Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2014, 03:23   #121
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Columbus488 View Post
@ cagney:
........
........

the comand runs only under sudo, but opencpn runs by normal user, is this a problem ?

C488
Yes, I think this could be the problem. The end result is that the plugin does not get the output of the command.
On my two *buntu systems, 32 & 64 bits I get
Code:
$ ls -l  /usr/bin/OCPNsenc
-rwx-----x 1 root root 1839809 Jan 15 23:03 /usr/bin/OCPNsenc
Which means that all users can execute without using "sudo".

Try this command
Code:
 sudo  chmod 701 /usr/bin/OCPNsenc
Test the plugin again.

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 05:27   #122
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Hello Dave,

What can trust granted to OpenCPN software .... ?

This is a serious question I'm sorry to ask here but we can not leave unanswered.

There some day, installing the plug-in S63, the firewall of my PC asked me if I agreed that the software communicates through my private network with the outside.

This morning, in the new installation I made, I wanted to test the plugin WMM (wmm_pi18_v07a_win32_pi). I try to activate it. And this new window is opened. This means qu'OpenCPN attempts to communicate with the outside. (see join screen copy)

This is not normal. It never was intended, unless I did not understand.

Can you explain why and how. Unless, that is more serious, OpenCPN has been hacked and malicious people the opportunity to "enter" our computers.

Again, I apologize to create suspicion by asking this question.

Best regards, Gilletarom.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-18_Firewall.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	74199  
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 06:34   #123
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: Everything that has a sail and more
Posts: 37
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
Hello Dave,

What can trust granted to OpenCPN software .... ?

This is a serious question I'm sorry to ask here but we can not leave unanswered.

There some day, installing the plug-in S63, the firewall of my PC asked me if I agreed that the software communicates through my private network with the outside.

This morning, in the new installation I made, I wanted to test the plugin WMM (wmm_pi18_v07a_win32_pi). I try to activate it. And this new window is opened. This means qu'OpenCPN attempts to communicate with the outside. (see join screen copy)

This is not normal. It never was intended, unless I did not understand.

Can you explain why and how. Unless, that is more serious, OpenCPN has been hacked and malicious people the opportunity to "enter" our computers.

Again, I apologize to create suspicion by asking this question.

Best regards, Gilletarom.
I'm pretty sure it was intended like that. The plugin will make a fingerprint from you computer, and then send this to the o-chart server.

You can deny the plugin access, then it will probably not work.

If you really want to be sure it's not sending your creditcard information, then you should not beta test!
__________________
jeroenimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 06:43   #124
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeroenimo View Post
I'm pretty sure it was intended like that. The plugin will make a fingerprint from you computer, and then send this to the o-chart server.

You can deny the plugin access, then it will probably not work.

If you really want to be sure it's not sending your creditcard information, then you should not beta test!
No this is not the case. Fingerprint does not "call home". We discarted that from the beginning in order to leave the user in control. It just creates a file on the machine it is running on.

The firewall warning from Windows does not imply necessarily that a program (OpenCPN in this case) is connecting to the external Internet.
It pops already up when a program opens a new port - for instance if one is used to communicate between OpenCPN and the OCPNsens plug-in.

Dave will probably be able to explain that better than me....

Hubert

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 06:49   #125
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: Everything that has a sail and more
Posts: 37
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
No this is not the case. Fingerprint does not "call home". We discarted that from the beginning in order to leave the user in control. It just creates a file on the machine it is running on.

The firewall warning from Windows does not imply necessarily that a program (OpenCPN in this case) is connecting to the external Internet.
It pops already up when a program opens a new port - for instance if one is used to communicate between OpenCPN and the OCPNsens plug-in.

Dave will probably be able to explain that better than me....

Hubert

Hubert
This probably has to do with the server-client structure of the plugin then!?

This would mean that the server side can be closed source so the S63 charts can be decrypted and served to the client side of the plugin and will be able to read the SENC and use it inside OpenCPN, but that is just my guess.

I thought that the fingerprint did send the fingerprint to the server of o-chart, but I guess I was wrong!
__________________
jeroenimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 06:59   #126
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

@cagney:
Hi Thomas,
I've changed the rights by chmod 755
and it works !!!!!
thanx @all
__________________
Columbus488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 09:10   #127
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

I've got the next Problem:
I have opend the Testcharts , especially the /DataExchangMedia/Test8a/permitt.txt and get the following :
Quote:
S63_pi backchannel server listening.

0: Adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301620.os63
1:
2: OCPNsenc: Executing...
3: OCPNsenc: Building ehdr...
4: OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
5: OCPNsenc: Exit.

6:
7: Error executing cmd: /usr/bin/OCPNsenc -l -i "/home/navi/Arbeitsfläche/Kartenordner/IHO S-64 [S-63 TDS v1.2]/8 Data Exchange Media/Test 8a/V01X01/ENC_ROOT/GB/GB301620/3/0/GB301620.000" -o "/home/navi/.opencpn/S63SENC/GB301620.ehdr" -p GB3016202012123143F2240DC3702DFC43F2240DC3702DFC60 55119AC9BFA7D3,0,,GB, -u 66B5CBFDF7E4139D5B6086C23130 -b 49503 -r "/usr/share/opencpn/s57data"
OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
8: Error adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301620.os63
9: Adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301640.os63
10:
11: OCPNsenc: Executing...
12: OCPNsenc: Building ehdr...
13: OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
14: OCPNsenc: Exit.

