Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2016, 09:45   #16
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJules View Post
If nec, I can reinstall one base .s63, say the Europe one and let you have the log of this action? Should I delete the physical files in the s63 directory and rebuild before I do it?
Yes, that would help
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 10:15   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Ummm. Did that, and seems to have installed correctly, displays/zooms etc.

Now does this mean there is a special order of installing the base s63 charts? Before I add another I'll wait on your reply...
__________________

__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 10:23   #18
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

When you are licensingS63 chart sets you get one directory which contains base charts and updates. In these "Exchange sets" the cells and updates shall come in the correct order: base cell, update 1, update 2, etc..
We have seen screwed up exchange sets though - from serious resellers or VARs.
Missing base cells for example.

After the first set you will get your weekly update sets: week 23, week 24,...
Install in the "natural order", the one in which you received the sets, or the updates will not work as the update chain is incomplete.

The S63 chart installer has to check the incremental update process and will skip the cell when encountering missing intermediate cells.
Shows up in the log file.

So let's hope that the rest goes smoothly!

And happy sailing!

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 10:25   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

So the base charts (received in the form of zip files) can be installed in any order (i.e. not necessarily in order purchased), but the updates must be applied in strict order?
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 10:36   #20
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJules View Post
So the base charts (received in the form of zip files) can be installed in any order (i.e. not necessarily in order purchased), but the updates must be applied in strict order?
Yes - for example you first started with one set and when you licensed other charts for that region (or other regions) and installed those.

The order has to be maintained for one exchange set update chain. This is independent form the order of the various sets you got. The do not relate to each other (but you licensed the same chart twice n different sets - then installing the newer one first and then the former on top one can screw it up).
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 10:39   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Will go for it and report back.
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 11:02   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

When starting opencpn to do this, discovered that Europe has disappeared completely.

At this stage I think I'll completely delete Opencpn, install a fresh one, and carefully install the base charts one by one, checking as I go, recording logs and not applying any updates.

Worth doing - Opencpn is a really great piece of kit
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 11:06   #23
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Can you please upload the log files (or send those to info at o-charts.org)?
There is something fishy.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 11:12   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Will do. Process will probably take about 40 mins. Starting with just one chart install, then testing, log will be annotated with details/results.
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 11:56   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Done.
Complete removal of Opencpn, computer reboot, install new Opencpn, computer reboot.

Log numbers refer to situation after the sequence below. Opencpn was exited after each one.

Sequence=
1. Complete new Opencpn, no charts.
2. Installed both user and install permits, both tested ok; Installed cell permits, went thru ok
3. Installed first s63 chart of UK waters
4. Installed second s63 chart of UK waters, E coast I think
5. Exited, problem pops up as reported in this thread
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 12:39   #26
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

BigJules...

Looking at your logfile, thanks.

The extracted .000 chart files must be accessible at runtime. I see from the logfile that the .000 files seem to have been extracted to a temporary directory, e.g.:

Code:
/home/jules/Temp/Download/Extract/ENC_ROOT/9C/9C202649/5/7/9C202649.000"
This may be the problem. You can check this to be sure. Look in a typical.os63 file, e.g from my system:

Code:
cellpermit:1I3KQG0320150131B451E1F1AABD1DD0B451E1F1AABD1DD039210567A6D552C2,0,,49,
cellbase:/home/dsr/Charts/s63_bahamas/1I08009_14_26_00.S63/ENC_ROOT/1I/1I3KQG03/10/0/1I3KQG03.000;VERSION=1.0,EDTN=10,UPDN=0,UADT=20130221,ISDT=20130221;
The .000 file as referenced in the .os63 file must be available as a real file at runtime.

I would move the extracted .000 files and the updates (.001, .002, etc..) to some permanent location before doing the OpenCPN cell update.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 13:10   #27
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post

Remember that the directory you install the charts from have to be present when running OCPN. So don't install from an removable media if this is not present while running the program.
So it looks that we will have to add /temp locations to the no-go zone.
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 13:39   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Thanks, bdbcat. If I look into my s63 .os63 files, I see the first line (cell permit) ok, but there is no cellbase line at all. Seems opencpn is not inserting this line after decrypting or whatever, causing the OpenChartFromStack error 2.

I note that it is correctly looking in .opencpn/s63/s63charts/49/ where the physical charts have been put by the installing routine. This is certainly available at run-time?
__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 13:51   #29
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

Has this directory been created by you or by Ubuntu:
/home/jules/Temp/Download/Extract/ ?
(No Ubuntu 1604 LTS at hand)

If it is temporary the content might be purged after restart.

The entries in .opencpn/s63/s63charts/49/ are created by the plug-in and are not the "source cells" from the transfer set.
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2016, 13:55   #30
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 21
Re: s63 charts woe after upgrade

No, this is a convenient directory established by me to extract generally downloaded .zips from whatever source. When I download the chart zip, I unzip in/to the .../Extract, point opencpn to the extracted ENC_ROOT and let it update the charts. It seems to put them in .opencpn.../s63, and after this I delete the ENC_ROOTs in /Extract ready for the next one.
__________________

__________________
BigJules is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S63 charts - new charts and updating petter5 OpenCPN 14 19-04-2016 17:01
A True Tale of Woe Stuarth44 Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 49 07-01-2016 16:38
O/B No Go - Woe! lateral Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 02-09-2012 13:31
Tale of woe and luck. Oil coolers... dkall Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 24-03-2008 18:08



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.