Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2015, 08:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Shore Station?

Hello,

I'm new to OpenCPN and this forum. I am using OpenCPN with a SDR dongle to monitor marine traffic here at Cape May, NJ. As I am operating a "shore station" my position never changes. I can't see attaching a GPS to OpenCPN just to continuously provide a never changing position. Is there a way to hard code a location to OpenCPN so that I can get features working that require a position? If this has been asked and answered, please direct me to the thread. Thank you.
__________________

__________________
N2CSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Shore Station?

Not sure what features you mean, but

Right Click(on a chart at your location)>Move Boat to Here

should give you a position. You could set up an anchor watch, maybe, or get a range and distance for AIS targets? I haven't tried this, no AIS targets near by.
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 10:01   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Re: Shore Station?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
Not sure what features you mean, but

Right Click(on a chart at your location)>Move Boat to Here

should give you a position. You could set up an anchor watch, maybe, or get a range and distance for AIS targets? I haven't tried this, no AIS targets near by.
Hello David and thanks for the reply. I am trying to get the Radar Plug-in working. Moving the Boat didn't do it.
__________________
N2CSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 10:44   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Shore Station?

N2CSA...
You need to connect a GPS, that's essential for all features on OCPN.
All radar plugins also need a compass heading for a proper use.

If you for some reason don't want to connect a GPS a simulating option is to use the VDR plugin. Voyage Data Recorder Plugin | Official OpenCPN Homepage. Some records to use are listed here Share your VDR recordings here

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electronic Weather Station Units CaptainK Marine Electronics 2 29-03-2006 10:45
Navigation Station Karlov Monohull Sailboats 15 22-12-2005 08:57
New Chart for Palmer Station, Antarctica GordMay Polar Regions 3 02-11-2005 11:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.