15:
16: Error executing cmd: /usr/bin/OCPNsenc -l -i "/home/navi/Arbeitsfläche/Kartenordner/IHO S-64 [S-63 TDS v1.2]/8 Data Exchange Media/Test 8a/V01X01/ENC_ROOT/GB/GB301640/4/0/GB301640.000" -o "/home/navi/.opencpn/S63SENC/GB301640.ehdr" -p GB3016402012123116348B10B25C458716348B10B25C458777 C901CD8A5DFA00,0,,GB, -u 66B5CBFDF7E4139D5B6086C23130 -b 49503 -r "/usr/share/opencpn/s57data"
OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
17: Error adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301640.os63
18: Adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301660.os63
19:
20: OCPNsenc: Executing...
21: OCPNsenc: Building ehdr...
22: OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
23: OCPNsenc: Exit.

24:
25: Error executing cmd: /usr/bin/OCPNsenc -l -i "/home/navi/Arbeitsfläche/Kartenordner/IHO S-64 [S-63 TDS v1.2]/8 Data Exchange Media/Test 8a/V01X01/ENC_ROOT/GB/GB301660/5/0/GB301660.000" -o "/home/navi/.opencpn/S63SENC/GB301660.ehdr" -p GB30166020121231410E498187FBABE5410E498187FBABE5CE 3BBE97C1DDBFE0,0,,GB, -u 66B5CBFDF7E4139D5B6086C23130 -b 49503 -r "/usr/share/opencpn/s57data"
OCPNsenc ERROR: Invalid input file size for decrypt.
26: Error adding cell to database: /home/navi/.opencpn/s63charts/GB/GB301660.os63
could somebody help me ?
__________________
Columbus488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 09:17   #128
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

That might be a corrupted file - these charts did work for others (and myself) - Linux, Mac and Win.

Can you try to download and unzip the set again?
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 10:02   #129
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

@bcn: yes i did it, without positive result
I could try to unpack it with another System ( Win7 for instance )

I'll be back after the result..

C488
__________________
Columbus488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 13:34   #130
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: Everything that has a sail and more
Posts: 37
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Succesfull on my Mac now too. Although performance is not really good, and I found a bug.

Performance:
I have a fast Mac with a core i7 16GB ram and a dedicated and integrated videocard. Enough to render these vector charts. But if I switch to "All" layers in vector charts performance is really bad, especially with soundings on. Zooming takes for ever!

Bug:
When the charts are loaded I can successful change the vector chart layers, but if I set it to Standard it will show the depth contours, all fine until I use the mouse to pan the chart. The contours are gone, and if I hit the "s" for soundings, voila they are back again!

Maybe O has got a different set of standard layers then IHO standard?

Anyway its awesome to see it actually work, I'd love to be able to use this for real!

Buying charts is also a bit of a mystery, I made an account on Chartworld, there you need to add your "ECDIS" to the system, and it needs a hardware ID (I assume this is made with the fingerprint script?) But I've had no luck with that! Maybe someone can enlighten me?
__________________
jeroenimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 14:16   #131
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeroenimo View Post
Succesfull on my Mac now too. Although performance is not really good, and I found a bug.

Performance:
I have a fast Mac with a core i7 16GB ram and a dedicated and integrated videocard. Enough to render these vector charts. But if I switch to "All" layers in vector charts performance is really bad, especially with soundings on. Zooming takes for ever!

Bug:
When the charts are loaded I can successful change the vector chart layers, but if I set it to Standard it will show the depth contours, all fine until I use the mouse to pan the chart. The contours are gone, and if I hit the "s" for soundings, voila they are back again!

Maybe O has got a different set of standard layers then IHO standard?

Anyway its awesome to see it actually work, I'd love to be able to use this for real!

Buying charts is also a bit of a mystery, I made an account on Chartworld, there you need to add your "ECDIS" to the system, and it needs a hardware ID (I assume this is made with the fingerprint script?) But I've had no luck with that! Maybe someone can enlighten me?
Jero,

we are at an Alpha test stage - deployment on the different platforms is the first thing to look at. Rendering and performance are the next points to pin down.

About buying charts: You will need the UserPermit for OpenCPN - another/official name for the Hardware ID. In the" S-63 Plug-in explained" document there are more details.
We are in close contact with Chartworld and receive support from them.

Buying charts should wait until the plug-in is really waterproof. Would be a pitty to spent money and later you have to throw away charts or we have to invent strange amendments or plasters.
Be patient - not having deadlines is a big advantange for us and for the quality we want to achieve. Don't want stress - but fun

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2014, 15:31   #132
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: Everything that has a sail and more
Posts: 37
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Buying charts should wait until the plug-in is really waterproof.
Hubert
Those are wise words!

I keep following the thread....
__________________
jeroenimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2014, 03:04   #133
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

Good morning at all
Yesterday I've load and unpack the testset by Win7 and copied the unpacked to Lubuntu. But nothing works.
I have another System, marinux , it is based also by linux and by the way its realy nice as an second system on board.
I will tested it today...

C488
__________________
Columbus488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2014, 04:08   #134
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,778
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

C488,

I am afraid marinux or navigatrix have a stripped OS without some needed libraries. But you might see...

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2014, 11:26   #135
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,778
Re: S-63 plug-in for OpenCPN

I just tried s63_pi with Windows-XP (virtual maschine running on Mac) and got the same error messages as Columbus488 (see post #127) with Linux.
After changing OCPNsenc.exe to the version Dave has posted here for XP it works however.
So I guess the Linux version might have a similiar fault as Windows-XP version.

Gerhard
__________________

__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.