Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2018, 20:48   #1
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
System possible configuration?

Hi,
Since "a picture is worth a thousand words" I'm going to post a long post here.

I have the GPS puck and the HP laptop with OpenCPN running perfectly. Now I want to add receive AIS capability but also have a radio BUT without spending the big bucks $$$.

Is this setup possible?
Ryan
[IMG]C:\Users\User\Pictures\Saved Pictures\AIS_Plan.jpg[/IMG]

NEVERMIND! I WILL POST IN A FEW DAYS WHEN I FIGURE OUT WHY The Cruisers Forum "INSERT IMAGE" BUTTON DOES NOT WORK.
Ryan
__________________

Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 20:59   #2
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Re: System possible configuration?

Here it is. Apparently the "Insert Image" button does nothing, but the "Add attachment" button is the one to use.
Ryan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_Plan.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	178408  
__________________

Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 04:34   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,519
Re: System possible configuration?

Ryan, nice diagram.

1. What nmea0183 information particularly are you expecting from the VHF that would be useful? DSC emergency calls located on the Opencpn Chart perhaps?

2. If you run out of USB connections you can get a USB Hub


As you create these, may we use one or two for the Wiki Manual?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 04:49   #4
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grenada
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,293
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
Here it is. Apparently the "Insert Image" button does nothing, but the "Add attachment" button is the one to use.
Ryan
I'm pretty sure you do not need the connection to the VHF. The Daisy does all the AIS receive functions.

However to see any AIS messages at decent distance you will need to mount the VHF antenna somewhere high(ish). The top of a bimini will give you a couple of miles range.
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 05:00   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,519
Re: System possible configuration?

Yes, the Daisy does provide AIS "receive" nmea0183 data that is received from ships in the area. Range varies dependent on height of antenna, antenna capability, connections, etc. It is very likely you'll get 8-12 nm. Higher up that mast, and dependent on the transmitting ships' height, and signal strength, you''ll get further.

The dAISy does require the GPS signal from other devices.

(12nm is basically the horizon, but cargo ships move fast.)
You won't need the VHF connection for AIS, but perhaps other features.


You have read the examples here?

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do..._ais_receivers
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 06:41   #6
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,748
Re: System possible configuration?

I suspect the vhf also needs gps data for dsc. Then the circuit makes sense,
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:51   #7
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Ryan, nice diagram.

1. What nmea0183 information particularly are you expecting from the VHF that would be useful? DSC emergency calls located on the Opencpn Chart perhaps?

2. If you run out of USB connections you can get a USB Hub


As you create these, may we use one or two for the Wiki Manual?
rgleason, reefmagnet,

1. I guess what my basic question is here, is: will the NMEA messages pass through the laptop properly -- antenna > dAISy > laptop/OpenCPN > VHF, and then voice or DSC transmissions the other way, i.e. VHF > laptop > dAISy > antenna? Also, GPS > VHF and back? Does the "data stream" travel everywhere?

2. My laptop has 2 x USB2.0 and 2 x USB3.0 so I don't think I'll run out.

3. Yes use it in the Wiki Manual but ONLY IF IT WORKS. As I said I only have the GPS puck and the HP laptop with OpenCPN running now, nothing else.

Cheers,
Ryan
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:00   #8
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Re: System possible configuration?

As a point of further discussion, here's a diagram of Option #2, a "normal" installation, but one in which the GPS/AIS capable VHF would be about $250 USD more expensive, and I would have wasted my money on a Puck I don't need.

Cheers,
Ryan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_Plan_2.jpg.png
Views:	53
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	178442  
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:14   #9
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grenada
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,293
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
rgleason, reefmagnet,

1. I guess what my basic question is here, is: will the NMEA messages pass through the laptop properly -- antenna > dAISy > laptop/OpenCPN > VHF, and then voice or DSC transmissions the other way, i.e. VHF > laptop > dAISy > antenna? Also, GPS > VHF and back? Does the "data stream" travel everywhere?

2. My laptop has 2 x USB2.0 and 2 x USB3.0 so I don't think I'll run out.

3. Yes use it in the Wiki Manual but ONLY IF IT WORKS. As I said I only have the GPS puck and the HP laptop with OpenCPN running now, nothing else.

Cheers,
Ryan
You have some misunderstanding!

1. The dAISy device is completely standalone. It connects to its own VHF antenna and has its own VHF tuner built in. It then shows up as a com port on the laptop which you configure in OpenCPN. I'm 99% sure the dAISy does not accept incoming NMEA sentences. Nor would there be any value if it did. It has nothing to do with DSC or voice since its a stand alone device.

2. In OpenCPN you can configure a port to be both Input and Output. So if you configure the VHF com port to be bi-directional than all the NMEA data will be sent to it. (so no the data stream doesn't travel everywhere, you must configure it)

3. The same is true for the GPS puck. Its a standalone device and only supports sending NMEA data, not receiving. Again, there is no need for it to recieve NMEA sentences as it is a recieve only device on the GPS side (never sends anything out)

Now I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve. I'm guessing you want AIS targets to show up in OpenCPN and you can click on them to initiate a DSC call on the VHF? If that is so, then it will be VERY dependant on what VHF you have. Very very few of them allow this functionality if its comes from an off brand device (must be the same manufacturer). For instance, B&G will only allow DSC calls to be initiated from a B&G plotter.

