Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2016, 07:19   #1
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
RTLSDR

I still have a problem with RTLSDR.
  • I have W7 with OCPN 4.1.1317
  • I bought a brandnew dongle with the right chipset.
  • With Zadig I installed the new driver. Zadig says everything = OK
  • I installed RTLSDR plugin 0.13
  • When I try to start the PI i see a message:

Could not open: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin\ais_rx -d -r 25600 -e -98

What did I do wrong?

Aart
the Netherlands
__________________

__________________
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2016, 11:00   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,404
Re: RTLSDR

Aart. I have spent hours and hours trying to get this to work on windows . Forget it and buy a dAISy.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2016, 21:59   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Re: RTLSDR

You need aisdec2 or aisrec.

Sent from my Coolpad T1 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
AISFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 03:03   #4
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: RTLSDR

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Aart. I have spent hours and hours trying to get this to work on windows . Forget it and buy a dAISy.
Thanks for your comment. I have spent hours and hours too. On board I have a good working transponder but I want something (cheap) for at home.

Aart
__________________
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 04:31   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Argentina
Boat: H20
Posts: 55
Re: RTLSDR

Unfortunately for using these dongles without pain you need some knowledge of software defined radio. You can try rtl_ais from here:https://github.com/dgiardini/rtl-ais/releases. The instructions are here (readme file):https://github.com/dgiardini/rtl-ais
You should also create an UDP connection in OpenCPN to receive AIS data from rtl_ais.
__________________
piluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 04:57   #6
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: RTLSDR

@piluso

I followed your instructions but still get the same message.

Could not open: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin\ais_rx -d -r 25600 -e -0

Aart
the Netherlands
__________________
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 05:07   #7
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: RTLSDR

@piluso

I followed your instructions but still get the same message.

Could not open: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin\ais_rx -d -r 25600 -e -0

Aart
the Netherlands
__________________
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 05:43   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,404
Re: RTLSDR

Aart, Just buy a dAISy, seriously.
makes its own com port with the drivers. Easy.

https://www.tindie.com/products/astu...-ais-receiver/
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 05:53   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Re: RTLSDR

It may be just the problem of the antenna. An AIS antenna is needed. An RTLSDR dongle should give a range of 35 nm at 4 meters high, and 50 nm at 70 meters high in the NL.

Sent from my Coolpad T1 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
AISFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 06:05   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Argentina
Boat: H20
Posts: 55
Re: RTLSDR

Aart:
rtl_ais is an external program, no need of the rtl-sdr plugin.
Run it from a command line or a batch file. The ppm error correction parameter is a must. Check again the readme file.

Use also the parameter -n, and if all is working (a proper antenna,correct ppm parameter, AIS signal presence), the AIS sentences will be appearing on the console window.

Then in OpenCPN, if doesn't already exist, you should create a network connection type UDP port 10110, that way opencpn will receive messages from rtl_ais.

I'm aware this is not easy if you are not familiar with software defined radio and command lines, but if you want to spend some time trying, without warranties of success, I can give you some directions may be can help you.

David
__________________
piluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 06:39   #11
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: RTLSDR

David,

I am a Windows user so I do not know anything about "Command Line".

Please be patient with me

Aart
__________________
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 07:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Re: RTLSDR

Aart,

If you would like, please PM me and we can exchange phone details so I can talk a bit to you for a start

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 08:24   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Re: RTLSDR

To save your time, use aisrec with a friendly GUI. No command line is needed.
For command line, aisdeco2 has a detailed setup guide.

Sent from my Coolpad T1 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
AISFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 09:11   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Re: RTLSDR

How aisrec looks.



How the coverage looks.

__________________
AISFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2016, 09:45   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Re: RTLSDR

Quote:
Originally Posted by AISFan View Post
To save your time, use aisrec with a friendly GUI. No command line is needed.
For command line, aisdeco2 has a detailed setup guide.
Lets see how far we can get. David's statement is clear "if you have the knowledge it's possible". If we can succeed we can make a write-up else we can conclude other options should be considered.

Bart
__________________

__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New rtlsdr Plugin boat_alexandra OpenCPN 374 10-02-2017 06:58



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.