Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2019, 02:36   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Silly Question ...?

What is the (blue ? / black ?) line that is displayed behind the COG line (red) ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-07-15 112847.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	195971  
__________________

juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 04:24   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Dave_S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Brisbane Australia
Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480
Posts: 1,207
Re: Silly Question ...?

I can't see it on the pic but you will have course over ground and one will be your heading. I.e. you are not going where you are pointing through windage or current.
__________________

__________________
Regards
Dave
Dave_S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 04:30   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

Yes there is current, COG and heading are different.
But you can see following the COG (red dash) there is something else underneath (you can see it in between some dashes ... blue, black, grey ?).
May be only a OpenGL display issue.
Just to make sure I did not miss something ...
juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 05:25   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,281
Re: Silly Question ...?

Not silly at all

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...ps_status_icon

Heading, COG,

Options - Own Ship - Display Options
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...isplay_options

The grey dashed vector is not Tracks or Highlighted tracks
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...g:ships#tracks

Do you have AIS look ahead mode on?

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do..._buttons:ais&s[]=grey&s[]=dashed#ais
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 05:34   #5
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by juancho38 View Post
What is the (blue ? / black ?) line that is displayed behind the COG line (red) ?
Juacho38,

I think this is related to the resolution of your display. In your opencpn.log file can you see a like like this?

5:56:46 AM: Metrics: m_display_size_mm: 344 wxDisplaySize: 1920:1080

What is the wxDisplaySize of your display?
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 06:29   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
What is the wxDisplaySize of your display?
I indeed have a line :
3:14:22 PM: Metrics: m_display_size_mm: 344 wxDisplaySize: 1920:1080

My screen default display is 1920x1080, that should be ok.
I have a INTEL HD 620 graphics, I have read somewhere there could be some display issues with OpenGPL with this card, I presume this may be the case.

It is not a big issue anyway !
juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 07:03   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
The grey dashed vector is not Tracks or Highlighted tracks ?

Do you have AIS look ahead mode on?
No track or highlighted track.
I don't have AIS, can it be a invalid AIS display of my own ship ?
AIS look ahead mode - I do not find this option ...

OpenCPN AIS manual / AIS Target Quick Graphic References

Quote:
Note that AIS targets reporting position unavailable will be rendered in grey colour.
This makes me think that OpenCPN tries to display the AIS signal about my boat, but don't find proper AIS signal.

... can be a OPENGL display issue with my graphic card (Intel Graphics 620)
juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 08:12   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
AIS look ahead mode - I do not find this option ...
I found it ... it is not active, activating does not change anything regarding our subject.
juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 10:43   #9
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: Silly Question ...?

Juancho38,

It is some minor bug related i think to the special ship icon you have used. It is causing no problem and you have done nothing wrong.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 12:19   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
It is some minor bug related i think to the special ship icon you have used. It is causing no problem and you have done nothing wrong.
I don't think so ... I tried with the default icon, removing ownship.png, this "underneath gray line" is still there
juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 13:17   #11
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by juancho38 View Post
I don't think so ... I tried with the default icon, removing ownship.png, this "underneath gray line" is still there
I know itís a bug. I just donít know why your system experiences it. It has to do with a combination of several things such as the screen resolution, the position of the GPS receiver relative to shipís center, size of ship icon, and the line widths of the drawn lines. Some of these line widths and offsets are automatically computed by the OpenCPN code.

For now my advice is to just ignore the extra black dashed line. If we need more data from you to solve the bug someone will ask you.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 14:34   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,946
Re: Silly Question ...?

Higher res screen may solve this. As might a lower one.


b.
barnakiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 16:26   #13
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: Silly Question ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Higher res screen may solve this. As might a lower one.


b.
I have the same screen resolution but cannot reproduce the problem. I can see in the code how it might be affected by screen resolution but the root cause is illusive. In any event, this is only a cosmetic issue and no serious problem exists.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2019, 20:58   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Re: Silly Question ...?

... just a cosmetic issue, that all I wanted to know !
Ignored
Thanks for your support.
__________________

juancho38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello and Silly Question adamskiinasia Meets & Greets 28 11-08-2011 16:08
This Is Probably a Silly Question . . . SabreKai Anchoring & Mooring 12 03-10-2010 15:25
Silly Question for Bluewater Power Sailors BillAU Powered Boats 17 31-12-2009 01:21
Silly Ocean Question drew.ward Off Topic Forum 33 09-08-2009 08:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.