Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2013, 15:04   #1

Boat: Amel Euros
Some questions on NMEA with OpenCPN - regarding Temp/Hum/Pressure

First of all: Hello to all of you!

I'd first want to introduce myself, Software-developer addicted to GPL/OSS, love sailing - though have no own boat (yet?).
I don't want to offence anyone, just being known as a member of the community for clear speach (hope thats translated ok, means: I say what I think, haven't studied any diplomatics..)

Now on topic: I worked on a (affordable!) sensor for Temp/barometric pressure/humidity and found some things not working/displaying in OpenCPN; no problem, I like Qt, understand some of the source and I'm happy to submit some patches..

But I'm new to OpenCPN and NMEA and pretty confused by some things, mainly where to start; I have hacked in some things now, but I want to get it right, not just "works for me".
- Could it be, that all NMEA0183-decoding is duplicated in the plugins (dashboard,logbook)?
- Whats the status of $--XDR in OpenCPN? There are some commented fragments, but..
So sending $IIMDA, $IIMTA, $IIMHU, $IIMMB seems to be the best thing now (and some need to get into OpenCPN, no problem on that); though, as I read all of them are deprecated and so I wonder what $--XDR one should send? (Lets say I have 5 temperatures, in,out,Battbank1,2,..)
My first post, so please be patient
Whats the best way to contact developers with patches and should things in nmea0183/ really be done multiple times in ocpn and dashboard, .. plugin?

What I'd expect is getting barometer, temp etc. for sure into dashboard, logbook but also get a history of the barometer and there I'm still really unsure on how to send/implement things in OpenCPN..

Makki
makki99 is offline   Reply With Quote