Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2016, 08:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Sending WPL and RTE sentence(s) TO OpenCpn does not work...

Dear all,
probably someone can help me.

I'm currently use OpenCPN v. 4.4.0 on Ubuntu 64 bit (installed as a package)

I'm trying to send TO OpenCpn (and visualize) some $GPWPL and $GPRTE sentences through and UDP connection.

I can see the waypoint that I send, only if the checkbox "Treat WPL sentences as APRS position reports" is checked (I can see a small green square with the waypoint name), otherwise not.

At the end, I send the $GPRTE sentence but I can't see the arrows connection between the waypoint as a route.
Theese are the sentences that I send to OpenCPN :

--- NMEA start here ---
$GPWPL,4405.6122,N,0949.51386,E,wp01*42
$GPWPL,4404.3398,N,0951.04782,E,waypoint01*48
$GPWPL,4402.3529,N,0952.3626,E,waypoint02*7A
$GPWPL,4401.6854,N,0951.05466,E,waypoint03*49
$GPRTE,1,1,c,main_route,wp_01,waypoint_01,waypoint _02,waypoint_03*1F

--- NMEA finish here ---

It's very strange because if I open the "NMEA Debug Window" inside the "connections" configuration, I can see the nmea strings in green color.

There's some configuration that I miss ?
I've tried all the day !!


Thanks for any help.
__________________

m1ch3al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2016, 08:59   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: Sending WPL and RTE sentence(s) TO OpenCpn does not work...

Processing of the received RTE and WPL sentences in their original meaning is not implemented, OpenCPN simply ignores them. If you use the APRS functionality, what you see is equivalent to AIS targets, not waypoints.
__________________

nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2016, 09:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Re: Sending WPL and RTE sentence(s) TO OpenCpn does not work...

Nohal, thanks a lot for your quicky reply!

So....if I have understood well, I can't send WPL and RTE over network to OpenCPN....there's a way to display point and route by sending some "commands" to openCPN ?

Thanks.
m1ch3al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2016, 09:37   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: Sending WPL and RTE sentence(s) TO OpenCpn does not work...

If you explicitly insist on the waypoint/route paradigm then no, as you already know, there is currently no way to do it using "commands". You can of course import a GPX file with a route and waypoints at any time.
If you want to track position/movement of something, send WPL sentences, turn APRS on and enable recording of the track.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split and Extend for RTE and TRK PjotrC OpenCPN 5 28-07-2014 04:40
nmea WPL for APRS , howto show MMSI roozeboos Navigation 5 06-04-2014 03:44
NMEA WPL sentence support? s/v Jedi OpenCPN 9 04-03-2013 04:29
OpenCPN and NMEA sentence dmoore OpenCPN 8 21-12-2012 12:47
Want To Buy: Echomax Active-XS-dual band RTE davidj7 Classifieds Archive 0 20-06-2012 13:40

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.