However, in the event your VHF does support it. Then yes the diagram is fine. You would just need to configure the VHF com port as bi-directional in OpenCPN. The other ports would be recieve only. OpenCPN then sends the appropriate sentences to the VFH to initiate that call (assuming OpenCPN supports this functionality, I don't know if it does).
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:29   #10
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grenada
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,293
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
As a point of further discussion, here's a diagram of Option #2, a "normal" installation, but one in which the GPS/AIS capable VHF would be about $250 USD more expensive, and I would have wasted my money on a Puck I don't need.

Cheers,
Ryan
Ok.. Please detail what you are trying to do.. I get the feeling that you might want to actually do bi-directional AIS data (recieve AIS and transmit). Or are you just interesting in seeing AIS data on your laptop with the ability to DSC call with a mouse click?
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 18:09   #11
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
Ok.. Please detail what you are trying to do.. I get the feeling that you might want to actually do bi-directional AIS data (recieve AIS and transmit). Or are you just interesting in seeing AIS data on your laptop with the ability to DSC call with a mouse click?
I want to see AIS data on my laptop.

I also want to be able to do a DSC call with a push of the special button under the door on the VHF.

I want to use the VHF as a transceiver for voice calls BUT my concern is that the antenna must be plugged into the dAISy, not the VHF. Otherwise I might need a separate antenna for the VHF and that's just dumb.

Question: would voice transmissions going TO the antenna then "pass through" the dAISy IF I configure the dAISy's com port as bi-directional? I already know the dAISy doesn't accept NMEA sentences -- that's not what I'm asking -- my concern is for voice getting to the antenna.

I hope I'm being clear.
Ryan
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 22:08   #12
Registered User
 
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington State
Boat: Steamboat, 25 ft
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Re: System possible configuration?

This is a revised drawing to go with my previous post, just to clarify things.
Ryan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_Plan_3.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	178469  
Sir_Crabs_A_Lot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:03   #13
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,188
Images: 6
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
Otherwise I might need a separate antenna for the VHF and that's just dumb.
Well, no, it's really not that dumb. You are doing two very different things on the VHF frequencies. The dAISy cannot transmit. So, no, you cannot transmit through the dAISy with your VHF. The easiest and cheapest solution is two antennas.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:15   #14
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,647
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
I want to see AIS data on my laptop.

I also want to be able to do a DSC call with a push of the special button under the door on the VHF.

I want to use the VHF as a transceiver for voice calls BUT my concern is that the antenna must be plugged into the dAISy, not the VHF. Otherwise I might need a separate antenna for the VHF and that's just dumb.

Question: would voice transmissions going TO the antenna then "pass through" the dAISy IF I configure the dAISy's com port as bi-directional? I already know the dAISy doesn't accept NMEA sentences -- that's not what I'm asking -- my concern is for voice getting to the antenna.

I hope I'm being clear.
Ryan

The voice transmissions do NOT "pass through" the Daisy. The radio needs a direct connection to an antenna, in order to transmit and receive voice calls. The Daisy needs its own antenna.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:22   #15
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grenada
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,293
Re: System possible configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Crabs_A_Lot View Post
I want to see AIS data on my laptop.

I also want to be able to do a DSC call with a push of the special button under the door on the VHF.

I want to use the VHF as a transceiver for voice calls BUT my concern is that the antenna must be plugged into the dAISy, not the VHF. Otherwise I might need a separate antenna for the VHF and that's just dumb.

Question: would voice transmissions going TO the antenna then "pass through" the dAISy IF I configure the dAISy's com port as bi-directional? I already know the dAISy doesn't accept NMEA sentences -- that's not what I'm asking -- my concern is for voice getting to the antenna.

I hope I'm being clear.
Ryan
Ok, now I'm clear.

Unfortunately, you will need 2 VHF antennas with your first diagram. The dAISy and the VHF cannot share an antenna unless you get a VHF antenna splitter. However, those are over $200 and have their disadvantages.

You will be much better off with diagram #2. Actually, here is a website detailing the exact setup you are looking for, and what parts to buy (since most VHF radios do not have USB connections).
https://sojosailing.wordpress.com/20...expensive-way/

Now.. I will quickly talk to you about DSC. The "button under the little door" is for emergencies only. You press it in the event of an emergency and it sends an alarm to all the radios in the area alerting them of your emergency. It also sends you position data and the nature of the emergency. This is a DSC emergency call.

The second type of DSC call is not for an emergency, but for general use. One radio calls another radio directly (the recieving radio rings like a telephone). You don't have to verbally hail on 16 (or any other hailing channel). Instead you just select the boat you want to talk with from a menu and ring them. None of the other boats in the area know you even called a boat. On some systems you can actually do this from the plotter screen using the AIS data (e.g. Click on the boat, select "CALL"). Unfortunately I don't think OpenCPN supports this functionality.
__________________

travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's your "blank slate" new electronics system configuration look like? jasn Marine Electronics 19 19-02-2014 17:05
Ideas on configuration of a carry-on navigation and communication system pwratch Navigation 17 21-04-2012 06:41
Electical System Configuration waterdog Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 18-12-2008 18:19
Cooling Configuration on 4-108 Perkins jimisbell Engines and Propulsion Systems 87 27-11-2006 19:35
Need help sorting out my configuration Raven Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 02-05-2006 17:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.