Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-06-2016, 07:48   #31
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,720
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Maybe some sort of "garmin" checkbox special option is needed then to double the waypoints for such hardware that needs it.
__________________

__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 06:22   #32
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Sean...

Can you tell us more about the Garmin requirement for duplicated waypoints? Does it just apply to the first point? Is there timing dependency? All Garmin mdels in NMEA standard mode (not GRMN mode)?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 06:35   #33
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,720
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Dave,

All the data was in NMEA mode. If there is no delay between waypoints, then the first one is always ignored (boat position?) and up to 20 or 30 waypoints can be sent in a string this way. To send a route with more requires multiple strings anyway.

If there is a delay between waypoints, then depending on how long the delay is, it can reset this logic. The logic in opencpn seems over complicated, and there are sleeps built in etc as you know. Often I might get waypoint 1, 4, and 5, or just 5, or only 1, or... It was somewhat random. Once I made the code to duplicate the waypoint then every route is received perfectly no matter how many waypoints, because when it does receive a waypoint it already had, it just replaces it with the new data.

As for actually testing this, I was on tupaia's boat in mauritius at the time, and now we are on opposite sides of the world, and I think he won't be back to the boat for some months...

I think the simplest solution is to just remove the double waypoints which would break support for this gps, but it would be nice to add a checkbox below the plotter port to enable this hack in the Sent To GPS... dialog. It shouldn't require much explanation, and people will automatically try it when their routes repeatedly fail to upload.

Alternately we could send all the waypoints in the route without any delay between which would be much simpler, but limits this gps to 20-30 waypoints per route. It also might break other gps that need more delays.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2016, 04:09   #34
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

bdbcat



I have also the same problem with the transport of Routes. I have a Standard Horizon CP300 and only the waypoints are showing up correct coming from Ocpn 4.4
Can I also use the 4.4.1 version from the dropbox or is it available via another route?
Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2016, 14:52   #35
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Please try the Dropbox download and let us know how it works. This 4.4.1 is perfectly fine for daily use.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2016, 05:23   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,
I did not install the 4.4.1 separately is you mentioned in your answer to Pierre (#28). You mentioned that you omitted the DOC files. I don’t know what that means and how I can see that, while using the program. Can you clarify that to me.
Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2016, 06:27   #37
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,609
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Munnik View Post
Hi Dave,
You mentioned that you omitted the DOC files. I donít know what that means and how I can see that, while using the program. Can you clarify that to me.
Paul
Online manual/documentation --> F1/"?"/Help
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2016, 06:39   #38
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Please try the 4.4.1 to be sure the waypoint transfer works correctly. If it does, I will build and upload a new file with doc files included.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 02:10   #39
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,


Yesterday I was on board. I tried to transport a route to the plotter but regrettably it didn’t work correctly. Only the 4 waypoints were transported correct but there didn’t appear a route. Looking at the NMEA window on the plotter a saw the waypoints sentences but the RTE sentences were double. I couldn’t take a picture from my plotter so a wrote down the RTE sentences in the following sequence

$ECWPL ....
$ECRTE 2,2,c,1,003,004x10
$ECWPL ....
$ECWPL ....
$ECRTE 2,1,c,1,001,002x17
$ECWPL ....


Could it be that I simply downloaded the version from your dropbox and didn’t install it separately so I could not use it separately from the 4.4 version I already have on my computer?



It is of course regrettable that it didn’t work correctly but there is a ‘backdoor’ in the plotter software in the way that I can create a route from separate waypoints.


Next Wednesday I will be on board again. If you have a suggestion for me to try out let me know.


Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 07:41   #40
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Frst, lets be sure that you are using the newest OCPN, which you downloaded from DropBox.

If you will start OCPN, and try the route upload, you will see the OpenCPN logfile shows exactly what was sent to the GPS. The logfile will also show which version of OCPN is running.

Please post the logfile here for analysis.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 05:42   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

hallo together,
i have the same Problem with the VDO Map Cx plus. I can transmitt the routes perfect with the version 3xxx. With version 4.4.0 there it's not possible to transfer routes.
I use ubuntu 12.04 LTS from the ppa.

Sven





Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Pierre...

OK, I built a test version of OpenCPN for you.

This is called 4.4.1, and sends the WPL messages only once, instead of twice. It is available for download from:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bnwt8bed34...setup.exe?dl=0

The download is smaller than normal, as I omitted the doc files to save bandwidth. I recommend that you install in parallel with O4 and O42, so you can compare plotter screenshots easily.

Good Luck.
Dave
__________________
mibutcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 06:43   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,
I have been on holiday for a while but would like to continue this thread.
I installed the 4.4.1 version from the dropbox separately and used this version for the test.
I send a route with 4 waypoints to de SH plotter.
I activated the plotter to receive the sentences in the route menu and then activate the Ďsend to GPSí in O.
I send the pictures from the plotter and the computer


The first attachment shows the route on OCPN
The second attachment shows the NMEA on the plotter screen.
The third is teh smal part of the log file.



Click image for larger version

Name:	<a title=AIS weergave van waypoints.jpg Views: 53 Size: 244.6 KB ID: 130591" style="margin: 2px" />

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020356 - kopie.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	403.0 KB
ID:	130592

2 .txt


I don't know if the attachments are accessible.
Please let me know.


Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 11:08   #43
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

I read the attachments OK. The data and logfiles look nominal.
So, does it work?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 11:33   #44
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Hi Dave,


I am sorry, obviously my information was not complete. I realise I didnít send a picture of the SH screen. Alas the waypoints are transferred but not the route. I have two screenshots of the SH plotter. One from the Waypoints list and one from the plotter screen.




By the way, is the log file clearly enough? I had trouble attaching it because the original was 60 kb and I got a message that it was to big so I dispensed a large part of it.


Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020357.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	400.8 KB
ID:	130674   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020358.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	404.3 KB
ID:	130675  

__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 11:56   #45
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,763
Re: Transfering routes from opencpn to Standard Horizon plotter

Paul...

Only thing that seems odd is that the sentences as reported by the SH NMEA screen seem out of order. We should see 4 EWPL, and then two ECRTE. Wonder how that happens.

Please refresh me. Did this work on previous OCPN versions?

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, route

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfering Routes from OPEN CPN earless Marine Electronics 6 26-12-2012 07:18
Want To Buy: Standard Horizon GPS/Chart Plotter CP175C sailingmonica Classifieds Archive 1 20-01-2011 14:44
For Sale: Standard Horizon Plotter cerro Classifieds Archive 0 27-10-2010 04:58
Standard Horizon CP 500 Plotter cerro Classifieds Archive 0 25-01-2009 07:57
Standard Horizon Plotter Scratch Our Community 3 05-01-2009 13:45


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.