Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-04-2016, 07:24   #1
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Tracker4: How to test for output?

FS#1917 : Connections output filtering not working as expected

Quote:
Example:
When using output filtering (Options - Connections), output is limited to selected sentences (so far - so good). The sentences however are doubled up.
- In Options - Connection dialog, select output port (tested with network UDP port)
- Enable ECRMB and ECAPB
- Open NMEA debug window
- Activate Route
- Observe that ECRMB and ECAPB are sent twice in succession for every report cycle
I am trying to setup Opencpn v4.2.1 recent build and test for (and see)
the output sentences. To see if this is still a problem.

I attach a screenshot of the setup. I have tried running Hartmut-Netherlands.txt nmea file and Paul's NavMonPc-SanFrancisco.txt file with v4.2

When I check the Nmea window & [pause, I don't see any blue output sentences. Can anyone explain what I am doing wrong?

Can anyone advise? Perhaps I could use NavMonPc to feed the nmea data to Opencpn and then try seeing the output, but I don't think that would be simpler.

I suppose I should figure out what sentences are required for ECRMB and ECAPB output, and make sure I have those in the VDR played file.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Output-test-sm.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	123438  
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 08:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Tracker4: How to test for output?

Rick...All..
Yes it's still an issue but actually it's a cosmetic one. Not a real problem.

The outgoing messages can sometimes be shown double in the NMEA debug window but it's not really sent out twice.
See the two screen shots.
The left is outgoing where the ECAPB message at 16:27:05 is shown twice.
The right is a portable OCPN instance receiving the same messages. The ECAPB message at 16:27:05 is there but only once.

But if this cosmetic issue could be fixed further user confusions would be avoided.

Håkan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NMEA_out.PNG
Views:	62
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	123444   Click image for larger version

Name:	NME_IN.PNG
Views:	79
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	123445  

__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 10:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Boat: Clerk Chair 1.6ft
Posts: 39
Re: Tracker4: How to test for output?

Rick, you may be surprised, but such style of topic subjects is misleading: when I saw "Tracker4" and "Tracker3", I sincerely thought that those were just discussions of some specific pieces of marine hardware; it was only upon seeing "Tracker2" and "Tracker" that I realized it was about issue tracking. Please, be more clear.
__________________
SamsonovAnton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 15:29   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Re: Tracker4: How to test for output?

Hakan, that's great. I am trying to learn how to simulate this because bdbcat has fixed it and I want to test most recent v4.2.1 then close the Tracker Item.

Do I not have a nmea file that makes ECRMB and ECAPB?
I am wondering what I have not done in my setup, because these do not show in blue?
How do you do it? I will be able to use this for other testing,

--Also we should have this technique documented in the User Manual, for trouble shooting when needed !

Thanks. (I am also going to try again tomorrow morning, but any suggestions would be welcome.)

PS: Anton how about "Tracker: 1, 2, 3, 4, etc" or "Tracker/Flyspray: 1, 2, 3."?
That is what it is called. Sorry if it is confusing.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2016, 00:14   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Tracker4: How to test for output?

Rick...
re:"I am trying to learn how to simulate this because bdbcat has fixed it and I want to test most recent v4.2.1 then close the Tracker Item."

-Fix
Yes- it's fixed, confirmed. My yesterdays claim that the ECAPB sentence is shown twice was a simulation error. - Sorry. (I forgot to filter that sentence from my incoming stream - feedback)

- Simulation
To create outgoing ECxxx messages I make a (left click menu) "Navigate to here" route to a arbitrary point. And in my case filter outgoing sentences on the network connection to only send "EC". (And filter out the same on the incoming side to avoid feedback.)

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 04:37   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Re: Tracker4: How to test for output?

Thanks Hakan.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test Xantrex Freedom 20 Echo Charger output - not charging aux battery PamlicoTraveler Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 07-05-2017 20:46
To Test or Not to Test... hotspur Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 13 29-07-2010 05:43
Etrex serial data output Alan H Navigation 5 08-04-2008 19:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.