Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 17:33   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Tracks not being made

I click on the ship in the toolbar, but by the time I move far enough to lay a track, the Toolbar Ship becomes unselected again.
I suspect a computer problem, not an Open Cpn problem, because one day I plugged in the GPS out of order, it was seen as a mouse and clicked all over the place before I finally got it out.
But I cannot find where it might have clicked to disable the tracking function. Can anyone suggest a solution? I am using OpenCPN 3.0.2, and Windows 7 Professional on an Asus U43F laptop.
__________________

__________________
acwest138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 01:44   #2
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: Tracks not being made

Quote:
Originally Posted by acwest138 View Post
I click on the ship in the toolbar, .......... on an Asus U43F laptop.
Hello,

You can reactivate the trace function by pressing F2.

A list of Hotkeys & shortcuts is all ready available on the user manuel
Hot Keys and Shortcuts | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Serge
__________________

__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:23   #3
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: Tracks not being made

And please upgrade to 3.2.0 and give it a try.

There are such a lot of improvements that it does not make too much sense to search something in 3.0.2
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 13:19   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Tracks not being made

Quote:
Originally Posted by acwest138 View Post
I suspect a computer problem, not an Open Cpn problem, because one day I plugged in the GPS out of order, it was seen as a mouse and clicked all over the place before I finally got it out.
acwest..
This crazy mouse I recognize very well but learned it was a WinXP issue. But I can at least chair my experience and you can take it for what it could be worth. This craziness use to appear when the GPS was starting up and it's not connected to OCPN. I say was because I've get ride of it following an advice:
When the GPS is still seen as a mouse you should try to get into the device manager - mouse... and locate the new mouse. Deactivate it and hit OK.
After that I've tried to force the crazy mouse to appear but it's gone. I've actually seen it once in the device manager but deactivated, so in some way windows remember "who it was".
The trick is to enter the device manager with a crazy mouse. But when I succeed I already had it open and ready so with keyboard strokes I got it.

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 06:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Re: Tracks not being made

I have upgraded to 3.2 from 3.0.2 (having already upgraded from 2.3 when the problem began) but neither the upgrade nor alternate ways of asking for the track to be recorded ( via F2) is working for me.

It seems to me that something in the operating system (Win7Pro) got disrupted when the GPS-as-mouse clicked wildly for half a minute.I can avoid the GPS-as-mouse problem simply by opening the GPS before opening Open CPN. But short of wiping the computer and starting from scratch I don't know where to look.

I was hoping someone would know how to tweak ?the registry? to get the tracks back, or some other clever trick in the interface between OpenCPN and Win7. The tracks are one of the most valuable features of digital navigation!
__________________
acwest138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 20:17   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Re: Tracks not being made

Problem solved! And of course, it was simple user error. Some of my toolbar icons got removed, in particular the Track, which is the vessel with the swooping lines behind it. In its absence I have been punching at the red ship icon, F2, which merely centers one's vessel on the page. Icons can be added and removed by right clicking on them.

I did also learn that a track can be started using a Track tab on the Route menu. My apologies to anyone who puzzled over this in my behalf.
__________________

__________________
acwest138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.