Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2019, 01:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany, sailing: Northsea
Boat: Friendship 28
Posts: 189
rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Hi,

I started a new threat for this.

I use the new OC 5.0 now with a raspberry 3b+ (OC 4.8.8 worked very well on a raspi 2b also with all the features described below but without the issues ).

In short:

Rpi 3b+
latest rasbian Stretch
Latest Kernel get with rpi-update
OpenGL-Driver in rpi-config on, fake-kms (full kms don´t work for me)
OpenCPN 5.0 installed over the ubuntu-ppa (the xenial-version)
Plugins installed also over the ppa.
Radarplugin is the 5.0.1-0~201904011943~ubuntu16.04.1 package.
Radar is a Simrad Broadband 3g, purchased in 01/2018 it´s a post October 2014 Modell. Software is the latest (June 2017) connected over the RI10 and Ethernet.
I use the 3g Radar Modell Option in the plugin.
Heading comes from a home brewed Arduino Compass via a USB-Connection.

I could do field tests now last friday and saterday.

I had full control over the radar, the radarinformation was shown as I know from the OC 4.8.8 and the opencpn-plugin-br24radar.

But there were some minior issues with the AIS-Rollover-Window in combination with the ppi-Window shown.

When using the one-canvas-layout (only one chart-window) it was always broken. This means that the letters were broken or in wrong font size and the information shown are wrong (always the Infos from the first AIS Target that was rolled over were shown Independent witch AIS-Target was rolled over). When using right-click and then shown AIS-Target-Info all was right. Only the Info in the yellow ais-rollover-window is wrong. When hidden the ppi-window all was fine. Shown the ppi-window the issue Returns.
Hidden the Radar, only using the Chart, all was fine.

When using the two-canvas layout it was a little bit different.
First it was the same. PPi shown, the AIS-rollover-Windows where broken (in both canvas, left and right).PPI hidden, in both canvas the AIS-rollover-Windows worked.
But as a "workaround": Switching to the one canvas layout, then switching back to the two canvas layout (over the preferences menue) brings the ais-rollover-infos back to working. Always in that way that in the right canvas the AIS-Rollover-Window were ok, sometimes in the left canvas too. This depends how the overlays where used but this is not shure.
Using texture Caching seems to make things better but on saterday the texture Cache was 0,0 mb ??? and switching to on have no effect.

After the switching between the layout procedere the AIS-rollover-Windows worked fine.

I investigated the log-file but there wasn´t any faults detected.

One more other issue was that the minimum distance under Installation is specified in Pixel (not in meter as in the br24 Radar plugin in OC4.8.8) and have no effect Independent from wich value there was set.

After the upgrade from the radar-plugin (5.0 to 5.0.1) I build it from source.
I switch back to this build and compiled Version, but no change.

And at least the softwareinformation shown in the radar-Information-window is wrong. It shows Dec.2016 but the Software is definitly the June 2017 Version. But this was also shown in the OC 4.8.8. and br24 plugin Version.

I didn´t have a good internet connection so I can´t try to build OC itself from source and look what happens with the described issues.

But apart from that the plugin works fine.
Radaroverlay with both canvas, radaroverlay only in one of the two canvas in combination with the auto-function for the distance setting works good on the rpi 3b+. I have to set the refreshing rate to 4 for get a good and stable ppi-picture when setting "shown AIS Info in the ppi".
ARPA/MARPA works also fine.

So thanks for this plugin

Regards

Andreas
__________________

Andreas29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2019, 05:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany, sailing: Northsea
Boat: Friendship 28
Posts: 189
Re: rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Hi,

can somebody confirm or reproduce this (the AIS-rollover-issue)?

Regards

Andreas
__________________

Andreas29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2019, 11:16   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,427
Re: rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Andreas..
I've both a RPi 3B, a Navico 3G and the same compass set up (as you know) but haven't yet tried that combination with the latest code. I'm in the boat and can set up for a test but it will take some day's due to other duties for the moment. I'll come back.
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2019, 23:19   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany, sailing: Northsea
Boat: Friendship 28
Posts: 189
Re: rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Håkan,

thanks for testing it .
But...no stress. Hope you find the time to enjoy your time on the boat.

Regards

Andreas
Andreas29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2019, 05:21   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,427
Re: rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Andreas..
Now tested on my RPi and I can't reproduce any of your comments above. 3G is fine on one-two canvas with or without PPI. AIS roll over info is correct at any window and overlay combinations.
My settings:
  • RPi 3 OS Raspbian Stretch (9)
  • The Raspberry 7 inch screen
  • In raspi-config I use G1 = GL Full KMS OpenGl
  • In /boot/config.txt
    framebuffer_width=800
    framebuffer_hight=480
    framebuffer_depth=32
    framebuffer_ignore_alfa=1
    lcd_rotate=2 (To be able to have pwr connection upwards)
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2019, 05:29   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany, sailing: Northsea
Boat: Friendship 28
Posts: 189
Re: rpi 3b+ and radarpi (3g)

Håkan,

thanks for testing it.
I don´t understand what´s wrong with my oc Installation but I´ll look for it next time when I´m on the boat.

Regards

Andreas
__________________

Andreas29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Rpi cpu usage and temperature CapnRon47 OpenCPN 25 18-04-2018 06:55
Rpi 3/2 hardware opengl and Vector charts jimseng OpenCPN 16 09-04-2016 18:10
Rpi 3 hangs when zoomed out. jimseng OpenCPN 14 11-03-2016 20:53
Raspbian Jessie for RPi duichan OpenCPN 3 29-09-2015 16:47
AIS on RPI not working gbgb OpenCPN 6 10-06-2015 11:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.