Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2017, 17:35   #1
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 15,126
Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

G'day all,

I've encountered an odd problem with OPCN, and could use some suggestions as to how to correct the issue.

Situation: Had been running 4.6 for some while with complete success, inputting GPS/AIS data via wi-fi from my Vesper Vision. We also have a windows tablet with a similar setup and similar success.

A few days ago I had some sort of giltch in the display, causing a band of jittery and reverse colour over the bottom 40% of the screen. It was very annoying, so I started trying to cure it. Rebooted, no help, tried several times to do a system restore with no success... and then made a BIG mistake. Windows 8.1 suggested a "refresh" operation. I failed to read the fine print as to what that entailed, and proceeded. This wiped out all the software that I had installed, but maintained all data files. When I realized what had happened harsh and coarse language was used, and then I began reloading crucial software, including OPCN.

Since then, I have been trying to get the GPS data to be linked and have been totally unsuccessful. The tablet is still operating normally, so I believe that the Vesper is functioning properly. I have gone through the connections procedure many times, trying different combinations of parameters. One of the combinations is the same one that is used in the tablet and works there. I have looked at the properties of the network adapter and used the appropriate addresses, and can see that packets are being up and down loaded successfully, so it seems that the signal is getting into the computer, but not from there to OPCN.

I've run out of ideas, and would appreciate any help offered.

Jim

PS The bloody refresh didn't cure the display problem either! What a bad idea...
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II back in the water, stooging around Moreton bay for a while.
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 19:55   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

If you are connected by wifi Do you have the Vesper manual for the ssid etc. Then use Opencpn User Manual Toolbar -Options - Connections to connect

Or possibly try the USB for PC's witha serialc onnection for a start.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 20:07   #3
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 15,126
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
If you are connected by wifi Do you have the Vesper manual for the ssid etc. Then use Opencpn User Manual Toolbar -Options - Connections to connect

Or possibly try the USB for PC's witha serialc onnection for a start.
Yes, I have the manual, the address and I have been using the connections tab to set up the connection as prescribed. This is the same procedure that I have used successfully in the past. Something is different, and I'm buggered if I can spot it.

Setting up a physical USB connection is not easy due to wiring issues, so I'd like to avoid that option.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II back in the water, stooging around Moreton bay for a while.
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:51   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

I've never done this with a Vesper, but their support is good.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:54   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Perhaps the original setup is causing trouble. Can you reset the Vesper and start over? And follow the procedure you used originally?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:57   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Also under Supplimentary Hardware - Vesper we used to have a link to Vesper / Opencpn Setup in the opencpn manual. If it is still there it might help.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:00   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

https://support.vespermarine.com/hc/...bile_site=true
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:30   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Falmouth, UK
Posts: 206
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

In OpenCPN, if you select tools, connections, and tick the 'show NMEA debug window", do you see any data?
wiekeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 14:03   #9
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 15,126
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiekeith View Post
In OpenCPN, if you select tools, connections, and tick the 'show NMEA debug window", do you see any data?
No, data stream is missing.

jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II back in the water, stooging around Moreton bay for a while.
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 14:14   #10
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 15,126
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Ahaa!! That link fixed things for me. Sticking point was using the TCP format instead of GPSD and data port 39150 instead of the 2947 stipulated in the OPCN manual.

Thank you very much.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II back in the water, stooging around Moreton bay for a while.
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 14:25   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Jim,
Can you send a screenshot of the Connection screen you used, ...for the manual!
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 14:58   #12
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 15,126
Re: Sudden inability to connect to my Vesper via wi-fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Jim,
Can you send a screenshot of the Connection screen you used, ...for the manual!
I used exactly what was shown in the link you posted from Vesper. With the display issues I'm experiencing, you likely wouldn't like a screen shot from my computer!

Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II back in the water, stooging around Moreton bay for a while.
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vesper marine AIS data input via wifi TJ D OpenCPN 7 25-04-2015 17:54
Echotec watermaker inability to build up pressure lucseawalker Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 25-08-2014 01:24
Inability to keep the water out > Long distance rescue Andrew Troup Seamanship & Boat Handling 212 16-04-2014 23:24
Connect B&G Pilot to Garmin Plotter via NMEA? frejo Marine Electronics 10 15-06-2011 05:51

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.