Type: txt crashreport 4a.txt (924 Bytes, 5 views)
File Type: txt crashreport 4b.txt (662 Bytes, 5 views)
File Type: txt crashreport 4c.txt (765 Bytes, 4 views)
File Type: txt crashreport 4d.txt (910 Bytes, 5 views)
File Type: txt crashreport 4e.txt (615 Bytes, 5 views)
__________________

__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, route

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfering Routes from OPEN CPN earless Marine Electronics 6 26-12-2012 08:18
Want To Buy: Standard Horizon GPS/Chart Plotter CP175C sailingmonica Classifieds Archive 1 20-01-2011 15:44
For Sale: Standard Horizon Plotter cerro Classifieds Archive 0 27-10-2010 05:58
Standard Horizon CP 500 Plotter cerro Classifieds Archive 0 25-01-2009 08:57
Standard Horizon Plotter Scratch Our Community 3 05-01-2009 14:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.